TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-23-2013, 01:13 PM   #1
Raoul99
A/V Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central Mass.
Posts: 55
WD30EURS or WD30EURX For Upgrading Roamio?

I'll be getting a Roamio Plus very soon, and I want to upgrade to a 3TB drive. I know that the WD30EURS is the most recommended drive, but WD recently came out with it's replacement (WD30EURX), which is actually faster, but there is little-to-no feedback about it's reliability.

Can the Roamio take advantage of the increased speed of the new drive? Would Tivo-to-Tivo transfers be faster with the new drive?

If the Roamio can take advantage of the increased speed, I'll probably go with the new one. If not, I'll probably go with the older model with known reliability...

Any help would be great!

Thanks.

Raoul99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 01:49 PM   #2
almighty
Lost in the sticks..
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: White Pigeon, MI
Posts: 57
Just swapped out my Plus' drive. Unit just shipped to me today, and it was the URX version. Replaced with a URS drive. So Tivo is using the new URX drives now. Don't know if it matters.

__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Premiere XL
almighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 02:01 PM   #3
Raoul99
A/V Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central Mass.
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by almighty View Post
Just swapped out my Plus' drive. Unit just shipped to me today, and it was the URX version. Replaced with a URS drive. So Tivo is using the new URX drives now. Don't know if it matters.

Thanks for the response...good luck with your new drive.

The only difference that I see is:

WD30EURS has a 3Gb/sec. interface

WD30EURX has a 6Gb/sec. interface

I really don't know if it matters in a TIVo, though...

Raoul99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 03:53 PM   #4
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 15,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul99 View Post
Thanks for the response...good luck with your new drive.

The only difference that I see is:

WD30EURS has a 3Gb/sec. interface

WD30EURX has a 6Gb/sec. interface

I really don't know if it matters in a TIVo, though...
No it would make zero difference.

__________________
Roamio Pro (5TB Red)
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic(1TB Red)/Roamio Basic refurb(stock drive)
53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 04:21 PM   #5
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9,783
Why not just buy a Pro and be done with it?

RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 04:25 PM   #6
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 299
why waste the money on a Pro when you can just pop a 3tb drive in for less than $120?

spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 04:41 PM   #7
Raoul99
A/V Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central Mass.
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by spaldingclan View Post
why waste the money on a Pro when you can just pop a 3tb drive in for less than $120?

This, plus I have a use for the 1TB I'll be taking out...

Thanks for the responses guys...

Raoul99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:41 PM   #8
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9,783
There's no prep needed for a new drive, right? As I understand it the OS and everything needed is in flash memory on the main board. So you could put a new drive in any time you wanted to, just wouldn't have your recordings.

Is that all correct?

RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:54 PM   #9
sleepdragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Yes, you are correct. I took out the stock 1TB EURX and checked the drive with Hitachi Feature Tool and WDIDLE3
The new EURX is not supported by Hitachi Acoustic Management and when checking with WDIDLE3, it was already disabled

sleepdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:10 PM   #10
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 853
The EURS models have AAM (Automatic Acoustic Management) settings on them, the EURX models do not.

MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 07:17 PM   #11
az1097
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 78
EURS or EURX?

So after going through all the responses here, I'm confused. Which would definitely be the better drive to use?
Also can a 4TB drive be used instead?

az1097 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 07:57 PM   #12
ltxi
Registered User
 
ltxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 349
EURS

no

ltxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 02:14 PM   #13
A J Ricaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hacienda Heights, CA (Los Angeles County)
Posts: 1,088
Newegg has the WD AV-GP WD30EURX 3TB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive on sale for $119.99. Use PROMO CODE:
EMCWVTW226

A J Ricaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 06:44 PM   #14
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 449
EURS works perfectly. EURX is a waste of 10 dollars.

__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 07:16 PM   #15
CurtisG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nortern Virginia
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurbano View Post
EURS works perfectly. EURX is a waste of 10 dollars.
With $20 discount using the PROMO code, the EURX is actually cheaper that the EURS
The PROMO code only works on the EURX

CurtisG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 10:57 PM   #16
az1097
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by CurtisG View Post
With $20 discount using the PROMO code, the EURX is actually cheaper that the EURS
The PROMO code only works on the EURX
Regardless of the price, does either the EURS or the EURX have any advantages over the other one?

az1097 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 12:58 PM   #17
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by az1097 View Post
Regardless of the price, does either the EURS or the EURX have any advantages over the other one?
For TiVo use no. (except drive warranty, maybe)

__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 04:18 AM   #18
98clru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Did you get a chance to upgrade? did you use the urx? how did it do?

98clru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 05:12 AM   #19
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
And 4tb is now possible without buying the retail third party drives...

__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 11:07 AM   #20
zerdian1
Roamio PRO, Roamio,
 
zerdian1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: South FLORIDA
Posts: 76
Storage upgrade without voiding TiVo warrenty

My Plan:
take my current WD 1TB external drive and replace the 1TB internal drive with a 3TB internal drive. Either WD30EURS or WD30EURX.

First I need to determine which drive is in my new TiVo Roamio Pro purchased last month and built in Mexico in Sept 2014. I do not want to open the TiVo which might void the warranty.

I want to make sure to use the same drive so that workload will stay in balance. TiVo balances all videos it stores across both drives. so we want to make sure they operate at the same speed and have the same cache size.

__________________
George
Have 4TB Roamio PRO, 1.5 TB Roamio & 2 Minis
Have 2 8TB Dish Hoppers, 2 WiFi Joeys & 1 Joey
RIP 2 Series 2 TiVos
RIP 3 ReplayTVs

Worked on USA NASA Moon Landings
Retired Chief Scientist
zerdian1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 01:15 PM   #21
Mikeguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerdian1 View Post
My Plan:
take my current WD 1TB external drive and replace the 1TB internal drive with a 3TB internal drive. Either WD30EURS or WD30EURX.
Perhaps I'm mis-recalling, but I thought that I had read here that this wouldn't work--that the drive in the WD external drive for the TiVo cannot be replaced with a larger size (the TiVo software will not accept the larger drive). But perhaps others will confirm, one way or the other.

Mikeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 01:29 PM   #22
b-ball-fanatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northwest
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerdian1 View Post
My Plan:
take my current WD 1TB external drive and replace the 1TB internal drive with a 3TB internal drive. Either WD30EURS or WD30EURX.
This doesn't work. The external drive option is the one WD 1Tb option.

Quote:
First I need to determine which drive is in my new TiVo Roamio Pro purchased last month and built in Mexico in Sept 2014. I do not want to open the TiVo which might void the warranty.

I want to make sure to use the same drive so that workload will stay in balance. TiVo balances all videos it stores across both drives. so we want to make sure they operate at the same speed and have the same cache size.
It doesn't matter which drive is inside.

b-ball-fanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 06:55 PM   #23
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by b-ball-fanatic View Post
This doesn't work. The external drive option is the one WD 1Tb option.


It doesn't matter which drive is inside.
As I posted elsewhere, the list of "approved" external eSATA drives is extremely limited. It includes three 500GB WD drives and six 1TB WD drives listed by the exact model number and firmware revision. Nothing else will work as an external without 3rd-party help.

b-ball-fanatic and Mikeguy are both correct. No matter WHAT it comes with as an internal drive it won't work in an external.

ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.
Page generated in 0.11280608 seconds (87.21% PHP - 12.79% MySQL) with 18 queries