TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2013, 07:01 AM   #1
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 374
Out Of Home Streaming Released - Roamio Plus, Pro Only

It seems Tivo Updated the IOS app to work out of home but only if you have a Roamio Plus or Pro. An article claims only when on a wifi network for now.

No word on the if the stand alone stream will get OOH.
shamilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 08:02 AM   #2
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,871
Margret tweeted a couple of weeks
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 08:11 AM   #3
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
Margret tweeted a couple of weeks
I don't read twitter regularly so she said most likely 2 to 3 weeks later for stand alone stream....
shamilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 11:06 AM   #4
Lars_J
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 115
Excellent... I can't wait. Streaming remote is great, being able to download/transfer recordings is even better!
__________________
- Lars
Lars_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 12:04 PM   #5
bearcat2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 57
I just tried to remotely watch something from work (on iPhone on Wifi) from my Roamio at home. I could see the shows but when I tried to Watch it said some options aren't available, connect to your local wifi network that the Tivo is on. I wonder if it makes a difference that I use TWC. They've always had everything blocked.
bearcat2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 12:15 PM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,101
Did you set it up at home first? You have to set it up on your home network first before OOH streaming is available.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 03:42 PM   #7
bearcat2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 57
Just curious, when you say set up at home. What exactly do you mean? Is there a setting on the TiVo I need to follow. I just figured that when I signed back into the iPhone TiVo app it would work.
bearcat2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 03:49 PM   #8
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearcat2000 View Post
Just curious, when you say set up at home. What exactly do you mean? Is there a setting on the TiVo I need to follow. I just figured that when I signed back into the iPhone TiVo app it would work.
Launch your TiVo app while in your home network. For me the streaming setup dialog automatically popped up and asked if I wanted to setup for remote streaming.

You may need to touch to gear icon on the very top menu bar if it doesn't automatically prompt you.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 03:58 PM   #9
bearcat2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 57
Great. I will do that as soon as I get home! All you guys/gals are GREAT!!!
bearcat2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 06:50 PM   #10
andyf
Registered User
 
andyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 1,102
I think you have setup at home so the app can determine your external IP address.
__________________
Andy
andyf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 06:58 PM   #11
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,101
They said they use a proxy so I assume your Roamio/Stream tells the proxy your public IP address when it calls home. They said they are working on a way to do manual port forwarding instead, but it's not yet active.

I assume the setup at home is a way to verify that the device is allowed to access the Stream. Without it anyone could log into your network using your TiVo email/password and download recordings, delete recordings, edit your SPs, etc...
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 07:53 PM   #12
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 745
So at the moment, streaming on an iPad OUTSIDE of my home network from a Premiere is still a no-go?
If and when it ever is possible, would a service like DynDns.org be used?
tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 11:39 PM   #13
Lars_J
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
So at the moment, streaming on an iPad OUTSIDE of my home network from a Premiere is still a no-go?
If and when it ever is possible, would a service like DynDns.org be used?
It shouldn't be necessary... Unless the cable companies come up with some schemes to block this. TiVo machines stay in contact with the central TiVo service, so they probably have their own (or use another) service on your behalf.

They wouldn't launch this as a public feature if it required all kinds of manual proxy and port forward setup. (I hope)
__________________
- Lars
Lars_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 12:00 AM   #14
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,871
No hoops to jump through, the TiVo sets everything up and it is painless.

Margret said in a couple of weeks, so I expect you will see it as soon as they complete the fall release...

Like the Roamio, I think they will wait to turn the switch on for the entire staged release process to be completed, so don't expect it to be available the day you personally get your update.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 12:15 AM   #15
gamo62
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 413
Still doesn't work with H.264 content.
gamo62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 06:48 AM   #16
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 423
is this only going to be for ipads? or Laptops too? maybe apple macbooks?
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 08:29 AM   #17
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,871
Android is coming in 2014 and we are hoping for a browser based Web App, but no indication on if or when on that.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 10:11 AM   #18
button1066
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 140
The file sizes for new downloads to an iPhone from a Stream are much smaller than they used to be this morning which I imagine is an indicator of impending streaming capability.
button1066 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 10:30 AM   #19
bearcat2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 57
Set it up at home and still doesn't work away on wifi. Gets to trying to set up streaming then gives error. Pita
bearcat2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 01:40 PM   #20
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,101
It sholdn't have to do setup again. One thing when I setup my iPhone the first time it didn't show the OOH option. I had to manually go through setup again, at home, and that time it showed the OOH option and allowed me to set it up properly.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 09:55 AM   #21
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
Margret tweeted a couple of weeks
Any change in this front? Been a week and I'm anxious to try this out
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 01:42 PM   #22
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
Any change in this front? Been a week and I'm anxious to try this out
per Margret ( on 10/28 )

- support for out-of-home streaming through a Roamio Plus/Pro in the home (and eventually TiVo Stream, when that update is released next month)
shamilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 11:18 PM   #23
magnox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Streaming out of home isn't all that - you cant watch over 3/4g you have to be on WIFI. Stupid. Its my choice to use my data or not.
magnox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 01:16 AM   #24
Devx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnox View Post
Streaming out of home isn't all that - you cant watch over 3/4g you have to be on WIFI. Stupid. Its my choice to use my data or not.
The 3g/4g restriction is a restriction by Apple to meet certain requirements before allowing streaming over a cell data connection. Tivo plans to release an update next year to meet the requirement and allow streaming over 3g/4g.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Roamio Plus (3TB)
Premiere Elite/XL4
THD 2TB x 2
Humax S2 300GB (retired)
Devx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 01:35 AM   #25
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,101
In the mean time you can still download over cellular. And if you wait a couple minutes you can start watching a download in progress.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 06:07 PM   #26
ohboy710
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
I was told by tivo support the Premier would be ready to stream by Dec 1st. Does anybody know if that is true. I already got the fall tivo software update which is what I was told would fix it, but I still get the same error message as listed in an above thread.
ohboy710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 08:55 PM   #27
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohboy710 View Post
I was told by tivo support the Premier would be ready to stream by Dec 1st. Does anybody know if that is true. I already got the fall tivo software update which is what I was told would fix it, but I still get the same error message as listed in an above thread.
Huh? You mean the standalone stream being updated to support out of home? There is another thread all about that...

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...94#post9900394

The out of home streaming is being rolling out....

Also there was an update of the IOS app like today or yesterday that at least one person reported here they thought it helped with stability of out of home streaming..
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |