TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2013, 03:36 PM   #1
vanclute
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 137
4TB DIY in a Roamio Plus yet?

If this is already posted somewhere and I missed it, please feel free to direct me there.

I'm considering the purchase of a Roamio plus and would immediately like to upgrade it. I could go 3TB but if I can go 4tb I'd prefer that. Weakness has upgrade kits but I'm a DIY sort when it comes to these kinds of things. Does anyone have an "official" word (preferably first-hand experience if possible) on what 4tb hard drives will work in a Roamio plus?

Thanks!
vanclute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 03:54 PM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanclute View Post
If this is already posted somewhere and I missed it, please feel free to direct me there.

I'm considering the purchase of a Roamio plus and would immediately like to upgrade it. I could go 3TB but if I can go 4tb I'd prefer that. Weakness has upgrade kits but I'm a DIY sort when it comes to these kinds of things. Does anyone have an "official" word (preferably first-hand experience if possible) on what 4tb hard drives will work in a Roamio plus?

Thanks!
Weakness is your only option, as of now, to use 4Tb in a Roamio
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 03:55 PM   #3
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,933
Right now the only way to break the 3TB barrier on a Roamio is the Weaknees option. I'm working on a program of my own to copy & expand but it's probably several months off.
ggieseke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 03:57 PM   #4
vanclute
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 137
OK then, sounds like 3TB will just have to do for a while. I can live with that... thanks!!
vanclute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 04:12 PM   #5
Tivogre
Registered User
 
Tivogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
Right now the only way to break the 3TB barrier on a Roamio is the Weaknees option. I'm working on a program of my own to copy & expand but it's probably several months off.
Would it help you to see an image (or other info) from a 4TB Weaknees drive?
__________________
FIOS, Baby!!!
2x Tivo Roamio Pro,
5 x Tivo Mini
Samsung 72", 56", 4 x 32" HDTV
Sony 40" HDTV
iRule + iTach Remotes
Tivogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 05:36 PM   #6
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,933
I may get a peek at one soon.
ggieseke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:39 AM   #7
Accridition
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
I noticed that Weaknees was offering 4TB units, so I just assumed that was an easy upgrade to do and I picked up a Seagate ST4000VM000 4TB AV drive and originally planned to attach it with eSATA. After playing with it for a short time, it doesn't appear to be that easy. Does anybody know how to get a 4TB drive working either internally or externally?
Accridition is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 10:41 AM   #8
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Accridition View Post
I noticed that Weaknees was offering 4TB units, so I just assumed that was an easy upgrade to do and I picked up a Seagate ST4000VM000 4TB AV drive and originally planned to attach it with eSATA. After playing with it for a short time, it doesn't appear to be that easy. Does anybody know how to get a 4TB drive working either internally or externally?
At this point only Weaknees has that information, I think some people are working on a solution, but non so far.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 07:04 PM   #9
fstrthnu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Reverse Engineer

Would someone be able to reverse engineer the 4TB expansion if an image was obtained? I spoke with Weaknees today and asked for the price to format an already owned 4TB drive for TiVo and was told $95. Not an outrageous price if it could benefit the cause, I'd be willing to chip in.
fstrthnu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 10:23 AM   #10
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by fstrthnu2 View Post
Would someone be able to reverse engineer the 4TB expansion if an image was obtained? I spoke with Weaknees today and asked for the price to format an already owned 4TB drive for TiVo and was told $95. Not an outrageous price if it could benefit the cause, I'd be willing to chip in.
I wonder how big the demand is for 600+ hours of HD storage ? We should do a poll to see how many people on this Forum would purchase a 4Tb drive to upgrade their Roamio if we did have the tools to do so.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 07:22 PM   #11
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,492
As soon as ggieseke gets it worked out, I will definitely be upgrading to 4TB. Just for the bragging rights!
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:58 AM   #12
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
As soon as ggieseke gets it worked out, I will definitely be upgrading to 4TB. Just for the bragging rights!
I had not thought of bragging rights, my friends would be impressed as I brag about my 600h of HD storage (that I don't need). 450 h is in itself way more than I need, as I do watch what I record.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 10:23 AM   #13
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
I had not thought of bragging rights, my friends would be impressed as I brag about my 600h of HD storage (that I don't need). 450 h is in itself way more than I need, as I do watch what I record.
You and I definitely have a different set of friends!

If I had that kind of space, I would love to relocate my movie library from my server up to the TiVo. But it would be helpful to:

1) have some kind of foldering available and;
2) have a method to associate meta data.

It surprises me that in all the time we have been working on pushing and pulling content to and from the TiVo that a method to attach meta data to the file hasn't been developed. We can Tivodecode but can't Tivoencode?

Meh, different things are important to different people I suppose!
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 03:41 PM   #14
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
It surprises me that in all the time we have been working on pushing and pulling content to and from the TiVo that a method to attach meta data to the file hasn't been developed. We can Tivodecode but can't Tivoencode?
Actually, I developed a crude program to do that several years ago but it died for lack of interest.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=446048
ggieseke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 11:05 PM   #15
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,492
That's pretty cool.


Since I archive a lot of my movies on my server, I would love a tool similar to the meta generator 3 - where you could take your rip, use the tool to select the correct meta information. And it would then combine to create the .tivo and push to a destination TiVo.

It looks like most of the heavy lifting is done...

Maybe if I have time I will open meta generator an play around a little.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 12:32 PM   #16
openhacker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Is there a difference between the Roamio and Roamio plus?

I see weaknees can put WD AV-GP 4TB in a roamio.

Methinks it must be something simple (my 4TB AV-GP can't work in a roamio).
openhacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 04:06 PM   #17
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by openhacker View Post
Is there a difference between the Roamio and Roamio plus?

I see weaknees can put WD AV-GP 4TB in a roamio.

Methinks it must be something simple (my 4TB AV-GP can't work in a roamio).
No difference betwenn models and drives as far as I can tell, but they have the only working 4TB configuration. I hope to change that soon, but right now it's 3TB DIY or 4TB Weaknees.
ggieseke is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |