TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2013, 01:39 PM   #331
BHNtechXpert
Registered User
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Then explain why you are protecting everything when the content holders do not require it? If it's not to thwart TiVo users then what purpose does it serve? It's only hurting your customers.
Not getting into this discussion again...we've been through it a thousand times and nothing has changed since then. You want to discuss it with me call me sometime.

BHNtechXpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 02:07 PM   #332
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 29,633
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHNtechXpert View Post
Not getting into this discussion again...we've been through it a thousand times and nothing has changed since then. You want to discuss it with me call me sometime.
I'm not even one of your customers. But a lot of my customers are your customers, or TW customers, and are effected by this. Not just TiVo users either, but HTPC users.

I understand when cable companies protect channels that require it, like HBO. I even kind of understand when the protect all premium channels. But what you guys, and TW, are doing seems unnecessary and only serves to hinder the customer's ability to watch the content when and where they want. All I can assume is that is exactly your intention.

__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 03:52 PM   #333
BHNtechXpert
Registered User
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I'm not even one of your customers. But a lot of my customers are your customers, or TW customers, and are effected by this. Not just TiVo users either, but HTPC users.

I understand when cable companies protect channels that require it, like HBO. I even kind of understand when the protect all premium channels. But what you guys, and TW, are doing seems unnecessary and only serves to hinder the customer's ability to watch the content when and where they want. All I can assume is that is exactly your intention.
And you know what they say about assuming things right?

BHNtechXpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 04:04 PM   #334
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,338
Then what's the real reason?

__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 04:31 PM   #335
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 29,633
TC CLUB MEMBER
If you don't tell us otherwise then what else can we assume? There is no legal reason you have to do it. And it can't be a technical limitation because if it were then you'd also be flagging the local channels which is against the law. So provided you have the capability of flagging channels individually and flagging is not required by the majority of the content providers then why do you do it? The only thing I can think of is to intentionally block features like TiVoToGo and Stream downloading to prop up your own VOD and app offerings.

__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 06:45 AM   #336
igirl
Tivo and EyeTV User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHNtechXpert View Post
we've been through it a thousand times and nothing has changed since then. You want to discuss it with me call me sometime.
I did a search and found some threads scattered all over - here, dslreports and beyond - but not the answer.

If it's been asked and answered a thousand times, what's the stock FAQ answer for this? (just curious knowing nothing will likely change)

__________________
* Tivo Roamio Plus w/Lifetime * Tivo Premiere unsub - (a cablecard box) * EyeTV 3 w/dual HDTV tuner (Silicon Dust HDHR) * Tivo Stream * Apple TV 3 (front end for EyeTV3 & film library)
igirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 01:24 PM   #337
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by igirl View Post
I did a search and found some threads scattered all over - here, dslreports and beyond - but not the answer.

If it's been asked and answered a thousand times, what's the stock FAQ answer for this? (just curious knowing nothing will likely change)
I think the stock answer is that, just like with politicians, they ducked the question before, therefore they consider it to have been answered and it to be a closed subject and anyone who persists in asking is a just some anti-American radical malcontent.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 01:03 AM   #338
jwbelcher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 485
Its a year later and BHN has some great news for Tivo customers.

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r297...ocking-Stuffer

jwbelcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 01:22 AM   #339
BHNtechXpert
Registered User
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 89

BHNtechXpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 12:52 PM   #340
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,338
Is this a staged rollout? Because if the gift is indeed the removal of the CCI byte it's not working for me as I still cannot stream copy-protected shows to my iPhone on the TiVo app when away from my home wireless.

__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 04:06 PM   #341
BHNtechXpert
Registered User
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Is this a staged rollout? Because if the gift is indeed the removal of the CCI byte it's not working for me as I still cannot stream copy-protected shows to my iPhone on the TiVo app when away from my home wireless.
Yes.... Tampa will not change until first part of Jan....CFL got it first this time guys

BHNtechXpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 04:25 PM   #342
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,338
Ah ok, looking forward to it. Thanks, Gary!

__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 09:18 PM   #343
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,338
Is ESPN Classic available on Brighthouse North Pinellas? The channel lineup shows it as 152, but I'm getting a V58 (not authorized) on my TiVo XL4 with M-Card and TA. I can't seem to find an HD version of it either. I'd like to see the marching band halftime shows during the national championship game tonight.

__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 10:36 AM   #344
jwbelcher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Is ESPN Classic available on Brighthouse North Pinellas? The channel lineup shows it as 152, but I'm getting a V58 (not authorized) on my TiVo XL4 with M-Card and TA. I can't seem to find an HD version of it either. I'd like to see the marching band halftime shows during the national championship game tonight.
Its only available if you subscribe to the sports pass. I'd guess the package isn't on your cablecard with the v58 error.

jwbelcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:11 PM   #345
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,338
Well, luckily there are other places to watch this particular content ...

__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 06:10 PM   #346
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwbelcher View Post
Its a year later and BHN has some great news for Tivo customers.

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r297...ocking-Stuffer
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Is this a staged rollout? Because if the gift is indeed the removal of the CCI byte it's not working for me as I still cannot stream copy-protected shows to my iPhone on the TiVo app when away from my home wireless.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHNtechXpert View Post
Yes.... Tampa will not change until first part of Jan....CFL got it first this time guys
Any update on this change rollout for Tampa/St. Pete, Gary? I'd consider us past the "first part of January."

__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 08:34 PM   #347
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,960
Remember that anything you recorded before they turn off the CCI byte will remain copy protected afterwards. I still have stuff trapped on my Premiere from when I was on TWC, and it will have to stay there.

Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 12:33 PM   #348
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Any update on this change rollout for Tampa/St. Pete, Gary? I'd consider us past the "first part of January."
I checked again and I'm now seeing 0x00 on my channels! And I just tested OOH streaming on my iPhone and it worked. Fantastic, thanks!

__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 06:33 PM   #349
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,338
I know this doesn't really belong here, but I know a lot of local BHN people subscribe to this thread. Not looking forward to this Charter buyout.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...php?p=10457019

__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 06:55 PM   #350
BHNtechXpert
Registered User
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 89
Just a heads up we're working the CCI bit changes for Indy now as well...should be complete (at this point) by late in the week.

BHNtechXpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 04:20 AM   #351
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,376
I haven't been able to get Jon Stewart (The Daily Show) this week. Is BHN censoring the show?
I have SP on both TiVos, but neither records the show. Further, it doesn't show in history as not being recorded.

This morning, I went to the SP to see settings and there are no limits. Checked to record the two shows this morning. Went to upcoming showings and they aren't scheduled. See there are no shows in the Guide and only Roast re-runs and other things. No Jon Stewart. No other late night shows except Tosh.

Is this happening on your TiVos? Any ideas how to fix it?

__________________
M-Card HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a) with TA; 2DT (no TA);
Fitbit since 2011. Love my Ultra.
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 07:14 AM   #352
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,338
According to Comedy Central's website, the next day an episode of The Daily Show airs is Monday, July 20.

http://www.cc.com/tv-schedule/the-daily-show

Using the TiVo app on my iPhone, I can confirm there are no episodes in the Guide data until Monday.

__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 07-14-2015, 07:18 AM   #353
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by megory View Post
I haven't been able to get Jon Stewart (The Daily Show) this week. Is BHN censoring the show?
I have SP on both TiVos, but neither records the show. Further, it doesn't show in history as not being recorded.

This morning, I went to the SP to see settings and there are no limits. Checked to record the two shows this morning. Went to upcoming showings and they aren't scheduled. See there are no shows in the Guide and only Roast re-runs and other things. No Jon Stewart. No other late night shows except Tosh.

Is this happening on your TiVos? Any ideas how to fix it?
Like was posted, nothing until Monday 7/20. On 7/20 they also have their morning repeats.

Have you check your guide date in system information? Mine covers that whole week.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 08:12 AM   #354
fcfc2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 216
Hi,
As a former BH customer, getting a CSR who knows what they are talking about is rare. They do have a direct forum however and generally the people who man it are technically competent. Might give them a try...
https://www.dslreports.com/forum/bhousedirect

fcfc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 08:49 AM   #355
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,376
HAHAHA! How wrong I am. Thanks for keeping me straight. When I saw 9:14am, I assumed it was a rebroadcast of last night's missed show. I failed to check the date.

Sooo! It's Comedy Central that is being weird, Phew. Any other time Stewart or Colbert went on vacation, they did re-runs--not roasts, so it's a different algorithm they're working from.

Thanks WR and FC!

__________________
M-Card HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a) with TA; 2DT (no TA);
Fitbit since 2011. Love my Ultra.

Last edited by megory; 07-15-2015 at 09:35 AM.
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 09:22 AM   #356
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 1,389
HAHAHA. There is something in the water in Florida. I swear. My sister and mother moved there two years ago. They want me to move too. No way. I lived in Tampa 30 years ago and I'm still getting back to normal.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.
Page generated in 0.13116002 seconds (83.80% PHP - 16.20% MySQL) with 18 queries