TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2013, 02:44 PM   #1
pos1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Can I access Series 3 from a Smart TV

Pretty simple question. Wife wants a new TV. We have another TV with a Series 3 connected. Debating if I spend the extra $s on a SmartTV.

Question - is there any way for the new SmartTV, which will have a wi-fi connection, to access the Tivo content on the other TV? After all, it's just another hard drive on the network. In other words, can I watch stuff on the Series 3 (downstairs) on the new TV (upstairs) without purchasing another Tivo?

I suspect the answer is no, which will help determine if I spend the extra $s on a SmartTV. There's really no other reason I need one, so may just purchase Roku instead (which provides way better services than any SmartTV for the same total price).
pos1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 05:16 PM   #2
lgnad
Registered User
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 324
No, youd have to get a tivo or at least a mini on the smart tv

Theres no tech reason why tivo couldnt make an app to stream to smart tvs, but i wouldnt bet on it happening anytime soon.
__________________
-Roamio Pro *Just out of the box!* :D
-Premier Xl4 MOCA bridge w/Slide Pro
-Premier Ethernet
-Mini Lifetime MOCA
-Stream
-Comcast/TiVo Mutant dvrs - RIP
-2x Upgraded Series 2 - Retired
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 07:35 AM   #3
Shanezam203
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 734
Yeah I think you would need at least a Mini on that TV to play your recordings from your Series 3. another option is to Split the HDMI or Component whatever connection you have on your Series 3 to a 2nd tv and run a long cable to this new TV. That's not always practical but in that case it would show 100% on both TV's what is on the s3. Then you get a 2nd remote and an RF extender and you are set...

HDMI 4x2
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

And RF Extender
http://www.amazon.com/Next-Generatio.../dp/B000C1Z0HA

+ HDMI cable
http://www.amazon.com/BlueRigger-Hig...s=50+foot+hdmi
Shanezam203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 11:50 AM   #4
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shanezam203 View Post
Yeah I think you would need at least a Mini on that TV to play your recordings from your Series 3. another option is to Split the HDMI or Component whatever connection you have on your Series 3 to a 2nd tv and run a long cable to this new TV. That's not always practical but in that case it would show 100% on both TV's what is on the s3. Then you get a 2nd remote and an RF extender and you are set...
A mini only works for S4 and S5 machines, S3's are too old
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 06:04 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
A mini only works for S4 and S5 machines, S3's are too old
They're just the right age, it's the other stuff that's too new.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:15 PM   #6
madneon
Registered User
 
madneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ft. Bragg NC
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
They're just the right age, it's the other stuff that's too new.
AMEN to that....tivo's going strong (with new server HD's) 6 and 7 years strong...knocks on wood.
__________________
2 X TiVo HD 2 WD Enterprise 500gb Drives
madneon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |