TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-03-2013, 04:34 PM   #1
JohnParks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 12
Replacement Unit

Tivo is sending me a new Roamio Plus replacement unit because of V53 and V58 errors that could not be resolved. I'll be using the same cable card and tuning adaptor. What procedure should I follow. Do I need to pair the cable card again? I note that the guide service has already been switched to the new unit. I am a Charter Cable customer in East Tennessee. I'm so hoping this new unit solves these problems... it's a super machine otherwise. jp
JohnParks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 04:45 PM   #2
Diacritical
Registered User
 
Diacritical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brooklyn Heights, NY
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnParks View Post
Tivo is sending me a new Roamio Plus replacement unit because of V53 and V58 errors that could not be resolved. I'll be using the same cable card and tuning adaptor. What procedure should I follow. Do I need to pair the cable card again? I note that the guide service has already been switched to the new unit. I am a Charter Cable customer in East Tennessee. I'm so hoping this new unit solves these problems... it's a super machine otherwise. jp
You will have to pair the new unit. It will have another host id.
__________________
1. TiVo Roamio Pro - 476 Hrs Lifetime Service
2. Pioneer 810H - 420Hrs Lifetime Service
3. Tivo S3 - 1561 Hrs Lifetime Service
Diacritical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 09:48 PM   #3
andyf
Registered User
 
andyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 1,059
V58 errors = Cablecard firmware problem
V53 errors = Noone knows for sure but I believe a TiVo s/w tuning problem

Either way a replacement unit is not going to resolve these issues for you.
__________________
Andy
andyf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 02:30 PM   #4
JohnParks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyf View Post
V58 errors = Cablecard firmware problem
V53 errors = Noone knows for sure but I believe a TiVo s/w tuning problem

Either way a replacement unit is not going to resolve these issues for you.
If it doesn't I'll be out of options.
JohnParks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 07:53 PM   #5
ltxi
Registered User
 
ltxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 349
This appears to be as good a place to post this as any....

The male coax connector on the new, Roamio, boxes is different, longer than most previous. Mental note of this came in handy when I got V53 errors when plugging in a Plus as a replacement for my two tuner Premiere. Stripped back the coax cable for another 1/4 inch of center copper and all was well.
ltxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 10:53 AM   #6
JohnParks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyf View Post
V58 errors = Cablecard firmware problem
V53 errors = Noone knows for sure but I believe a TiVo s/w tuning problem

Either way a replacement unit is not going to resolve these issues for you.
Andy was right. I haven't gotten any V53 errors yet, but plenty of random V58’s. If this is a cable card firmware issue, how do I determin the firmware and how do I update it? I am using Cisco PKM803 cable card from Charter Cable.
JohnParks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 12:37 PM   #7
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltxi View Post
This appears to be as good a place to post this as any....

The male coax connector on the new, Roamio, boxes is different, longer than most previous. Mental note of this came in handy when I got V53 errors when plugging in a Plus as a replacement for my two tuner Premiere. Stripped back the coax cable for another 1/4 inch of center copper and all was well.
That's kind of strange as those connections are designed to have the proper impedance match of 75 ohms by snipping and having the tip of the center conductor flush and at the same length of the front/tip of the female screw on, nut part of the connection.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |