TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-23-2013, 08:43 PM   #1
patrone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 24
OOH Downloading/Streaming to iPhone 5

I'm having trouble with OOH downloads on my iPhone. I'm connected to FIOS both at home and at the OOH location so bandwidth shouldn't be a limitation. However, the download is proceeding at a snails pace. It's estimating about a half hour to download a 500MB (half hour) tv show to my iPhone 5.

Is this typical for downloads? Is the bottleneck the TiVo Roamio? Or is it the iPhone speed? Any ideas?

Patrick

Ps. Out of home streaming is unusable. Quality is horrible, video stutters, not watchable.
patrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 09:00 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
That's typical. You have to remember it's not just transferring it's also recoding the video which is processor intensive.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 12:14 AM   #3
patrone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 24
Disappointing but thanks!

Do we know what the max upload speed is for the Roamio? ie. would 10Mb/sec upload provide better quality than 5Mb?

Trying to figure out if the poor stream quality OOH could be improved via a stronger upload pipe. Have a hard time believing this is as good as it gets OOH when my in-home stream is near-flawless.

Has anyone put together a guide detailing optimum network settings for OOH streaming downloads? Again, I have serious doubts that this is as good as it gets for OOH tivo service. Thanks!
patrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 12:50 AM   #4
patrone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 24
Downloading while on the home network is nearly twice as fast. Do recordings get uploaded across the net when downloading on the home network? Or is it transferred directly to the receiving device?

If they are transferred directly, my guess is the bottleneck is the upload speed. If not, I'm really confused as to the difference in transfer times for home network vs OOH. Thoughts?
patrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 12:55 AM   #5
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,300
OOH currently uses a proxy server.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 01:22 AM   #6
patrone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 24
So is it likely that the proxy server is responsible for my crappy OOH experience if My home network experience is stellar? It's either that or my 5Mb uplink isn't sufficient. If it's the proxy, is there any way to boost my connection to this proxy server? Network settings that will make the connection better? Anything I (or TiVo) can do to make this a bit more usable?

Thanks!
patrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 01:28 AM   #7
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,300
Your upload speed is fine considering highest quality download is only 2.24 Mbps video and live streaming uses less than that:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=511445
Best you can do OOH is highest quality download. Going through proxy slows you down and there's nothing you can do to improve things at the moment as long as the proxy is in place. At some point TiVo is supposed to do away with the proxy, but we don't know when for sure.

At the moment if you're looking for higher quality OOH video streaming then Slingbox will give you that.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 03:20 AM   #8
MikePA1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrone View Post
So is it likely that the proxy server is responsible for my crappy OOH experience if My home network experience is stellar?
No one but you knows what you mean by 'crappy'.

My OOH experience (My home network experience is also 'stellar') is fine.
MikePA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 10:28 AM   #9
patrone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 24
Crappy = pixilated, stuttering mess. Not a smooth experience. Quality never gets the last two dots. Significantly worse than a download at basic quality. Simply unwatchable.
patrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 06:37 AM   #10
jimmypowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrone View Post
Crappy = pixilated, stuttering mess. Not a smooth experience. Quality never gets the last two dots. Significantly worse than a download at basic quality. Simply unwatchable.
Yeah streaming in my experience is garbage . When I can get it to work (not too often) it's a blurry mess .
jimmypowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 10:45 AM   #11
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrone View Post
Crappy = pixilated, stuttering mess. Not a smooth experience. Quality never gets the last two dots. Significantly worse than a download at basic quality. Simply unwatchable.
I'm up with family in PA (50MB down) and have been streaming to my iPhone from my home back in VA (5MB up), and the shows have been starting with all but the last two quality bars, and then about two minutes in, changing to all quality bars.

So if it's not bandwidth related (you've got FiOS on both ends), I wonder if TiVos are assigned to specific proxy servers, some of which are a lot busier than others? That doesn't make much sense, but TiVo occasionally does stuff I'd say doesn't make a lot of sense.




__________________
Roamio Pro + Mini (x3)
Premiere XL4 + Mini (x2) + Premiere
Premiere (x2) + Series 3 OLED (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2)
DirecTiVo (x3)
Series 1
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |