TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-10-2013, 06:35 PM   #1
bradesp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Howto Combine OTA Input w/Analog Cable?

I just purchased the Roamio base model so that I could record OTA HD + Analog Cable. Here's my challenge... there is only 1 Coax input on the rear of the Roamio... Can anyone tell me if theres a way to combine an OTA Input and an Analog Cable input that connects to the Coax input?
bradesp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 07:15 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradesp View Post
I just purchased the Roamio base model so that I could record OTA HD + Analog Cable. Here's my challenge... there is only 1 Coax input on the rear of the Roamio... Can anyone tell me if theres a way to combine an OTA Input and an Analog Cable input that connects to the Coax input?
Hurry up and return it for a refund while you can.


As you can see from the following chart:

http://www.weaknees.com/tivo-roamio-comparison.php


the base model is the only one that does OTA, but it only does either it OR digital cable, but not both at the same time, and none of the 3 models, as best I can tell, do analog cable at all.

You might be better off with a good used S3 or S4, although some of the S4s are picky about what they will and won't tune, also.

You might consider a "which TiVo is right for me?" thread in the Coffee House or Help forum (choose just one, keep all the answers in the same place), and provide as much info on your situation as possible--location, cable company, other equipment in the house tv-wise, what sort of OTA antenna you have or plan, whether you have any previous TiVo owning or using experience, or if we should be careful not to assume knowledge on your part which we've come to take for granted in each other, et cetera.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 07:25 PM   #3
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradesp View Post
I just purchased the Roamio base model so that I could record OTA HD + Analog Cable. Here's my challenge... there is only 1 Coax input on the rear of the Roamio... Can anyone tell me if theres a way to combine an OTA Input and an Analog Cable input that connects to the Coax input?
The only TiVos that can do OTA HD and analog cable at the same time are the the original Series 3, TiVo HD & HD XL, Premiere, & Premiere XL all a dual tuner units.

None of the Roamio units or the 4 Tuner Premiere units (Premiere 4 & 4XL) can do analog cable at all.

On a side note if you are willing to have multiple DVRs the base Roamio unit is an excellent HD OTA DVR and given that analog cable is only SD you could pick up a lower cost used Series 2 unit (single or dual tuner) for analog cable. Those older Series 2 machines with lifetime service are fairly cheap.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio

Last edited by atmuscarella : 11-10-2013 at 07:30 PM.
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 03:45 PM   #4
Crrink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
The only TiVos that can do OTA HD and analog cable at the same time are the the original Series 3, TiVo HD & HD XL, Premiere, & Premiere XL all a dual tuner units.

None of the Roamio units or the 4 Tuner Premiere units (Premiere 4 & 4XL) can do analog cable at all.

On a side note if you are willing to have multiple DVRs the base Roamio unit is an excellent HD OTA DVR and given that analog cable is only SD you could pick up a lower cost used Series 2 unit (single or dual tuner) for analog cable. Those older Series 2 machines with lifetime service are fairly cheap.
I have an S2 with lifetime and a big, new hard drive if you're interested - need to sell it, but haven't gotten around to it yet.
PM me if you'd like more details.

ETA: single tuner model only.

Last edited by Crrink : 11-11-2013 at 03:58 PM.
Crrink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 03:57 PM   #5
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crrink View Post
I have an S2 with lifetime and a big, new hard drive if you're interested - need to sell it, but haven't gotten around to it yet.
PM me if you'd like more details.
I've got a lifetime service 2 tuner Premiere with 45h HD recording (TCD746320) that I can sell if interested.
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 09:34 AM   #6
bmgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern VA, USA
Posts: 919
I have a Series 3 OLED with a 1 TB drive and lifetime service that I'm planning to sell once I'm sure my Roamio is working properly. You could PM me if you're interested and not in a huge hurry. :P
bmgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |