TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2013, 09:58 PM   #1
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 227
20.3.8 Release Notes

The first batch of TiVo Premiere customers were authorized for the 20.3.8 software update tonight.

Priority list sign-up is here: http://tivo.com/priority

Here are some of the changes:

- new transparency options for Closed Captions
- support for new apps (some of which may start appearing next week)
- support for "low battery" message for new RF remotes
- fixed an issue where the grid Guide didn't keep its place after scheduling a recording
- now will retry tuning requests after a Tuning Adapter fails to respond
- improved some issues related to transferring shows between Series4 and Series5 DVRs

Note: there is nothing in this update related to Wireless N Adapters. We are still trying to understand the issue. I would like to hear if any of the people that are having issues with the N Adapter find things get better when they update to 20.3.8.
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 10:08 PM   #2
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,376
Thanks Marg! Hmm new app(s). Plural!
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 01:23 AM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
- improved some issues related to transferring shows between Series4 and Series5 DVRs
Does this fix the "Resume transfer from pause point" issue?
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Retired)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 02:07 AM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,649
ooh what new apps? Completely new? Or just new versions of the apps we already have?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 06:32 AM   #5
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
ooh what new apps? Completely new? Or just new versions of the apps we already have?
What are the odds they will be optional?
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 06:47 AM   #6
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 619
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
now will retry tuning requests after a Tuning Adapter fails to respond
Manna from heaven!!!!
Yay!
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 07:37 AM   #7
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
The first batch of TiVo Premiere customers were authorized for the 20.3.8 software update tonight.....
That's interesting since I received the update two days ago...
__________________
"You don't know Bierboy like I know Bierboy. He became a lot more amusing after I figured out his sense of humor..." -- Rob Helmerichs

XL4

Last edited by Bierboy : 12-13-2013 at 07:55 AM.
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 07:40 AM   #8
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
Thanks Marg! Hmm new app(s). Plural!
"support for new apps"
shamilian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 11:38 AM   #9
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
The first batch of TiVo Premiere customers were authorized for the 20.3.8 software update tonight.

Priority list sign-up is here: http://tivo.com/priority

Here are some of the changes:

- new transparency options for Closed Captions
- support for new apps (some of which may start appearing next week)
- support for "low battery" message for new RF remotes
- fixed an issue where the grid Guide didn't keep its place after scheduling a recording
- now will retry tuning requests after a Tuning Adapter fails to respond
- improved some issues related to transferring shows between Series4 and Series5 DVRs

Note: there is nothing in this update related to Wireless N Adapters. We are still trying to understand the issue. I would like to hear if any of the people that are having issues with the N Adapter find things get better when they update to 20.3.8.
Let's hope signing up early in the priority list doesn't put you in the "black hole" like last time!
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 11:54 AM   #10
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCLABB View Post
Let's hope signing up early in the priority list doesn't put you in the "black hole" like last time!
I think I am already in the "hole".

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb....php?p=9931721

I read people who signed up yesterday already got updated.

Do you think Tivo knows what a FIFO queue is ?
shamilian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 12:17 PM   #11
dave13077
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 216
I signed up early on and still no love..... Sent an email to Margret asking her to check.
dave13077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 12:26 PM   #12
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 1,747
the guide losing it's place has become annoying when setting up my one-time special and movie recordings for the week, glad there is a fix planned.

i signed up on the priority list, but no update yet...
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 01:08 PM   #13
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCLABB View Post
Let's hope signing up early in the priority list doesn't put you in the "black hole" like last time!
My Premieres also did not get the priory update last night or so far today. I will give it few days.

My Roamio and Minis all did receive the update.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.1, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.0601

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by CoxInPHX : 12-13-2013 at 02:01 PM.
CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 01:09 PM   #14
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,159
As one who uses closed captioning often, I'm enjoying the added options now offered...
__________________
"You don't know Bierboy like I know Bierboy. He became a lot more amusing after I figured out his sense of humor..." -- Rob Helmerichs

XL4
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 01:33 PM   #15
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave13077 View Post
I signed up early on and still no love..... Sent an email to Margret asking her to check.
dave check again I signed up early also and it downloaded over night.
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 01:36 PM   #16
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 227
If you signed up before midnight on Wednesday and don't have the update even after making the connection to the TiVo service, then please email me your TSN. (margret@tivo.com)

Sorry for the trouble!

Best,
--Margret
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 01:41 PM   #17
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
My Premiers also did not get the priory update last night or so far today. I will give it few days.

My Roamio and Minis all did receive the update.
World English Dictionary
premier (ˈprɛmjə)

— adj
4. first in importance, rank, etc
5. first in occurrence; earliest

I think we need to rename the "premier".
shamilian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 02:17 PM   #18
jgametest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 95
Note Email sent tivo teasing again

This was the second major download of traffic on my TiVo and there was nothing.. No prompt just DONE. So I did the manually reboot and TiVo loaded in less than 5mins.

Sent Margret my TSN
jgametest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 08:14 PM   #19
dkenglish7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oakland CA
Posts: 14
Wireless-G ?

Any word on whether this update re-enables Wireless-G adapters on Premieres?
dkenglish7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 09:55 PM   #20
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,376
Anyone have any pics or video if what the new netflix app looks like?
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 09:59 PM   #21
jgametest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 95
Exclamation Update installed -- testing in progress

So here is what I've seen so far:

1) HuluPlus loaded very quickly there is network bug identifier displaying the channel PBS Kids in the bottom right corner of the screen as I'm playing SuperWhy! Never seen that before.

2) Loaded KmTTG and pushed webtab to www.starfall.com
Webpage rendered quickly with no navigation-- preloaded to a flash section.
Was informed by page that flash player was missing.
Reason (Opera SDK not activated yet possibly)

3) Netflix loaded quickly to menu, but have not tried to load a video yet. Waiting my turn daughter jumped onto tv to claim ownership. Smart for 2yrs old. Same interface no change yet.

4) Tivo Launchpad loads quickly, hit Flingo and launched my que from Flingo Desktop.. Playing Winnie the Pooh, recorded from Tivo but at the time, captured by USBmyTV card...mp4 format streaming from PC. =) Still no Fwrd/Rew =(

Still have not tested Youtube on this release..

http://demo.tvstore.opera.com
This is the store that is suppose to be active
"We're sorry but this device is not authorized"

Acquired from Opera TV Emulator

Last edited by jgametest : 12-13-2013 at 10:18 PM.
jgametest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 12:47 AM   #22
CloudAtlas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
Anyone have any pics or video if what the new netflix app looks like?
Apps have not changed. As Margret mentioned above the 20.3.8 update added "support for new apps (some of which may start appearing next week)." So the new Netflix app may show up next week or the week after (Dec 23rd).

It's nice that TiVo can update the applications independently of the system software and w/o a reboot. Flash player and HD menu software are now dated November 6th and 5th.
CloudAtlas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 12:57 AM   #23
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,012
I also noticed it said Manufacturer was Tivo Support
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 01:24 AM   #24
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,176
Signed up on the priority list last week and still no update love, even after emailing Margret my TSN yesterday. Guess I'll just need to wait. Hopefully I get it by the time the masses get it.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 06:00 AM   #25
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,224
1080p24 works again in the new HTML5 Netflix browser

It is a bit slow but much better/faster than the old Flash version.

You can launch the new HTML5 Netflix browser using a beta version of KMTTG
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...01#post9928301
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.1, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.0601

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 08:46 AM   #26
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
If you signed up before midnight on Wednesday and don't have the update even after making the connection to the TiVo service, then please email me your TSN. (margret@tivo.com)

Sorry for the trouble!

Best,
--Margret
Thank you for this. I got the update last night. No issues.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 01:17 PM   #27
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by morac View Post
Signed up on the priority list last week and still no update love, even after emailing Margret my TSN yesterday. Guess I'll just need to wait. Hopefully I get it by the time the masses get it.
Mine finally showed up after midnight (previous check was 8:00pm).

I got all my boxes update before the snow/ice storm today, just in case we lose power, I don't want it trying to do an upgrade.
shamilian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 02:33 PM   #28
mikeyts
Wireless Wiseguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 2,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
Anyone have any pics or video if what the new netflix app looks like?
This, on Roamio. The old HTML5 one looks much the same as the Flash one with some added features.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
1080p24 works again in the new HTML5 Netflix browser

It is a bit slow but much better/faster than the old Flash version.

You can launch the new HTML5 Netflix browser using a beta version of KMTTG
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...01#post9928301
Not the same as the Roamio one is it? That one does not use Webkit, but a custom layout/rendering engine optimized to their application.
__________________
Mike Scott

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
mikeyts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 05:00 PM   #29
christheman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthAlabama View Post
the guide losing it's place has become annoying when setting up my one-time special and movie recordings for the week, glad there is a fix planned.

i signed up on the priority list, but no update yet...
Similar issue here, although for me the Guide seems to lose its place every half hour on the half hour, probably due to refreshing with most recent data.
christheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 06:57 PM   #30
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyts View Post
Not the same as the Roamio one is it? That one does not use Webkit, but a custom layout/rendering engine optimized to their application.
The HTML5 Netfix versions/builds appear to be identical on the Mini, the Premiere, and the Roamio

SW Version: /2013.2.1
Netflix Version: sdk 4.02.release 1933285/nrdjs
UI Build: release-36-p
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.1, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.0601

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |