TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2012, 12:46 PM   #31
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
Cost was $9.59 in parts plus $0.48 tax and $4.91 S&H for a total of $14.98.
Don't you just HATE spending over $5 in shipping and tax to get under $10 worth of materials?
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 03:48 PM   #32
Hank
AC•FTW
 
Hank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 17,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
Don't you just HATE spending over $5 in shipping and tax to get under $10 worth of materials?
No, what I hate is spending $150 on a replacement hard drive when the HD was fine and the PS was bad.
Hank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 12:33 AM   #33
Regardie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
My Series3 OLED started to have problems pairing with the CableCards on FIOS so I got Verizon to send out a new set. I pulled the TiVo out of the cabinet to get access for the CCs and found it full of dust. So I opened it up and blew out all the dust.

I put the lid back on it and powered it up, reboot loop. it made me sad.

So I did what any smart user would do, I turned to the forums to find a solution and I found this thread.

So I read up on the capacitor problem and sure enough, both my 6.3V, 2200mf caps were bulging.

So I ordered a full set of caps from Digikey, not quite the list from above, I picked some Rubycon over the Panasonics, (got two sets since I'm sure my other S3 OLED will have the same problem.

I added the 200v 470mf cap to the list, even though I saw some people say it is fine. I left out the three little ones that don't have a direct bearing on the power rails and were not on the above list either.

Tonight I took the time to recap the supply and put it all back together, plugged it in and it fired right up. Even the CCs came right up. I will swap out the CCs when I get some time, upgrading from S-card to M-Card to deal with the copy flag on HBO.

So thanks to everyone who made this $14 plus shippng fix possible.

I will add that it really is not that hard if you have any skill whatsoever with a soldering iron.
Regardie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 10:08 AM   #34
Hank
AC•FTW
 
Hank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 17,695
Interesting. My parents have a Tivo HD, and Verizon just sent them two new CCs. They can't get them paired, so they're having a tech come out on Wednesday. I wonder if their PS is having the same problem. Otherwise, their Tivo *was* working properly. Does anyone have a list of caps for the Tivo HD, so next time I go to my parents, I can fix their PS? Thanks.
Hank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 11:42 AM   #35
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regardie View Post
I will add that it really is not that hard if you have any skill whatsoever with a soldering iron.
Absolutely. It's not a multi-layer board with hyper-fine traces and the components are not SMDs, with pads that lift off the board if you look at them wrong and form solder bridges just to mess with the technician doing the soldering. They are nice, big, robust pads that can take a lot of abuse, and don't require a magnifying glass, a hair fine soldering tip, or the steady hands of a surgeon.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 03:39 PM   #36
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hank View Post
Does anyone have a list of caps for the Tivo HD, so next time I go to my parents, I can fix their PS? Thanks.
Hank,

I just purchased a TiVoHD for my son and inventoried the power supply for the capacitors used and came up with the list below in case it ever has issues.

Note that Unitron has indicated that there are at least 2 different models of power supplies for the TiVoHD series so your list could be different. Also, I've not actually ordered or replaced these yet so it would be best if you both check your power supply model to see if it is the same and I'd like to have someone else validate the parts list since I was reading the capacitor sizes in place.

It is interesting that the TiVoHD power supply has far fewer capacitors than the TiVo S3 OLED.

TiVoHD capacitor list:
Acbel Polytech power supply: ST7002-BW0G
TiVo PN: SPWR-00011-000 Rev B0

C14 2200uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C222 Digikey P14402-ND $1.01
C27 2200uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C222 Digikey P14402-ND $1.01
C?? 2200uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C222 Digikey P14402-ND $1.01
C31 1000uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C102L Digikey P14397-ND $0.71

C15 1000uF 6.3V Panasonic EEU-FM0J102 Digikey P12340-ND $0.51
C20 470uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C471 Digikey P14394-ND $0.49

All are rated at 10000hrs@105C except for the last 3 which are 9000hrs @105C, 4000hrs@105C and 6000hrs@105C.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 03:53 PM   #37
Hank
AC•FTW
 
Hank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 17,695
Thanks.. it will be a while until I get down there next.
Hank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:56 PM   #38
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hank View Post
Interesting. My parents have a Tivo HD, and Verizon just sent them two new CCs. They can't get them paired, so they're having a tech come out on Wednesday. I wonder if their PS is having the same problem. Otherwise, their Tivo *was* working properly. Does anyone have a list of caps for the Tivo HD, so next time I go to my parents, I can fix their PS? Thanks.
There are at least two different models of power supply that have been used in the HD.

You'll need low ESR, high temp (105 degrees) caps.

If you go there with 4 3300uF 16V and 4 2200uF 16V, that'll probably cover whatever you find that needs replacing.

The capacitors that have their negative leads attached to ground/the black wires (via the copper on the bottom of the circuit board)and their positive leads directly connected (via the copper on the bottom of the circuit board) to either the +12V output (the yellow wires) or the +5V output (the red wires) are the ones almost certain to be already bad, going bad, or most likely to go bad.

A 16V cap is the lowest rating you'd use on a +12V line.

I'd prefer a 6.3 V or a 10 V on the +5 output, but a 16 V is better than nothing or a bad cap.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:56 PM   #39
Hank
AC•FTW
 
Hank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 17,695
All done -- success!

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...45#post9274445

thanks everyone.

BTW, my parent's Tivo HD is working fine now that Verizon ran all new cable to and inside their house. So no PS problem with their box. Yet.
Hank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 09:08 AM   #40
loubob57
Cancer sucks!
 
loubob57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 24,408
TC CLUB MEMBER
My S3 has locked up a couple times in the last two days. So I'm gonna head to Fry's and buy the rest of the capacitors to replace all of them on the PS board.
__________________
Well boys, I reckon this is it: nuclear combat, toe to toe with the Russkies.
loubob57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 11:20 AM   #41
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by loubob57 View Post
My S3 has locked up a couple times in the last two days. So I'm gonna head to Fry's and buy the rest of the capacitors to replace all of them on the PS board.
While you have the machine apart, hook the hard drive to something that'll boot from the Ultimate Boot CD and run the manufacturer's long diagnostic.

But if it's a GigaByte brand motherboard, say so first so we can discuss the necessary precautions to avoid having it put a Host Protected Area on the TiVo drive at boot.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:27 PM   #42
loubob57
Cancer sucks!
 
loubob57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 24,408
TC CLUB MEMBER
Another cap was bulging, so that was the culprit.

I went to Fry's and got the closest caps I could find. In several cases I couldn't find 10V so went with the 25V versions instead. Should work OK, they are just a bit bulkier than the originals. I soldered in 10 new caps and it booted up fine.

With the other one I replaced six months ago I think that covers the 11 that HerronScott mentions in post #26.

ETA: Didn't see the suggestion about the Ultimate Boot CD until after I was done. If it acts up again I'll give that a try.
__________________
Well boys, I reckon this is it: nuclear combat, toe to toe with the Russkies.

Last edited by loubob57 : 01-03-2013 at 05:36 PM.
loubob57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:40 PM   #43
Blahman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
In case anyone is looking for a parts list for the original S3 OLED power supply. I posted what I bought in this thread.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...93#post9131293

TiVo S3 OLED capacitor list:
3Y power supply: CP-1104 R2
TiVo PN: SPWR-00008-000 Rev A3

I went ahead and replaced 11 of the 15 capacitors to hopefully preemptively catch any of the other primary ones that might fail. The ones that I replaced fall into 3 main groups on the power supply board so that's how I've listed them starting with the ones that were bulging on mine.

C401 2200uF 6.3V Panasonic EEU-FR0J222 Digikey P14365-ND $0.81
C402 2200uF 6.3V Panasonic EEU-FR0J222 Digikey P14365-ND $0.81

C601 2200uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C222 Digikey P14402-ND $1.01
C701 2200uF 25V Panasonic EEU-FR1E222L Digikey P14428-ND $1.43
C501 3300uF 10V Panasonic EEU-FR1A332 Digikey P14383-ND $1.01
C502 3300uF 10V Panasonic EEU-FR1A332 Digikey P14383-ND $1.01
C503 3300uF 10V Panasonic EEU-FR1A332 Digikey P14383-ND $1.01

C50? 3300uF 10V Panasonic EEU-FR1A332 Digikey P14383-ND $1.01
C603 470uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C471 Digikey P14394-ND $0.49
C702 470uF 16V Panasonic EEU-FR1C471 Digikey P14394-ND $0.49
C403 1000uF 6.3V Panasonic EEU-FM0J102 Digikey P12340-ND $0.51

All are rated at 10000hrs@105C except for the last 3 which are 6000hrs@105C and 4000hrs@105C. Cost was $9.59 in parts plus $0.48 tax and $4.91 S&H for a total of $14.98.

Scott
I was feeling bored, plus one of the S3 units I got in for spare parts needed some caps replaced so I took the list of 11 S3 OLED TCD648250B Capacitors from above and made a Project on Mouser.com and shared it to make ordering the parts easier.

To access the project, click on the url listed below or copy and paste it into your web browser:

http://www.mouser.com/ProjectManager...sID=1a42eea4c1

Or you can access the project by going to http://www.mouser.com/ and click on the EZ Buy option on the top navigation bar. You can also click on this link or copy and paste it into your browser: http://www.mouser.com/Tools/Tools.aspx. Then enter the following access number listed below into the Project Access ID function.

1a42eea4c1

MERCHANDISE TOTAL: $6.09 (USD)
__________________
.
Current TiVo units: (4) * Series 3 TCD648 w/Internal 1TB & Lifetime - 157hours HD each.
Blahman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:44 PM   #44
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blahman View Post
I was feeling bored, plus one of the S3 units I got in for spare parts needed some caps replaced so I took the list of 11 S3 OLED TCD648250B Capacitors from above and made a Project on Mouser.com and shared it to make ordering the parts easier.

To access the project, click on the url listed below or copy and paste it into your web browser:

http://www.mouser.com/ProjectManager...sID=1a42eea4c1

Or you can access the project by going to http://www.mouser.com/ and click on the EZ Buy option on the top navigation bar. You can also click on this link or copy and paste it into your browser: http://www.mouser.com/Tools/Tools.aspx. Then enter the following access number listed below into the Project Access ID function.

1a42eea4c1

MERCHANDISE TOTAL: $6.09 (USD)
You don't live any where near Detroit, do you?

I'm trying to help this guy

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...15#post9456115

with the version of the S3 HD power supply I've never seen in person (the one similar in appearance and layout to the 648's supply), and I'm worried he's going to get in over his head somewhere along the line.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:51 PM   #45
Blahman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
You don't live any where near Detroit, do you?

I'm trying to help this guy

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...15#post9456115

with the version of the S3 HD power supply I've never seen in person (the one similar in appearance and layout to the 648's supply), and I'm worried he's going to get in over his head somewhere along the line.
Unfortunately no, at least 10 hours of driving to get there. Sorry.
__________________
.
Current TiVo units: (4) * Series 3 TCD648 w/Internal 1TB & Lifetime - 157hours HD each.
Blahman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:56 PM   #46
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blahman View Post
Unfortunately no, at least 10 hours of driving to get there. Sorry.
Feel free to drop in on that other thread and see if there's anything you think it might help him to hear.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:34 AM   #47
antalo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blahman View Post
I was feeling bored, plus one of the S3 units I got in for spare parts needed some caps replaced so I took the list of 11 S3 OLED TCD648250B Capacitors from above and made a Project on Mouser.com and shared it to make ordering the parts easier.

To access the project, click on the url listed below or copy and paste it into your web browser:

http://www.mouser.com/ProjectManager...sID=1a42eea4c1

Or you can access the project by going to http://www.mouser.com/ and click on the EZ Buy option on the top navigation bar. You can also click on this link or copy and paste it into your browser: http://www.mouser.com/Tools/Tools.aspx. Then enter the following access number listed below into the Project Access ID function.

1a42eea4c1

MERCHANDISE TOTAL: $6.09 (USD)
Did you create that project list or Scott ? I would like to get a project list for the S2 power supply The 240 and 540 series have the same power supply.
Thanks for the outstanding work.
antalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 10:31 AM   #48
Blahman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by antalo View Post
Did you create that project list or Scott ? I would like to get a project list for the S2 power supply The 240 and 540 series have the same power supply.
Thanks for the outstanding work.
HerronScott created the list of parts. I had to order them, so while I was on Mouser I saved out the project and shared it.

HerronScott , thank you again for that list. Just had to swap in my recently refurbished power supply into one of my Lifetime units. Your part list and the fact that it I already did the work meant very little downtime on the unit itself.

Just to note the symptoms from the unit while it had that failing PS in for others: Reboots, Lost channels, One Cable-Card lost pairing, random stuck on powering up, TiVo software corruption. All of those symptoms started in a matter of a 2 day window. Replaced PSU with the one refurbed using the parts purchased, TiVo software was force re-installed with Kickstart code to fix last of issues, and the S3 has been fine since.
__________________
.
Current TiVo units: (4) * Series 3 TCD648 w/Internal 1TB & Lifetime - 157hours HD each.

Last edited by Blahman : 03-19-2013 at 10:45 AM.
Blahman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 11:05 AM   #49
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by antalo View Post
Did you create that project list or Scott ? I would like to get a project list for the S2 power supply The 240 and 540 series have the same power supply.
Thanks for the outstanding work.
Actually the 240 and the 540 have similar supplies with the same pinout, but the 540 supply has a little less ampacity than the 240, and probably should not be used in a 240 for extended periods, although it should be okay for a short period for test purposes.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:26 AM   #50
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blahman View Post
HerronScott created the list of parts. I had to order them, so while I was on Mouser I saved out the project and shared it.

HerronScott , thank you again for that list. Just had to swap in my recently refurbished power supply into one of my Lifetime units. Your part list and the fact that it I already did the work meant very little downtime on the unit itself.
Glad it helped someone else and I think your project at Mouser was a great idea as well! Waiting for the off-season to pre-emptively repair the power supply in my second S3 OLED which has some bulging caps but is still working.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 10:13 AM   #51
lew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
Don't you just HATE spending over $5 in shipping and tax to get under $10 worth of materials?
The company which delivers the product gets paid. Would you rather pay $10 and get free shipping? Order one item and there isn't a difference. Order two items and paying for shipping would cost less, probably around $15 instead of $20.

Order from monoprice and some of us keeping adding stuff until the shipping charge bumps up to the next level, then drop that last item.
lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 08:44 PM   #52
Strapped4Cash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dove Canyon, CA
Posts: 9
Bulging C401 and C402 were the culprit in my S3. Thanks for the list and everyone's input. It made my fix quick and painless.
__________________
Roamio Plus w/ 3TB upgrade (Lifetime)
Mini (Lifetime)
Premiere XL (Lifetime)
Premiere 1.5TB (Lifetime)
Series 3 1TB (Lifetime)
Series 2 640GB (Lifetime)(Sold)
Series 2 DT w/750GB (Sold)
Strapped4Cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |