TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-20-2013, 03:15 PM   #1
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 263
Roamio and Mini update today (11/20/2013)

We will be releasing an update later today for TiVo Roamio and TiVo Mini.

Here is a list of some of the changes:
- fixed an issue where the video would occasionally freeze and the box would become unresponsive
- fixed an issue where the box wouldn't display anything after Standby
- fixed an issue related to fast-forward/rewind/recording not working on some channels
- fixed an issue where YouTube could freeze when using a keyboard remote

The update should probably be available sometime after 2pm PT.

--Margret

P.S. Love your Roamio? Enter for a chance to win $25K: http://sweeps.tivo.com/HolidayCash/
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 03:17 PM   #2
rsnaider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,639
Not seeing any of those issues, but once again thank you for the update and release notes!!!!
__________________
Ron

TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Pro - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier XL
TiVo Mini
rsnaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 03:34 PM   #3
andyf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 1,108
Ooh, You're going to get someone mad! Not me though, thanks for the update.
__________________
Andy
andyf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 03:34 PM   #4
jwbelcher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 467
Your the best.

James
jwbelcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 04:29 PM   #5
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 522
While I haven't experienced any of these specific issues, I am definitely happy that Tivo seems to be responsive on issuing bug fixes for the Roamio.
DaveDFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 04:32 PM   #6
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 198
Thanks! Any chance we can get a software build number to confirm the update?
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:12 PM   #7
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayern_fan View Post
Thanks! Any chance we can get a software build number to confirm the update?
I believe it will be 20.3.7.2.
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:16 PM   #8
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,898
Thanks the vast majority of us here really appreciate these updates and the info on what is included with them.

I think I've observed some of those, one of my Minis periodically is frozen when we wake it up and we've also observed that sometimes FF/REW on the Minis of a program on the host TiVo will cause it to rewind the program back to the very beginning or dump the TiVo out of playback altogether.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:18 PM   #9
g808
Registered User
 
g808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 86
Definitely appreciate the effort to quickly respond with fixes.
__________________
TiVo Customer Since 2006
Premiere Elite, Premiere XL, Series3, TiVo Mini, TiVo Stream
g808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:38 PM   #10
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
I believe it will be 20.3.7.2.
Much appreciated! Look forward to seeing it soon
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:45 PM   #11
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,378
Thanks. Does this update include a fix for the Netflix reboot issues? I just had my first reboot last night.
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 06:48 PM   #12
rsnaider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,639
20.3.7.2 is the version, just finished the update, took about 15 minutes from starting the download till the box was up and running.
__________________
Ron

TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Pro - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier XL
TiVo Mini
rsnaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 08:01 PM   #13
nws alpine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 46
Very nice. I had noticed once that the mini would freeze video after a few seconds. A reboot fixed it and haven't seen it since. Glad to see that it should not happen again.
nws alpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 04:41 AM   #14
grey ghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 177
You mean there's supposed to be something after Standby?? I'm not trying to make fun, I've never seen it. What is it supposed to do?

I'm so excited. I've had the box freeze several times in the past and the only remedy was to unplug the Tivo from the wall. Hope this fixes everything
grey ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:24 AM   #15
bbrown9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 141
Any ETA on when we might see a fix for the 2nd recording with a weird name showing up when padding the stop time of a show?
bbrown9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:06 PM   #16
El Maestro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 55
Do updates like this happen automatically or do we have to initiate them or approve them somehow?
El Maestro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:11 PM   #17
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Maestro View Post
Do updates like this happen automatically or do we have to initiate them or approve them somehow?
Updates will happen automatically. The process can take up to 48 hours if you let it happen on it's own, but can be accelerated if you're anxious. The Tivo checks for updates during the daily "call" to the Tivo servers. If an update is found, it will download and then wait until around 3AM to reboot your device and install the update.

In the case where you know there is an update, you can force a connection to the Tivo servers right away. If an update is downloaded, the network connection screen will display "Pending Restart" on one of the information lines, and that would be your cue to restart the device to install the update immediately.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:25 PM   #18
skid71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrown9 View Post
Any ETA on when we might see a fix for the 2nd recording with a weird name showing up when padding the stop time of a show?
+1 This is an annoyance, a minor one yes, but still an annoyance.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Slide Pro
skid71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:34 PM   #19
questors
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 70
The update locked up my Roameo. I turned on the TV this morning and there was a frozen TV image on the screen. The remote was unresponsive, no amber light. Unplugged and restarted and midway through the start-up screen I got an "installing update" message. Then the "few minutes more message" and all back to normal
questors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:43 PM   #20
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by questors View Post
The update locked up my Roameo. I turned on the TV this morning and there was a frozen TV image on the screen. The remote was unresponsive, no amber light. Unplugged and restarted and midway through the start-up screen I got an "installing update" message. Then the "few minutes more message" and all back to normal
Or alternatively, your Roamio experienced a lock-up which, as Margret notes in the first post, is fixed by this update.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:43 PM   #21
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrown9 View Post
Any ETA on when we might see a fix for the 2nd recording with a weird name showing up when padding the stop time of a show?
Tell me more about this.
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:47 PM   #22
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
Tell me more about this.
Margret, see the following:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=511259

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=510354
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:57 PM   #23
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,719
Does this update include even more intrusive pause ads that take up half the screen instead of a quarter?

*ducking*
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 01:22 PM   #24
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
Tell me more about this.
Change the padding time on an individual recording (that is a season pass) before it airs and you will get a duplicate recording that appears as if it is a manual recording.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 02:37 PM   #25
skid71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
Does this update include even more intrusive pause ads that take up half the screen instead of a quarter?

*ducking*
Can we just skip to the end and make it full-screen?
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Slide Pro
skid71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 04:27 PM   #26
grey ghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by questors View Post
The update locked up my Roameo. I turned on the TV this morning and there was a frozen TV image on the screen. The remote was unresponsive, no amber light. Unplugged and restarted and midway through the start-up screen I got an "installing update" message. Then the "few minutes more message" and all back to normal
Same exact thing happened to mine
grey ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 05:01 PM   #27
patrickthickey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 99
forced an update

My Roamio and my Mini updated.

The only anomaly was the Mini. It hung on the blue circle of bars which appear just before the animation.

I waited 30 minutes (knowing it is not exactly snappy) and then pulled the power cord.

It then booted normally.

Things seem to be decent. Both units upgraded.
patrickthickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 12:11 AM   #28
geekmedic
TiVo Fanatic
 
geekmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 444
I'm still waiting for an update to change the Mini UI to match the Roamio.
__________________
Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
geekmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 01:48 AM   #29
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,995
I think they said that was coming Q1 next year. Someone from RCN said they were also releasing it for the Premiere units.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:24 AM   #30
geekmedic
TiVo Fanatic
 
geekmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I think they said that was coming Q1 next year. Someone from RCN said they were also releasing it for the Premiere units.
I'm guessing they're talking Q1 2014 calendar year instead of the fiscal year (Q1 2014 fiscal year starts Oct 1).
__________________
Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
geekmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |