TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-21-2013, 02:38 PM   #1
kcossabo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 34
Premier to Roamio - Is HD menus quicker?

All,

I have had a Premier for a year or so, and it is a good TiVo, step up from the two TiVo HD I also have.

BUT

I do not use the HD menus as the are slow / slugish. I keep the SD menus on so that when I hit list/My Shows, I get the list quick, not a pause......fill in a few suggestions, then show a list.

Has anyone that may feel the same as I do about the Premier, moved from a Premier, to a Roamio and can comment on the 'speed of the HD menu'?
kcossabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 02:47 PM   #2
rsnaider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,627
Night and Day.

The latest update did have some improvements for the Premiere, but overall the increased power of the Roamio boxes is obvious when you use them.

You will not be disappointed once you start to use them and as you can see from my Sig I still use both.
__________________
Ron

TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Premier - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier XL
TiVo Premier Elite
TiVo Mini
rsnaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 04:41 PM   #3
bogart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jersey City--The Right Bank
Posts: 33
The speed of the Roamio is a pleasure after years of "Please Wait."
__________________
Bogart
______

Roamio Pro
Mini X2
bogart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 05:17 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
Pretty much the main reason I upgraded to a Roamio is for the speed. I didn't need 6 tuners and I already had a standalone Stream. But the Premiere was so frustratingly slow I bit the bullet and bought a Roamio. Couldn't be happier! The Roamio responds to every button press instantly. No more lag where suddenly it responds to 2-3 button presses at once, causing you to over shoot whet you were trying to get to. Well worth it in my book.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:26 PM   #5
ltxi
Registered User
 
ltxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 349
Same boat. Now have my Premiere XL in the basement workout room running SD menus and doing playbacks. It was our central unit until about a month and half ago when I got really tired of having to do two tuner and almost full 1TB disk management during the football and NASCAR racing seasons overlap. Also had two S3 HDXL units running, one of which was getting a bit non-drive related cranky

Perfect timing with the S5 release. Bought a Roamio Plus, upgraded the drive to 3TB, retired the cranky S3, and all was well. Until wife discovered the cool, now useable HD menus and made me replace her/our bedroom S3 as well.

The HD menus with the Roamio are a pleasure. More responsive than an S3 and about as responsive as an S4 in SD. What the Premiere should have been in the first place.

Last edited by ltxi : 11-22-2013 at 08:25 PM.
ltxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:32 PM   #6
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 641
Just been setting up my new Roamio. My impression so far:

Using the Premier: Driving an underpowered diesel truck loaded with 3 tons of gravel.

Using the Roamio: Driving one of those Japanese motorcycles that always pass me on the interstate like I'm standing still when I'm actually doing 65 mph :-).
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:33 PM   #7
sleepdragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
I would say Roamio's HD menu is just as fast if not faster than the SD menu on Premiere
Owned Premiere XL for 3 years and tried HD menu every time after each update but always quickly switch back to SD
It is such a surprise when I connect the Roamio Plus and finally get a snappy, fast respond HD menu
I would also definitely recommend dropping in a 3TB drive to the Roamio
sleepdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 07:14 AM   #8
kcossabo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 34
Thank you all..... Christmas is coming...
kcossabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 07:29 AM   #9
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9,072
Is the UI just as snappy when using a Mini attached to the Roamio?
RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 07:56 AM   #10
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickStrobel View Post
Is the UI just as snappy when using a Mini attached to the Roamio?
Yes, the Mini UI is just as snappy. The only "lag" that is experienced on the Mini versus Roamio is that channel changing for Live TV takes a few seconds longer due to the additional steps needed to transmit the new video signal from the Roamio to the Mini.

As another example, I know there was at least one forum member who was using the Mini for a while at their main TV to access their old Premiere XL4 since the UI speed was so much improved.
tatergator1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:54 AM   #11
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
Yes, the Mini UI is just as snappy. The only "lag" that is experienced on the Mini versus Roamio is that channel changing for Live TV takes a few seconds longer due to the additional steps needed to transmit the new video signal from the Roamio to the Mini.
I don't see that extra "few seconds" delay on my Mini; they're both about the same. Anything extra is certainly less than a second, if that. Perhaps it varies by TV?
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 09:34 AM   #12
nws alpine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 46
I have no lag on the mini as well. It's just as fast flipping through the channels as the Roamio.
nws alpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 10:06 AM   #13
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 736
Looks like this is a YMMV. I know in the past, several forum members had complained about additional lag on channel surfing via the Mini.
tatergator1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 10:17 AM   #14
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 197
Yes. Virtually everything about the Roamio is faster than the Premiere.

(Case Closed)
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 02:30 PM   #15
RickStrobel
Registered User
 
RickStrobel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
Looks like this is a YMMV. I know in the past, several forum members had complained about additional lag on channel surfing via the Mini.
Maybe it's due to network speed - i.e. gigabit hardwired vs MoCA? Also, don't the Plus and the Pro have faster network connections?
RickStrobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 09:04 PM   #16
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,359
My Mini feels WAY faster than my XL4 at doing anything. Including channel changes.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |