TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2013, 08:13 AM   #1
Marconi
TiVo Junkie
 
Marconi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Page, AZ USA
Posts: 432
CableCARD Encryption

What determines the type of encryption used by a CableCARD? Is this something that's locked in at the factory or is it something that can be selected by the cableco when configuring?

I've seen CableCARD Conditional Access screens with
Encryption: DES
and
Encryption:C CSA

Can any given card be configured for DES or C CSA or is this something that's locked in at manufacture?
__________________
Roamio Plus, Four HDs, Two DTs, One S2. (Yeah, I have a TiVo 'problem.') Mac Nut too.
Marconi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:17 AM   #2
JosephB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 475
What was the manufacturer of each one? I would venture a guess that one was a Motorola and one was a Cisco/Scientific Atlanta
__________________
Current: TiVo HD w/lifetime, 2 x 2 Tuner Premieres

Former: S1, S2 TiVos, UltimateTV, SD DirecTiVo (x3), SA 8300HD w/Passport Echo, DirecTV HR-24 (x2) , DISH 722k, DirecTV Genie + 2 mini
JosephB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:39 AM   #3
Marconi
TiVo Junkie
 
Marconi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Page, AZ USA
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by JosephB View Post
What was the manufacturer of each one? I would venture a guess that one was a Motorola and one was a Cisco/Scientific Atlanta
Both are Motorola MediaCipher M-Cards. Externally, they appear identical.
__________________
Roamio Plus, Four HDs, Two DTs, One S2. (Yeah, I have a TiVo 'problem.') Mac Nut too.
Marconi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 09:45 PM   #4
Marconi
TiVo Junkie
 
Marconi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Page, AZ USA
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by JosephB View Post
What was the manufacturer of each one? I would venture a guess that one was a Motorola and one was a Cisco/Scientific Atlanta
So, no one knows whether a card configured for CSA can be switched to DES or vice-versa? I'd have thought it was part of the firmware, but maybe the decoder itself is a dedicated chip in the card. That would make sense.

I have seven M-cards that were pulls from Cisco and Scientific Atlanta STBs but the cards themselves are Motorola MediaCipher and are for CSA decryption. I bought them hoping to save myself the cost of multiple card rentals each month but, while my cable provider uses Moto MediaCipher M-cards, they use DES encryption so these cards are probably useless to me.
__________________
Roamio Plus, Four HDs, Two DTs, One S2. (Yeah, I have a TiVo 'problem.') Mac Nut too.
Marconi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 11:01 PM   #5
JosephB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 475
You generally cannot use purchased CableCards. Almost all cable companies will require you to use a cable card they provide.

I did some digging and it appears CSA is used on DVB systems--mostly Europe.
__________________
Current: TiVo HD w/lifetime, 2 x 2 Tuner Premieres

Former: S1, S2 TiVos, UltimateTV, SD DirecTiVo (x3), SA 8300HD w/Passport Echo, DirecTV HR-24 (x2) , DISH 722k, DirecTV Genie + 2 mini
JosephB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 06:41 AM   #6
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,691
Do not attempt to escape the control of Big Brother. As punishment he may require you to use a Tuning Adapter!
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 11:58 AM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
Do not attempt to escape the control of Big Brother. As punishment he may require you to use a Tuning Adapter!
Unfortunately the authors of the Geneva Conventions never foresaw the possibility of anything as inhumane as TAs.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |