TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2013, 09:56 PM   #1
DaveRMachin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Tivo Premiere - Santa Login ?????

Switched on the TV to the TiVo input today, and it said this on the screen:

Fedora release 10 (Cambridge)
Kernel 2.6.27.5-117

Santa Login:


I posted a picture of it here (but can't post links, so remove spaces):
https :// w w w . iCloud .com / photostream / #A25Uzl7V4sn4O

I didn't have a way to type, but was hoping the password was "Christmas" :-)

Pulled the power and forced a reboot and it seems to be working fine.
DaveRMachin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 07:24 AM   #2
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,619
I suspect that was your cable company and not your TiVo.

I got something very similar for over a year every time Comcast issued an EAS message (Emergency Alert System). Obviously things were goofed up at their end. Mine was a RedHat linux login, but the machine name included "comcast" in it, so I knew where the source was. The screen would end once the weather warning or test was over in my case.
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 09:23 AM   #3
DaveRMachin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Nice to know - was worried about the Tivo. Thanks.
DaveRMachin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 09:49 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrispyCritter View Post
I suspect that was your cable company and not your TiVo.

I got something very similar for over a year every time Comcast issued an EAS message (Emergency Alert System). Obviously things were goofed up at their end. Mine was a RedHat linux login, but the machine name included "comcast" in it, so I knew where the source was. The screen would end once the weather warning or test was over in my case.
You know that you've just taken all the fun out of Christmas by revealing that there is no TiVo Easter Egg, right?


__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |