TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2013, 06:19 PM   #1
MyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kenmore, Wa.
Posts: 312
Premiere 4 vs Roamio: Are the UIs the Same?

I am contemplating upgrading my 2-tuner Series4 Premiere to either a Premiere 4 or the 4-tuner Roamio. I live alone and have only 1 TV; I really just want to be able to record 4 shows at once. My cable provider is Comcast and I do not have an OTA antenna. I already have the WD eSATA external drive and I typically use around 35% capacity. I have 20.3.7 and everything is working OK but the S4's responsiveness just seems like a slug. I am hoping that the Roamio has a much faster processor than the S4 Premiere but am not sure about the Premiere 4.

Are the UIs pretty much the same with the Roamio and Premiere 4? Is the Premiere 4 much different, if any, than my 3 year old Series4 Premiere?
__________________
"When it's time to whack me, just tell me which corner to stand on so innocents don't catch a stray."

G. Gordon Liddy
MyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 06:26 AM   #2
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,331
Spend the little extra and get the Roamio, you won't regret it. Much, Much faster. Plus it will most likely get new Apps from the upcoming Opera app store (Premiere may also, but it will be slower to launch)
http://www.zatznotfunny.com/2013-12/...0-3-8-rolling/

TiVo Roamio - $149.99
http://www.amazon.com/TiVo-Digital-R...dp/B00EEOSZK0/

Tivo Premiere 4 - $125.99
https://www.tivo.com/shop/promo/holiday2013

The Roamio UI has new colors and fonts, otherwise they are the same, except for the speed. The Roamio also has Built-In Dual-Band WiFi if that helps. The base Roamio is missing MoCA, but should not be any issue for a single TV application.

The Premiere is supposed to get the new looking UI early next year.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 01:06 PM   #3
PedjaR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyM3 View Post
I am contemplating upgrading my 2-tuner Series4 Premiere to either a Premiere 4 or the 4-tuner Roamio. I live alone and have only 1 TV; I really just want to be able to record 4 shows at once. My cable provider is Comcast and I do not have an OTA antenna. I already have the WD eSATA external drive and I typically use around 35% capacity. I have 20.3.7 and everything is working OK but the S4's responsiveness just seems like a slug. I am hoping that the Roamio has a much faster processor than the S4 Premiere but am not sure about the Premiere 4.

Are the UIs pretty much the same with the Roamio and Premiere 4? Is the Premiere 4 much different, if any, than my 3 year old Series4 Premiere?
I was in similar situation (3 year old 2 tuner Premiere) and just bought Roamio, but to add to Premiere, not to replace it. Roamio is significantly faster, and not just navigating menus - I have some wishlists that return many results, and getting results in Premiere takes half a minute or longer, while Roamio does it in a second or two. UIs are almost exactly the same, assuming you use HD UI on Premiere. I would not consider 4 tuner Premiere with Roamio being available, since Roamio is better and the price is not siginificantly different (most of the price is in the subcription, which is the same). Besides speed (and that is a big one), Roamios have two more significant advantages:
- you can just replace the original drive with a 3TB hard drive and it will just work, no need for fancy preparation; if your drive dies, again just pop in a new one and you are good to go
- Roamios are likely to have software updates for a longer time

Last edited by PedjaR : 12-14-2013 at 04:54 PM.
PedjaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 01:25 PM   #4
gigaguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 102
Just comparing boxes and your needs, the 4 tuner Roamio over an 4 tuner Premiere is a no brainer imo..

I was shopping Roamio but I just got an unused XL4 on craigslist. It is even slower than my basic Premiere but the price with lifetime and ext warr was $200 so I went for it, since a base Roamio with lifetime and ext warr would cost me $686 w/tax.

Last edited by gigaguy : 12-14-2013 at 01:36 PM.
gigaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 08:09 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
Yeah you got a killer deal. Most 4 tuner units with lifetime are selling for $400-$500
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 09:41 PM   #6
gigaguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 102
Yes, I was surprised the seller offered it so cheap..and he is a longtime Tivoer with many TIvos, never used this XL4.
and then for TiVoCo to lifetime my recently bought used Premiere for $99 when I transfered the XL4 over was amazing too.
only problem, now I'm thinking how nice a Roamio would be... but I'm holding off.
gigaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |