TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-17-2013, 05:03 PM   #1
Gary-B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 92
Tivo Desktop Causes Reboot

Seems that Roamio doesn't like some .mp4 files. I have run across a dozen or so that will cause the Roamio to reboot. I run VideoReDo and just remux the files and they transfer fine. Anyone else having this problem?
__________________
1 Roamio Plus w/Lifetime
2 Tivo Premiere XL4 w/Lifetime
2 Tivo Premiere 2T w/Lifetime
67" Samsung DLP
55" Samsung Plasma
61 Terabytes Storage.
Popcorn Hour C-300
Gary-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 05:09 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,033
Are you using TiVo Desktop? TiVo Desktop should be recoding the files to MPEG-2 so I can't imagine why it would be a problem. If you're using pyTiVo then I believe that tries to simply remux the H.264 data to a TiVo compatible TS stream. That could cause a problem if the MP4 has bad data, and would explain why running it through VRD first would fix the problem.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 05:22 PM   #3
Gary-B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 92
Tivo Desktop 2.8.3. On my Elite's, it would just fail the transfer with the error file size not what expected or something like that. On the Roamio, watching my network monitor, Tivo Desktop quits transferring but the Blue light on the Roamio is still on. After 15 seconds like that, boom, reboot.
I could never get pytivo to work.
__________________
1 Roamio Plus w/Lifetime
2 Tivo Premiere XL4 w/Lifetime
2 Tivo Premiere 2T w/Lifetime
67" Samsung DLP
55" Samsung Plasma
61 Terabytes Storage.
Popcorn Hour C-300
Gary-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 05:45 PM   #4
Gary-B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 92
Thanks Dan, you mentioning mpeg-2 got me thinking. I went out and found a set of mpeg-2 codec's and installed it, rebooted and tried to transfer the last show that caused a reboot. Transferred fine this time.
__________________
1 Roamio Plus w/Lifetime
2 Tivo Premiere XL4 w/Lifetime
2 Tivo Premiere 2T w/Lifetime
67" Samsung DLP
55" Samsung Plasma
61 Terabytes Storage.
Popcorn Hour C-300
Gary-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 10:27 PM   #5
Balzer
Registered User
 
Balzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary-B View Post
Thanks Dan, you mentioning mpeg-2 got me thinking. I went out and found a set of mpeg-2 codec's and installed it, rebooted and tried to transfer the last show that caused a reboot. Transferred fine this time.
Hello.

I am having some problems like this. Could you point me to the mpeg-2 codec's you installed?

Jeff
__________________
Jeff

Roamio Plus (Sep '14 - Present)
Roamio (Sep '13 - Present)
Premiere(July '12 - Present)
Premiere(August '11 - Present)
TiVo HD (July '07 - July '12)
TiVo S1 (August '01 - July '07)
Balzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 06:24 AM   #6
Gary-B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 92
It seems the codec's didn't fix the problem. Wishful thinking on my part. Still dealing with the problem but I think I've narrowed it down. If a show causes a reboot, I can rename the show and it'll usually transfer the renamed show fine. It seems like if it's going to reboot, the network speeds will be around 6 - 8MB transfer rate, then it'll shoot up to around 32 - 36MB. My network status drops back down to 0 but the blue light on the Tivo stays on, like it's expecting more of the video file. It'll then freeze and then reboot. Tivo support has been no help, it's almost like they don't support Tivo Desktop anymore. I've bought a Popcorn Hour C-300 to watch video from the newsgroups on.
__________________
1 Roamio Plus w/Lifetime
2 Tivo Premiere XL4 w/Lifetime
2 Tivo Premiere 2T w/Lifetime
67" Samsung DLP
55" Samsung Plasma
61 Terabytes Storage.
Popcorn Hour C-300
Gary-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 09:26 AM   #7
jrock
Registered User
 
jrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 676
Since you brought up the Popcorn Hour, has anyone tried the Google Chromecast? It looks interesting and is only $35
jrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |