TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-22-2013, 06:12 PM   #31
villager-li
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
I THINK THE ISSUE IS FIXED.

I tried Tivo Support again after my iPad starting freezing when streaming video. Within the first 5 minutes of the call, the agent (William) asked if I had FiOS. And once I confirmed I did, he asked me if I had a MI424WR router, which I confirmed. Then he asked how I connected the Roamio to the router and I told him Coax and Ethernet (same as the previous Premiere unit). He immediately told me that's the problem - since I am using MoCA with the Mini, and the FiOS network in my home is already MoCA enabled, connecting the Roamio with the Ethernet in addition to Coax is causing the Roamio to try and set up a new MoCA network and that will conflict with the Verizon network (or something along those lines). He instructed me to disconnect the Ethernet and use only the Coax connection. It's been about 2 hours since then and everything is working 100% perfect - iPad streaming and Mini.

Thank you William for your help! No thanks to all the others at Tivo who were not able to help me fix such a simple issue!!!

If anyone from Tivo is reading this, I really hope you understand just how poor the support has been on this issue. This could have been resolved on the first call, without me having to go nuts troubleshooting everything in my house. And, why don't your instructions state that you can't set it up the way I had it if you have FiOS - all I did was follow your instructions!

I hope this helps others who have similar problems....
villager-li is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 06:58 AM   #32
sangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by villager-li View Post
I THINK THE ISSUE IS FIXED.

I tried Tivo Support again after my iPad starting freezing when streaming video. Within the first 5 minutes of the call, the agent (William) asked if I had FiOS. And once I confirmed I did, he asked me if I had a MI424WR router, which I confirmed. Then he asked how I connected the Roamio to the router and I told him Coax and Ethernet (same as the previous Premiere unit). He immediately told me that's the problem - since I am using MoCA with the Mini, and the FiOS network in my home is already MoCA enabled, connecting the Roamio with the Ethernet in addition to Coax is causing the Roamio to try and set up a new MoCA network and that will conflict with the Verizon network (or something along those lines). He instructed me to disconnect the Ethernet and use only the Coax connection. It's been about 2 hours since then and everything is working 100% perfect - iPad streaming and Mini.

Thank you William for your help! No thanks to all the others at Tivo who were not able to help me fix such a simple issue!!!

If anyone from Tivo is reading this, I really hope you understand just how poor the support has been on this issue. This could have been resolved on the first call, without me having to go nuts troubleshooting everything in my house. And, why don't your instructions state that you can't set it up the way I had it if you have FiOS - all I did was follow your instructions!

I hope this helps others who have similar problems....
Just wondering if everything is still working well with your setup since this change.
sangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 07:00 AM   #33
villager-li
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Yep, everything works perfectly now with the Roamio only using MoCA without Ethernet.
villager-li is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 05:46 PM   #34
jntc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 110
Unfortunately, I don't have FIOS. I still have the stuttering video and audio dropouts. I too can rewind and play it right back, and it plays fine with no skip on audio or video. However, live TV is doing it quite a bit. I also have ~280 PHY and good 2400mhz splitters, and a POE, with all 'home run' cable runs to the devices. I've also tried via ethernet and get the same issues (actually worse it seems) I've swapped out the mini's and still get the issues.
jntc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |