TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-26-2013, 08:14 PM   #1
ignitor87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Question Roamio & Mini

Good evening!

I just talked with support and am highly confused on what I need. First, when I bought the Roamio support said the Roamio would work with the mini via MoCA. However, they didn't really mention that it needed a bridge (unlike the big brothers).

Long story short I have a mini which can't connect using MoCA. So, I was going to get a Moca bridge. Support however said that I would need two MoCA adapters. One to connect to my router and the other to connect to my Mini? From the site (option 3) it makes it appear that I would only need one to build that bridge to the internet.

Also Option 2 is how I have things setup right now. My Roamio has an ethernet connection and Coaxial for cable. The diagram should mention Roamio plus and above. .
ignitor87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 08:41 PM   #2
tre74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 83
Anyway to get ethernet to mini?
tre74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 09:38 PM   #3
berkinet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
A Roamio plus or pro should work with your mini over MoCA with no extra hardware. In the networking setup on the Roamio, you want to create a MoCA network.

See http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2412
berkinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 09:58 PM   #4
ignitor87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tre74 View Post
Anyway to get ethernet to mini?
That's how it's setup right now. I think I will eventually prefer the MoCA just due to the room. Am I wrong in thinking that if I wanted to do MoCA that I would simply need a single adapter. I still don't understand why I would need two like Tivo support said.

Last edited by ignitor87 : 12-30-2013 at 01:52 PM. Reason: typo
ignitor87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 11:32 PM   #5
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,457
You have it right, Tivo's CS is wrong. The Mini has built-in moca support, so an adapter is not needed for it. You just need one at the modem and router as shown in option 3.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 09:37 AM   #6
takeshi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by ignitor87 View Post
I still don't understand why I would need two like Tivo support said.
If you want ethernet on the Mini side you'd need two which is how I'm set up as I have multiple devices I need to connect to my network. Sounds like they're just confused/mistaken for your situation. It happens with any company as CSR's are human.
takeshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 09:52 AM   #7
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 736
I think we may need to clarify the model the OP has. The way I'm reading it, I'm guessing they have the 4-tuner base model Roamio. Given that, I believe they do, in fact, need two MoCA adapters. One would be needed at the router to create the MoCA network, and one would be needed at the Roamio to convert the MoCA signal to Ethernet. The mini would be fine since MoCA is already supported.

It looks like Tivo support misspoke when they said "One to connect to my router and the other to connect to my Mini" Instead of Mini, they should have said Roamio.

Also, Step 3 from your previous link only applies to the Roamio Plus/Pro .
tatergator1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 02:26 PM   #8
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
I think we may need to clarify the model the OP has. The way I'm reading it, I'm guessing they have the 4-tuner base model Roamio. Given that, I believe they do, in fact, need two MoCA adapters. One would be needed at the router to create the MoCA network, and one would be needed at the Roamio to convert the MoCA signal to Ethernet. The mini would be fine since MoCA is already supported.

It looks like Tivo support misspoke when they said "One to connect to my router and the other to connect to my Mini" Instead of Mini, they should have said Roamio.

Also, Step 3 from your previous link only applies to the Roamio Plus/Pro .
The basic Roamio does not have build in MoCA ??
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 02:33 PM   #9
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
The basic Roamio does not have build in MoCA ??
From Tivo support networking page.

Quote:
Create and use a MoCA network

Use this option to create a MoCA network in your home. Once it's created, you can connect MoCA-ready devices (like other Roamio Plus/Pro DVRs, Premiere 4/XL/Elite DVRs, and TiVo Minis) to your MoCA home network through the coax cable.

Devices that aren’t MoCA-ready, like the four-tuner TiVo Roamio, can easily join the MoCA home network using a MoCA network adapter, available from the TiVo store.

tatergator1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 09:28 PM   #10
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,457
The OP implies having a Basic and says "My Roamio has an ethernet connection", so he doesn't need a second moca adapter there. He has ethernet already.

All that's needed is 1 adapter at the router/modem to get the Mini online with moca.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 10:40 PM   #11
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
From Tivo support networking page.
Thanks
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 06:15 AM   #12
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
The OP implies having a Basic and says "My Roamio has an ethernet connection", so he doesn't need a second moca adapter there. He has ethernet already.

All that's needed is 1 adapter at the router/modem to get the Mini online with moca.
I stand corrected. I missed the Ethernet mention at the end. One adapter at the router will do.
tatergator1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 02:22 PM   #13
ignitor87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Thanks everyone for your help.
ignitor87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 02:27 PM   #14
ignitor87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
I think we may need to clarify the model the OP has. The way I'm reading it, I'm guessing they have the 4-tuner base model Roamio. Given that, I believe they do, in fact, need two MoCA adapters. One would be needed at the router to create the MoCA network, and one would be needed at the Roamio to convert the MoCA signal to Ethernet. The mini would be fine since MoCA is already supported.

It looks like Tivo support misspoke when they said "One to connect to my router and the other to connect to my Mini" Instead of Mini, they should have said Roamio.

Also, Step 3 from your previous link only applies to the Roamio Plus/Pro .
It all makes sense now. Thank you for this.
ignitor87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:07 PM   #15
jbluemke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 12
thanks for the info! very useful!
jbluemke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 10:37 AM   #16
Headford
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 13
Only additional hardware needed was a POE filter.

I have a Roamio Pro and just purchased a Mini.

To network the two, all I needed was to install the MoCa POE filter where my cable enters my apartment (before any splitters or coax power line amplifier) so the signal doesn't leak outside. Update: I later also replaced the coax splitters I had that were rated 1 Ghz with 2 Ghz splitters (MoCa uses frequencies over 1 Ghz and I had experienced some lost connections).

The Roamio Pro is connected to the Internet via a wired Ethernet cable plugged into my router which has a wired connection to my cable modem. By using the built-in ability of the Pro to create a MoCa network, the Mini connected with the Pro over the existing coax cables once I went into the settings of the Pro and turned on the the setting to use the Pro to create a MoCa network. The Pro acts as a bridge to the Internet for the Mini. The Mini can access whatever is on the Pro plus Netflix and Pandora over the local MoCa network. In the Pro, the Network setting says it is using "Ethernet + MoCA".

To avoid disconnections, I updated the splitters (as noted above) and assigned both the Pro and Mini static IP addresses on the network (as recommended by other posters). For security, in addition to the POE filter, you can create and enter an encryption key in the MoCa settings on both the Pro and Mini.

Last edited by Headford : 02-11-2014 at 02:20 PM. Reason: Update
Headford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |