TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-12-2013, 02:34 PM   #1
bbbbb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6
Mini boots when I turn on Samsung TV

My Tivo Mini is connected to Samsung DLP via HDMI. Every time I turn on the TV the next day, the Tivo mini displays "Almost there a few more minutes" message which tells me it's either powering up for first time or just rebooted.

I wouldn't mind so much as the Mini works perfectly after it boots but the booting takes forever. I've searched the forums saying that it could be a HDMI handshake problem or perhaps a voltage issue with DLP drawing too much current. However, I have Apple TV, Tivo HD, Xbox 360, PS3, and they all work fine.

Anyone else have this issue? From my understanding the Tivo Mini is suppose to "sleep" when not in use, not turn off completely.

Tivo support says to take the Tivo Mini off the surge protector and/or restart all my network devices (which I don't quite understand how that will help). I'll try tonight and see what happens.
bbbbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 04:26 PM   #2
ajayabb
Registered User
 
ajayabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Moorestown NJ
Posts: 425
Not a glamorous solution but an HDMI switch like this one solved my problem
http://www.amazon.com/Kinivo-501BN-P...ds=hdmi+switch
__________________
A.J.


2 Roamio Plus Tivos
1 Tivo Mini
Running Pytivo and Streambaby
ajayabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 04:30 PM   #3
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 818
Check to see if hdmi-cec is enabled on the TV.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 03:45 PM   #4
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajayabb View Post
Not a glamorous solution but an HDMI switch like this one solved my problem
http://www.amazon.com/Kinivo-501BN-P...ds=hdmi+switch
Same here, except I went with a less-expensive switch.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

My roommate's got a Sony TV that causes the Mini to reboot. There are three Minis in my house, and all work perfectly fine with other TVs -- and all reboot when left attached to his TV.

TiVoMargret said one of the recent Mini updates was supposed to fix an issue where the Mini would constantly reboot with some TVs, but that fix didn't work for my roommate's TV.
__________________
Roamio Pro + Mini (x3)
Premier XL 4 + Mini (x2) + Premiere
Premiere (x2) + Series 3 OLED (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2)
DirecTiVo (x3)
Series 1
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 12:50 PM   #5
bbbbb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6
Tried HaperVision's advice on enabling / disabling HDMI-CEC on Samsung HL67a750 DLP TV. No go.

However ordered a cheapo HDMI switch as aristoBrat mentioned and everything works now. I guess Tivo hasn't completely fixed the issues with HDMI + Tivo Mini. The $9 switch works perfectly thanks for help.

Now I have to figure out why my Tivo Mini loses connection when I'm watching a recording show. Once the recording show finishes, the Tivo mini loses connection and I have to restart show.

bugs..bugs..bugs...
bbbbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 01:03 PM   #6
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbbbb View Post
....

bugs..bugs..bugs...
is that what all the "bbbbbbb's" in your user name represent?
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 01:16 AM   #7
bbbbb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6
Thumbs down

Okay after the firmware update last week v20.3.7.2-01-6-a92 my dlp tv audio doesn't work when I turn on tv. To get it working I have to switch inputs to component video then switch back to hdmi.

What's up tivo? Your mini is the only device on hdmi that causes issues. Maybe you guys should call apple, Microsoft, Sony, denon, and Panasonic which all work perfectly via hdmi on my samsung tv. What's so hard to get mini to work correctly??
bbbbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |