TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-14-2013, 10:30 PM   #1
msteinruck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Tuner preview easter egg??

My wife was using our new Roamio, and I thought I saw something pop up, and then it went away ...

What I thought I saw was 4 boxes along the bottom of the screen showing (what I thought/hoped was) what was playing on each tuner. Like, a little live visual preview of each tuner.

I thought - that would be an AWESOME feature, and even hoped it was for real. I've been pushing different combinations of buttons to try to make it re-appear, but in vain.

I can't find it documented anywhere, so I was probably imagining things.
But, just in case...
Is this a thing?
Could it be? Would Tivo ever program that in to the Roamio software?

That's all.
Thanks for confirming my insanity.
msteinruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 10:47 PM   #2
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,469
If you hit info and press down three times there is the list of what is on the other tuners.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 11:58 AM   #3
Ben_Jamin75
Registered User
 
Ben_Jamin75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 530
what you saw was the mini guide.
While watching live TV, press select. It will display a description of what you are watching and a small grid guide.
Ben_Jamin75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 01:36 PM   #4
msteinruck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks for the replies -
Innocent, that combination seems to pull up the Dolby Digital audio info.
Ben, I did find the small grid guide.
But what I thought I saw was for small boxes along the bottom of the screen in a row, literally showing the live visual programs playing on each of the other tuners (as opposed to just the title info from each in a grid.)
msteinruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 04:58 PM   #5
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by msteinruck View Post
Thanks for the replies -
Innocent, that combination seems to pull up the Dolby Digital audio info.
Ben, I did find the small grid guide.
But what I thought I saw was for small boxes along the bottom of the screen in a row, literally showing the live visual programs playing on each of the other tuners (as opposed to just the title info from each in a grid.)
I thought I've seen something like that before as well. Maybe I'll go play with it myself.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 08:25 PM   #6
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by msteinruck View Post
But what I thought I saw was for small boxes along the bottom of the screen in a row, literally showing the live visual programs playing on each of the other tuners (as opposed to just the title info from each in a grid.)
Weird, and interesting.

Why wouldn't it have been 5 boxes, to show all of the other tuners? Or do you have the basic 4-tuner Roamio?
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 10:40 PM   #7
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by msteinruck View Post
Thanks for the replies -
Innocent, that combination seems to pull up the Dolby Digital audio info.
Ben, I did find the small grid guide.
But what I thought I saw was for small boxes along the bottom of the screen in a row, literally showing the live visual programs playing on each of the other tuners (as opposed to just the title info from each in a grid.)
The third time down should take you to the tuners. First down is CC, second is Dolby and third is tuner listing with the ability to select tuner.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 09:18 AM   #8
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
I thought I've seen something like that before as well. Maybe I'll go play with it myself.
I'm sure glad there was an "it" included in that sentence.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 11:40 AM   #9
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
The third time down should take you to the tuners. First down is CC, second is Dolby and third is tuner listing with the ability to select tuner.
You've got this backwards:

- press Info, see current tuner info
- first down is tuner listing
- second down is CC
- third down is Dolby
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 12:22 PM   #10
andyf
Registered User
 
andyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 1,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
You've got this backwards:

- press Info, see current tuner info
- first down is tuner listing
- second down is CC
- third down is Dolby
It's different while viewing Live TV or watching a recorded a show.
__________________
Andy
andyf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 12:46 PM   #11
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post

I'm sure glad there was an "it" included in that sentence.
I was actually thinking that when I posted it, ha! I just ended up doing both, to cover all the bases, of course!
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 07:57 PM   #12
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyf View Post
It's different while viewing Live TV or watching a recorded a show.
Huh, guess I never noticed that. Sure enough when watching a recording the tuner info is the last item (three down presses) in the channel banner instead of the second.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:39 PM   #13
Avatar26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northeast WI
Posts: 17
Has anyone been able to pin this one down?
Avatar26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |