TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-19-2013, 11:19 AM   #1
El Maestro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 49
Number of Simultaneous Recordings on FIOS?

Hi,

I'm new here. About to get a Roamio Pro, but I have a quick question (apologies if it's been answered, but I couldn't find anything from searching):

I read that Cable Cos are only required to provide the same functionality on CableCards that they offer on their own equipment. So, Verizon currently only offers 2 tuner DVRs. Does this mean I'll be limited to 2 on the Roamio?

Thanks for any help/advice. I already found a great thread here on what kind of CableCard to get and I know that it must be activated AND paired to make all channels work. I'm ready to jump into TiVo!
El Maestro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 11:21 AM   #2
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Maestro View Post
Hi,

I'm new here. About to get a Roamio Pro, but I have a quick question (apologies if it's been answered, but I couldn't find anything from searching):

I read that Cable Cos are only required to provide the same functionality on CableCards that they offer on their own equipment. So, Verizon currently only offers 2 tuner DVRs. Does this mean I'll be limited to 2 on the Roamio?

Thanks for any help/advice. I already found a great thread here on what kind of CableCard to get and I know that it must be activated AND paired to make all channels work. I'm ready to jump into TiVo!
Your Roamio Pro supports up to 6 streams, but it is up firmware on your provider's CableCard as to how many can be used. With the right firmware, you will be able to tune to 6 streams at once on your device.
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 11:25 AM   #3
Jonathan_S
Registered User
 
Jonathan_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 13,633
One of my friends has a Roamio Pro on FIOS and it can record from 6 channels at once. (IIRC there might have been an issue with making sure it was a recent enough cable card, but FIOS does support 6 channel recording)
__________________
Xbox: MetalThreshkeen -- PSN: Threshkeen
TiVo Elite
Jonathan_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 11:32 AM   #4
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Maestro View Post
I read that Cable Cos are only required to provide the same functionality on CableCards that they offer on their own equipment. So, Verizon currently only offers 2 tuner DVRs. Does this mean I'll be limited to 2 on the Roamio?
As already mentioned, FIOS should be fine with 6 tuners.

Just to clarify FCC mandates regarding CableCARDs and number of tuners. The cable companies are required to support the same number of tuners available on their own equipment, or 4 tuners, which ever is more.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 11:36 AM   #5
rsnaider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,628
I have no issues with 6 recordings at once on my Roamio with FiOS, and if I have all boxes running can actually record 14 shows, but have not gone that far, or never actually paid attention to see if all boxes were active at the same time....
__________________
Ron

TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Premier - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier XL
TiVo Premier Elite
TiVo Mini
rsnaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 11:49 AM   #6
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,034
I had one of the old FiOS cable cards from several years ago and it was able to record six channels concurrently on my Roamio Pro. Although at the time there was a pairing problem with that older cable card so I replaced it with a new one so I could pair it and watch HBO and Cinemax.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 02:54 PM   #7
El Maestro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 49
Wow, thanks so much for the quick replies.

I took the plunge and got the box and everything, made sure to get the right CableCard and I'm going through guided set up right now!

Pairing took 10 minutes in a live chat with Verizon. A fine gentleman named Privthi took care of it quickly and easily. Fingers crossed I finish with no hiccups…

Thanks again for the quick info! Seems like a great community here.
El Maestro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |