TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2013, 09:10 AM   #1
MarkNH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Hampster
Posts: 14
Multi Service Discount on Roamio

I have an HD Tivo and an S1 that are both lifetime and a S2 that is on the MSD monthly $6.95 plan.

If I buy a Roamio or an old Premier, what would the Monthly MSD be on those devices (I would be replacing the S2) as I want something with HDMI and Cable Card support .
MarkNH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 09:47 AM   #2
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
$12.99
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 05:51 PM   #3
rarceneaux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
I was getting a add on my Premier to upgrade and keep my current plan. I called last week and I bought the plus model for $349 no tax and no shipping and they transferred my $6.95 plan over. Got it Yesterday and is working great.
rarceneaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:34 PM   #4
sastexan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by rarceneaux View Post
I was getting a add on my Premier to upgrade and keep my current plan. I called last week and I bought the plus model for $349 no tax and no shipping and they transferred my $6.95 plan over. Got it Yesterday and is working great.
I just did the exact same thing - well, I'm about to - just ordered a new Roamio to replace an S2 with the $6.95/mo plan, which will be transferred over to the Roamio.
sastexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 09:53 AM   #5
MarkNH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Hampster
Posts: 14
Did you have to buy it from TiVo to trade plans? Might try the best buy deal.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
MarkNH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 10:14 AM   #6
rarceneaux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkNH View Post
Did you have to buy it from TiVo to trade plans? Might try the best buy deal.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yes you have to buy from Tivo but they have some specials going on through 1/31/2014
rarceneaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 10:49 AM   #7
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkNH View Post
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
There's no need for this. You're essentially spamming the forum.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:49 AM   #8
unitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
There's no need for this. You're essentially spamming the forum.
Are we sure it's voluntary, and not something unavoidable when using certain gadgets to post?


Send from my PC using my fingers on the keyboard (which means I can't duck the blame for any screwups).
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:52 AM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkNH View Post
I have an HD Tivo and an S1 that are both lifetime and a S2 that is on the MSD monthly $6.95 plan.

If I buy a Roamio or an old Premier, what would the Monthly MSD be on those devices (I would be replacing the S2) as I want something with HDMI and Cable Card support .
If you can't get TiVo to transfer that $6.95 per month to the new TiVo (if you buy a new TiVo from them), at least insist on being able to get the $99 deal on lifetime for the S2, to give it some resale value.

I assume the S1 is the anchor for MSD on your account?
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 06:12 PM   #10
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Are we sure it's voluntary,
Yes.
1) Notice it was not in the original post. If it were involuntary, it would be there also.
2) The option can be turned off from within the app being used.
3) In this particular case, it seems a link was added, something I have not seen before and assume it was intentionally put there by the poster.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 10:50 PM   #11
MarkNH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Hampster
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
If you can't get TiVo to transfer that $6.95 per month to the new TiVo (if you buy a new TiVo from them), at least insist on being able to get the $99 deal on lifetime for the S2, to give it some resale value.

I assume the S1 is the anchor for MSD on your account?
The S1 is attached to a barely used TV, it even needs an external modem to dial in!
I now have an HD that is on the main TV which is also lifetime.

The S2 has a lot of monthly invested in it so the $99 would be deserving !
MarkNH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 10:54 PM   #12
MarkNH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Hampster
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
Yes.
1) Notice it was not in the original post. If it were involuntary, it would be there also.
2) The option can be turned off from within the app being used.
3) In this particular case, it seems a link was added, something I have not seen before and assume it was intentionally put there by the poster.
Original post was from my PC.
Offending post was from my iPad and put there by the app that I just installed.
I did not intentionally spam the board (but I do see many users of that app that still have that sig (and many other sigs).
MarkNH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:59 AM   #13
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Fair enough.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 12:19 PM   #14
unitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkNH View Post
The S1 is attached to a barely used TV, it even needs an external modem to dial in!
I now have an HD that is on the main TV which is also lifetime.

The S2 has a lot of monthly invested in it so the $99 would be deserving !
Was that HD MSD lifetimed with the S1 as anchor?

If so, it might not be able to serve as an MSD anchor.

Check with TiVo to be sure.
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 02:26 AM   #15
nexusplexus9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Its YMMV, but I got a Roamio Plus from ABT and after calling Tivo 3 times I was able to transfer my 6.95 plan from my Tivo HD to it.
I was about to add lifetime on on the Plus, but got disconnected and when I called again, the CSR allowed the transfer even though I didn't buy it from Tivo directly.

I also added lifetime for $99 to the TivoHD.

I still have a S2 on the plan, going to try to transfer it to a base Roamio that I picked up from BestBuy this weekend.
nexusplexus9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |