TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2013, 11:08 PM   #1
Janizary
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Bad PSU capacitors? Pics

Good evening, all.

Came home tonight to my original Series3 with a frozen on-screen image. Rebooted and it stuck at "Welcome, Powering up." Multiple manual restarts (unplugs) and continued to stick at the 'welcome, powering up' screen. Read the troubleshooting guide and got a very unexpected (but very welcome!) reply from Weaknees on the issue with the link to the pics of bad capacitors. Pulled off the cover and saw what (I think) look like two slightly domed capacitors. I have attached two small pics of the potentially affect caps and wanted to get an opinion if you thought these caps were bad before buying a new PSU for the TiVO.

Thanks in advance for your help. Helped me fix my two older TiVOs in the past and I really appreciate it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TivoS3Caps1a.jpg (67.1 KB, 110 views)
File Type: jpg TivoS3Caps2a.jpg (98.3 KB, 93 views)
__________________
• 60 HR TiVO Series 2 (200HR Weaknees Upgrade)
• 80 HR Humax Series 2
• Series 3 (648) lifetime service
• Premiere
Janizary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 11:58 PM   #2
ADent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,102
Those are definitely bulging. Should be replaced.
ADent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 12:26 AM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janizary View Post
Good evening, all.

Came home tonight to my original Series3 with a frozen on-screen image. Rebooted and it stuck at "Welcome, Powering up." Multiple manual restarts (unplugs) and continued to stick at the 'welcome, powering up' screen. Read the troubleshooting guide and got a very unexpected (but very welcome!) reply from Weaknees on the issue with the link to the pics of bad capacitors. Pulled off the cover and saw what (I think) look like two slightly domed capacitors. I have attached two small pics of the potentially affect caps and wanted to get an opinion if you thought these caps were bad before buying a new PSU for the TiVO.

Thanks in advance for your help. Helped me fix my two older TiVOs in the past and I really appreciate it.
Caps that have gone bad do not always display visible signs, so in addition to the two obviously bad ones in the photos you may have others that need replacing as well.

Or that will need replacing within the year even if they don't right now.

There are a few 648 PS cap lists around the site, one of them mine from a couple of weeks ago.

I'll ty to remember to search for them tomorrow when I'm awake.

EDIT:

Of course it's possible that the power supply, although it has bad caps, is still capable of doing the job and that the problem is the original 250GB hard drive has gone bad.

So hook it to a PC and boot it with either the cd you burn from the image you download from the WD site, or the one you burn of the Ultimate Boot cd .iso, and run the long test.

Don't forget to burn "as an image", for it to be bootable.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:30 AM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,541
The cap list I made is here:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...77#post9877677


Here's HerronScott's list with Digi-Key part numbers:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...93#post9131293

and Blahman put together a list at the Mouser site of their part numbers:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...39#post9456839
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:50 AM   #5
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 951
We get a moderator to make a sticky post "Bad Power Supply capacitor parts lists" with links to the lists like you have above (plus the HD list).

Scott
__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 06:56 AM   #6
teasip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 518
I second this request for a sticky. I'm running fine at present but I'm sure it'll hit at some point and I'll have to hunt to find the replacement parts specifics.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB upgrade with lifetime
TiVo HD with lifetime (kidnapped by college daughter)
teasip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 07:45 AM   #7
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,981
+1 I third this request, although I think the topic should be broader, e.g., Power Supply problems and fixes.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 08:23 AM   #8
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,514
The timing for this could not be better, as a local power outage seems to have triggered my THD box to not want to start up, though so far it eventually can be coaxed into a full boot.

I was just about to start searching around for which caps I should purchase, and this is the perfect thread. Now that caps seem to be the leading cause of failure for these older boxes, the sticky treatment has become important for many folks who will wander in.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 12:00 PM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,541
The power supply sticky should not be in the S3 forum

as "capacitor plague" is just as much an S2 problem.

I've been meaning to start a general power supply problems thread, I guess in the Help forum, and request that it be stickified.

All this would be so much easier if they'd just make me a moderator.

Or Supreme Omnipotent Emperor for Life. That'd work too.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 03:32 PM   #10
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,981
Good point about sticky location, oh impotent emporer!
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:01 PM   #11
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 970
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
The power supply sticky should not be in the S3 forum

All this would be so much easier if they'd just make me a moderator.

Or Supreme Omnipotent Emperor for Life. That'd work too.

Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 01:27 PM   #12
dwit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,652
Yes, it could just as likely be a bad drive. Same thing happened with my TivoHD: stuck on "Welcome Powering Up".

Thing is I knew beforehand that it has multiple bulging capacitors for months(possibly years).

Anyway, replaced drive and it's back to working(2 months in) like new, bulging caps and all. The old drive was definitely dead: 6 year old Hitachi 1 TB Desk Star. Replaced it with an almost equally as old WD 1 TB Green Drive.

Easy to trouble shoot if it's the drive, if you have a working drive with the same Tivo model software(original drive, new replacement drive, etc.).
__________________
Tivo HD Lifetime 1TB int, 1TB ext
Tivo 540040 400 GB Lifetime
Tivo S2DT 750 GB msd
Toshiba sdh400 r.i.p.

Last edited by dwit : 11-21-2013 at 01:44 PM.
dwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 09:13 PM   #13
Janizary
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks, all.

Replaced the PSU. Powered up, got to the 'just a few more minutes' screen (which it would not before the swap, after 15+ restarts). Restarted manually and managed to get to the kickstart 54.

Ran the SMART tests. The primary drive passed the two basic tests, then got 'no start' on conveyance, extended, and the next test. (The expander drive passed everything).

Exited the menu and restarted to try another test but missed the window. The Tivo actually booted up normally, but rebooted about a 45 min later when loading programming information.

Ordered a new drive. Don't mind fixing things, just hate that I lost way, way too many shows that I've not had the time to watch (a few seasons of some shows) over the last few years. Humbug. Heh.
__________________
• 60 HR TiVO Series 2 (200HR Weaknees Upgrade)
• 80 HR Humax Series 2
• Series 3 (648) lifetime service
• Premiere
Janizary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:02 AM   #14
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,981
Yeah, I suppose there were some arguments in favor of striping (sharing) each recorded video between internal and expander drives, but reliability certainly wasn't one of them -- it doubles the probability you will lose all recordings due to a disk failure.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 11:08 AM   #15
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janizary View Post
Thanks, all.

Replaced the PSU. Powered up, got to the 'just a few more minutes' screen (which it would not before the swap, after 15+ restarts). Restarted manually and managed to get to the kickstart 54.

Ran the SMART tests. The primary drive passed the two basic tests, then got 'no start' on conveyance, extended, and the next test. (The expander drive passed everything).

Exited the menu and restarted to try another test but missed the window. The Tivo actually booted up normally, but rebooted about a 45 min later when loading programming information.

Ordered a new drive. Don't mind fixing things, just hate that I lost way, way too many shows that I've not had the time to watch (a few seasons of some shows) over the last few years. Humbug. Heh.

Did you have an external attached to that S3?

Either way, it might be possible to save your shows, or at least some of them, by copying the internal to that new drive you ordered.

What did you order?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |