TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 4.90 average.
Old 11-14-2013, 01:54 PM   #121
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeegan View Post
If someone who receives one of theirs with the USB dongle still has a Series 3 somewhere in the house, could they try connecting it to that and seeing if it works?

I'm wondering if it'd work just fine with a Series 3 HD TiVo but they're not advertising that because they want to get people to buy newer TiVos (and because there's no easy access to the remote-finder feature).
Doubtful, since
1) Not being marketed as supporting units earlier than series 4
2) it looks like 20.3.7 software or later is needed:
http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/...%20Slide%20Pro
Under Premiere and TiVo Mini instructions:
Quote:
NOTE: RF functionality on Premiere Series DVRs and TiVo Mini requires software version 20.3.7.1a or greater.

__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:00 PM   #122
jkeegan
Registered User
 
jkeegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Methuen, MA, USA
Posts: 2,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeegan View Post
If someone who receives one of theirs with the USB dongle still has a Series 3 somewhere in the house, could they try connecting it to that and seeing if it works?

I'm wondering if it'd work just fine with a Series 3 HD TiVo but they're not advertising that because they want to get people to buy newer TiVos (and because there's no easy access to the remote-finder feature).
I made an incorrect assumption about how the remote-finder feature works. At this URL:

http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/...%20Slide%20Pro

it says:

"How do I use the "Find Me" feature using the USB dongle with the Slide Pro Remote?

Push and release the button on the dongle to play the TiVo melody on the Slide Pro (even if the remote is in IR mode!)."

So it's a hardware button on the dongle itself! Sweet! Then the only question is, is it REALLY only for Premieres and up, or can it also work with a Series 3 HDTiVo as well?
__________________
..Jeff Keegan (
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
on Xbox Live)

seven syllables
(
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)
they explain it all
jkeegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:09 PM   #123
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,289
Not really interested in paying $8.54 for ground shipping of this thing. I think I'll wait until it's available at Best Buy or Amazon.
NYHeel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:21 PM   #124
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYHeel View Post
Not really interested in paying $8.54 for ground shipping of this thing. I think I'll wait until it's available at Best Buy or Amazon.
That's why I decided to go ahead and order more last night. When someone mentioned that zero shipping was a mistake, i figured I might as well take advantage of that. if they come back and try to charge me shipping then I will cancel the order.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:22 PM   #125
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,353
Looks like the fixed the free shipping on the Premiere/Mini one. Still surprising they're charging the same price for the Roamio one if it is in fact exactly the same just without the dongle. You'd think they'd make it $5 cheaper or so to differentiate them.

Edit: Doh! Too slow
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:24 PM   #126
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 754
Was there an explanation on why there was free shipping? Was there a code?

The Tivo Slide worked on 20.2, I'd be surprised if 20.3.7 is the correct cutoff.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:33 PM   #127
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,353
The free shipping only applied to the Premiere/Mini version and was likely a mistake.

The Slide was a BlueTooth remote, this new one uses the same proprietary RF technology used in the Roamio. The new software is likely required because it contains a driver for the new dongle.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 03:31 PM   #128
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
The free shipping only applied to the Premiere/Mini version and was likely a mistake.

The Slide was a BlueTooth remote, this new one uses the same proprietary RF technology used in the Roamio. The new software is likely required because it contains a driver for the new dongle.
I wish I had a driver for my dongle......it's been awhile!
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 03:33 PM   #129
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
I wish I had a driver for my dongle......it's been awhile!
You probably could use an extender as well.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 03:48 PM   #130
wkearney99
Bill Kearney
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
The free shipping only applied to the Premiere/Mini version and was likely a mistake.

The Slide was a BlueTooth remote, this new one uses the same proprietary RF technology used in the Roamio. The new software is likely required because it contains a driver for the new dongle.
Sure, but is the USB dongle likewise proprietary? Or does it just present as a USB HID device like the old one? Granted, the finding feature or anything else might not work, but if the basic remote controls work that'd be OK.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 03:54 PM   #131
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
Sure, but is the USB dongle likewise proprietary? Or does it just present as a USB HID device like the old one? Granted, the finding feature or anything else might not work, but if the basic remote controls work that'd be OK.
If it is pure HID then why would they qualify that the dongle requires a specific software version? If I still had an S3 I'd try it, but I've sold all of mine.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 04:01 PM   #132
wkearney99
Bill Kearney
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeegan View Post
If someone who receives one of theirs with the USB dongle still has a Series 3 somewhere in the house, could they try connecting it to that and seeing if it works?
+1 to that, somebody with both a TivoHD and the new remote please try it!
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 04:09 PM   #133
wkearney99
Bill Kearney
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
If it is pure HID then why would they qualify that the dongle requires a specific software version? If I still had an S3 I'd try it, but I've sold all of mine.
I didn't write pure HID. It'd be possible for something to have HID input features but not support the finding portion. Those would likely require a dongle with specific support. As to why they'd qualify versions, what gets said to the public often has little to do with underlying technical realities. Could be marketing's way of avoiding recognition that old devices exist, supporting the 'buy a new Tivo' angle. A laudable goal, of course, but not necessarily one everyone wants to consider.

But until someone that has the necessary pieces tries it'd be pointless to guess.

Me, I'd seriously entertain buying a new Roamio specifically if it would support two of these remotes at the same time. Otherwise there's currently no compelling reason for me to ditch either of the TivoHD units nor the Premiere I've already got. Two remotes, and the marital harmony that'd bring, would have be buying right away...
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 04:10 PM   #134
g808
Registered User
 
g808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYHeel View Post
Not really interested in paying $8.54 for ground shipping of this thing. I think I'll wait until it's available at Best Buy or Amazon.
I just skipped lunch today.
__________________
TiVo Customer Since 2006
Premiere Elite, Premiere XL, Series3, TiVo Mini, TiVo Stream
g808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 04:28 PM   #135
djjuice
Registered User
 
djjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 38
$50 is a reasonable price, but man tax and shipping makes it nearly $65 bucks.
wanted to send one to my parents in Alaska and shipping is nearly $23 alone!
i'll hope best buy gets it soon
djjuice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 06:36 PM   #136
gigaguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 106
Still wondering if there are improvements over the orig slide, which was problematic for some. it's looking like just new added buttons.

also confused, why isn't bluetooth mentioned? How is it different from the orig slide? Is bluetooth required to have RF function?
gigaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 06:55 PM   #137
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigaguy View Post
Still wondering if there are improvements over the orig slide, which was problematic for some. it's looking like just new added buttons.

also confused, why isn't bluetooth mentioned? How is it different from the orig slide? Is bluetooth required to have RF function?
It's not BT. It uses the same proprietary RF technology TiVo added to the Roamio. It'll pair to a Roamio without a dongle. The dongle is only needed for the Premiere or Mini because they don't have built in RF capabilities.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 06:58 PM   #138
overFEDEXed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Centerville, Georgia
Posts: 236
Speaking of shipping

Quote:
Originally Posted by g808 View Post
No more free shipping.
Just curious;

Last night, I ordered two remotes around the same time. Two separate orders though. One was a Slide Pro and the other a FREE replacement remote, for my two tuner Premiere. It was under warranty, so they shipped me a Roamio Replacement remote. Nice of them.

Anyway, the Roamio remote has already shipped (UPS Ground) and the Slide Pro, is still processing. I was thinking that they would ship them together, but apparently not. I know that the Slide Pro is coming out of Texas, but don't know about the Roamio remote.
overFEDEXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 07:03 PM   #139
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,127
Both of my orders from last night are showing as still processing too.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 08:59 PM   #140
gigaguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 106
Thanks Dan, I thought it was bluetooth cause people had connected them to PCs to test I thought I read. I hope the new slide is improved. My slide works fine but sometimes it loses RF function and I have to slip the battery in/out to reset it.
gigaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 09:11 PM   #141
Icarus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upcountry Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYHeel View Post
Not really interested in paying $8.54 for ground shipping of this thing. I think I'll wait until it's available at Best Buy or Amazon.
$31.50 to Hawaii no matter how many I order.

Waiting ...

-David
Icarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 09:38 PM   #142
geekmedic
TiVo Fanatic
 
geekmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 432
Wonder when a new Mini will be released with built-in RF?
__________________
Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
geekmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 09:57 PM   #143
swerver
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 201
No comments on the dedicated search button? It's on the keyboard, says it brings you straight to the search page.

I don't know why they don't make the color buttons programmable - they hardly do anything. I can only think of one or 2 cases where I ever use them, and there are 4 of them. Wasted buttons unless they are programmable.

Also, re: programming macros. I believe if you have another remote that does macros, you can program it there, and then have the slide learn it from there. Not 100% sure, maybe someone can verify.
swerver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 10:04 PM   #144
Jeremy5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 23
I have received a tracking number, Roamio version.
Jeremy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 10:24 PM   #145
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by swerver View Post
No comments on the dedicated search button? It's on the keyboard, says it brings you straight to the search page.
I hadn't noticed that, so I skipped back to the photo. Didn't know what that was... what a great idea and addition! Thanks for pointing that out.

It is sad that TiVo can't properly market this device by listing ALL it's functionality and features on the web page...
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 10:29 PM   #146
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,199
I'd rather have a dedicated CC toggle button than a search button - I still can't believe after all these remote revisions that never made the cut. But I can see how the search button would be useful to some.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 11:00 PM   #147
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
I'd rather have a dedicated CC toggle button than a search button - I still can't believe after all these remote revisions that never made the cut. But I can see how the search button would be useful to some.
I have to think more people use search then use closed caption.
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 12:14 AM   #148
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamNJ View Post
I have to think more people use search then use closed caption.
No arguments there, but search is as simple as TiVo + 4 so to me having a dedicated Search button is a complete waste.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 12:53 AM   #149
Thom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Whittier, CA, USA
Posts: 1,345
This info from the TiVo website killed my desire for the slide remote:

"...the RF signal, the remote finder and all of your other personalized settings won’t get mixed up if you have more than one unit, because the TiVo Slide Pro remote is made to work with one unit and one unit only."

I currently control multiple base Roamios in my living room with a single Roamio remote. I've always had multiple TiVos controlled by a single TiVo remote ever since the series 1 days.

The fact that I would have to have a separate remote for each individual TiVo is a deal breaker. And I can't see why TiVo would think the customer would find that desirable.
Thom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 01:15 AM   #150
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigaguy View Post
Thanks Dan, I thought it was bluetooth cause people had connected them to PCs to test I thought I read. I hope the new slide is improved. My slide works fine but sometimes it loses RF function and I have to slip the battery in/out to reset it.
The old Slide was BT, the new one is not.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |