TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-10-2013, 04:56 PM   #1
Kelcett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
WMC move to Tivo ~ Station Logos? Other?

I am moving over to tivo from WMC, and would like to confirm what I found in searches. Am I correct in noticing that TIVO does not use station logos in left side of guide? I see a space that looks like they could go there. Any add-ons to achieve? Logos would brighten a dull looking page.

Tivo doesn't use color backgrounds in guide fields for different types of shows like WMC?

In WMC guide I can move ahead several days and see show I want to record, hit record once or twice to record that episode or series and stay in the guide and grab any other show I want. This is real useful if you are several days ahead in the guide. With tivo if I am a few days ahead and ask to record I go through record setup but end up at current time in guide when complete. I have to then move forward and find where I left off. Am I missing something or is that how tivo works?

Thanks
Kelcett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 03:06 PM   #2
larrs
Movie Fan-Addict
 
larrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NOrthernVA
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelcett View Post
I am moving over to tivo from WMC, and would like to confirm what I found in searches. Am I correct in noticing that TIVO does not use station logos in left side of guide? I see a space that looks like they could go there. Any add-ons to achieve? Logos would brighten a dull looking page.

Tivo doesn't use color backgrounds in guide fields for different types of shows like WMC?

In WMC guide I can move ahead several days and see show I want to record, hit record once or twice to record that episode or series and stay in the guide and grab any other show I want. This is real useful if you are several days ahead in the guide. With tivo if I am a few days ahead and ask to record I go through record setup but end up at current time in guide when complete. I have to then move forward and find where I left off. Am I missing something or is that how tivo works?

Thanks
I only use the Tivo Live Guide (unique to Tivo). You need to take a look at that. It shows the guide on the left side of the screen and when you highlight a channel, the right side is filled by everything upcoming on that. When you pick something to record (or a series- Tivo calls them "season passes") it goes back to where you were on the guide; you don't miss your place. The live guide is semi-transparent with currently playing program in the background behind the overlay. Here is a pic from the web- my Premiere looks much better than this one although the layout is similar.

You can customize the types of programs displayed but cannot customize Tivo's guides (colors, logos, etc.) AFAIK.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TiVO_Guide.jpg (24.0 KB, 31 views)
__________________
Tivo Fanatic since '99!


(1) Elite
(3) Premieres
(1) HD
(1) Mini
I run
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by larrs : 11-11-2013 at 03:17 PM.
larrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 12:43 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,236
That's an OLD picture. On the Roamio it looks like this...



But the functionality is the same.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 12:50 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,236
OP - there is no way to add logos to the grid guide, but you can advance days in the guide by pressing the skip button (->). If you pick something to record once it stays in the guide where you are. However if you want to set up a season pass then it leaves the guide and resets the position when you return.

The TiVo style guide mentioned above does not reset the position thought, so this seems like a bug in the grid guide.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |