TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2013, 01:17 AM   #1
Torino
Registered User
 
Torino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 58
online storage vs. home storage

I was thinking of setting up an old pc I have for Tivo backup. I have also thought of online. Who has used online and how did it go. I understand it can take awhile to upload big files. Does it slow your pc down alot while it is uploading?
Torino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 02:57 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,571
Storing locally is faster and better then in the cloud/internet. Also, you can risk losing them due to inactivity, lack of payment, etc.
__________________
Series 2 (Retired, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 07:18 AM   #3
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,849
If only we folks on TWC, or other systems that copy protect profusely, had this choice. And you better have a later model Tivo than a Series 3 or you will eat up a lot of home network time transferring shows to your PC. Although I gather kmttg can automate those transfers and take the pain out.

If you use the cloud, you better have better than average internet upload speeds and a high capacity cloud storage bin. If you store locally, you will need to spend some $$ on a raid system, or you risk losing recordings due to HDD failures. There are some members here with big RAID systems. I wonder if anyone is using the Cloud for more than a few selected videos?
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 11:53 AM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torino View Post
I was thinking of setting up an old pc I have for Tivo backup. I have also thought of online. Who has used online and how did it go. I understand it can take awhile to upload big files. Does it slow your pc down alot while it is uploading?
The best thing would be a PC set up near the TiVo with both connected by wire to a router.

If that router isn't the main router, look into ways (like maybe DD-WRT) to turn it into a wireless bridge.

That way you have the best speed between TiVo and PC (use NTFS partitions to store the .tivo files rather than FAT32), and same internet connecting speed for the TiVo as before.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 06:22 PM   #5
SNJpage1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 3,119
One of the ways I now back up my PC is I bought two identical 1 Tb hard drives. I use one for my D drive and keep all my photos , music, videos and program data on it. Every other week I plug the second drive into a plug and play Sata port on the mother board, format the hard drive to wipe it clean and do a copy D to the back up hard drive. I go watch TV while it's doing it. After it is finished I unplug the back up hard drive and set it on the shelf. I did have it connected to my router by way of the routers USB port to use as a NAS but it took a long time to do it. The only advantage was I could back up my other three PC's thru it. However, the other three really didn't have anything that needed backing up since the music was the same on mine.
__________________
S2 and a Tivo HD
SNJpage1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |