TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-20-2013, 04:57 PM   #1
adaymerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Roamio Streaming Quality

I got my new TiVo Plus right before a six day work trip cross country. (California to Florida). I made sure to connect and test the streaming both in network and out of network before I left.

When I got to Florida, I opened the iPad App and connected to my TiVo just fine. But a couple of problems popped up.

1. The streaming itself was remarkably iffy. I'd say it actually was able to stream content 1 out of maybe 4 times, and would eventually stop after a few minutes.

2. When I went to manage My Shows, after I deleted one or two episodes that I didn't need, it would lose connection and have to create a new connection with my Tivo.

The hotel's wireless was robust enough to allow streaming from Netflix and Hulu Plus, but streaming from my Roamio wasn't working, so I don't think it was a bandwidth issue on the hotel side.

My question is, I'm pretty sure it's a bandwidth issue on my home network setup. I'm hardwired to an Apple Airport Express which is hardwired to the Comcast Wireless Cable Router. ( I do that because the Apple is a faster router but Comcast provides the internet service).

Does the needlessly complicated router setup limit the bandwidth I'm getting from my home network to the wireless speed of the slower router, even though I'm connected via ethernet all the way from the TiVo box to the cable outlet (with two routers in between)?

I'm a bit of a novice with networking issues, so if this is an idiotic setup for my home network, be kind.
adaymerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:41 PM   #2
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 788
First off, I'm not a networking expert....in fact I know very little

Couple questions:

- What's your Comcast provisioned speeds? What do you actually get for upload speeds?

- Did you have Comcast put your wireless router in bridge mode? Or are you dealing with a double NAT setup.

Granted, I have no idea if a double NAT slows things down....just asking.

Do you have a chance to test the streaming from a known good network?

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:50 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,317
The upload speed really matters on the home side. If you have poor upload speeds then that can cause issues.

I know it's not a perfect option, but you should try downloading shows rather then streaming them. That way you'll get whatever quality you select and it should be unaffected by your bandwidth. (bandwidth will only affect how fast it downloads)
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 11:03 PM   #4
adaymerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
I'm thinking you're right about the upload speed problem. I did a speediest and I'm getting 5.50 Mbps. That is likely insufficient for streaming.
adaymerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 11:18 PM   #5
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by adaymerced View Post
I'm thinking you're right about the upload speed problem. I did a speediest and I'm getting 5.50 Mbps. That is likely insufficient for streaming.
That's plenty. According to TiVo, for OOH streaming you need a maximum of 1.2 Mbps (and 2.2 Mbps for in home streaming):
http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2762/


P.S. If you want better quality then medium or high quality downloads are better than streaming.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg streaming.jpg (20.6 KB, 74 views)
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by moyekj : 11-20-2013 at 11:25 PM.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 11:04 AM   #6
adaymerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
The downloads worked fine, but it was more a question around whether there was a change I needed to make in my home network to maximize the streaming. Most of the shows I wanted to watch remotely were also available on Hulu Plus so it wasn't a huge deal, but streaming was one of the reasons I upgraded to the Roamio, so I wanted to make sure it was a buggy feature and not just me not being tech smart.
adaymerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |