TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2013, 09:38 PM   #1
faxman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 22
Remote Control programming

How can I use my Tivo remote to change my TV's input selection? All I can see how to do is to VIEW the input table on my Olevia TV, but not change the selection. I know I can change it on my Panasonic TV by pressing the INPUT button multiple times. Is there any trick I can play for my Olevia TV?
faxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 09:57 PM   #2
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,178
If the original oem remote can't use a single key to go from input to input, then there is nothing the TiVo remote can do to change this.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 10:14 PM   #3
faxman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 22
What if I buy a Tivo learning remote?
faxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 10:20 PM   #4
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,178
You can only teach to like 7 keys, power, input, ch up & down, volume up & down, and mute. How many more tv commands are needed to navigate the on-screen menu?
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 08:23 AM   #5
faxman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 22
3 more: inputup, inputdown, and select. Doesn't sound like a new Tivo remote would solve my problem.
faxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 04:21 PM   #6
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,178
If you were only looking for a particular input, there could be discrete command for that input, a UEI/OFA remote using advanced codes(EFC), could get you that input command, and then teach it to key on learning TiVo remote. If not the input key itself, possibly mute key instead.

If you have say UEI made cable remote or ofa remote with tv code 11610 on board, these are the advanced codes for the input commands:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/vi...?p=60707#60707
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 06:23 PM   #7
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,836
Quote:
Originally Posted by faxman View Post
3 more: inputup, inputdown, and select. Doesn't sound like a new Tivo remote would solve my problem.
Try other codes for the same brand, frequently one of the alternatives will have a "next input" instead of bringing up the menu if the set can't respond to it.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 07:07 PM   #8
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,178
If there's a code for the olevia, which for many years there wasn't, there will only be one. And you should be thankful for that.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 05:59 PM   #9
faxman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 22
Thanks for the feedback, but I think it's just too much bother for me. I like the Tivo remote, and I have 2 other Tivos. If I were going to spend $ on a new remote I'd probably just buy a new TV that had an input switch that was Tivo-compatible like my Panasonic. I'll just live with having to use the TV remote for the few times I switch to Roku on that one TV.
faxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |