TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2013, 03:47 PM   #1
tlw_2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 22
Premiere Fall Update 2013

Signed my box up requesting the 2013 Fall update.

Anyone received it yet? Would like to know version #.

tw
tlw_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 05:34 AM   #2
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,225
It hasn't been released yet, probably before Oct 31st - SW Vers 20.3.7.1 according to Margret.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...61#post9860061
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
Yes, this is the "Fall Update". 20.3.7.1 will be available to TiVo Premiere boxes later this month. (http://www.tivo.com/priority to get your Premiere to the front the list.)

__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.1, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.0601

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 07:32 AM   #3
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,165
Once it is released, you are sure to see several threads talking about it. Rest assured, it will not be without both praise and critics and will not be released quietly.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 09:47 AM   #4
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,340
Yep, pretty much guaranteed they'll fix some stuff, add some new stuff, and break other stuff and/or ignore stuff that's still broken.

It's the Tivo Way.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 06:05 PM   #5
GameJerk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Any idea what this update will be fixing?
GameJerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 07:01 PM   #6
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 829
Supposedly one thing will be the "no suggestions" issue people have been having.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 07:10 PM   #7
Curt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Eastern Seaboard
Posts: 15
Set your expectations low and you won't be disappointed.
Curt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 04:34 AM   #8
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 459
I'm at a loss for what exactly the update is supposed to bring since I've heard no specific information on the exact date of when it'll be rolled out, unlike the update for Roamio that got pushed out on October 17th with a great long changelog. There has been a vague mention of an improved Netflix application somewhere online, but of course without that Premiere specific changelog it's all going to be speculation. If this is supposed to be the exact same update for the Roamio why wasn't it released on the same day? Does TiVo need these extra days to screw it up so we'll be disgusted and purchase Roamios?
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:04 AM   #9
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhites View Post
I'm at a loss for what exactly the update is supposed to bring since I've heard no specific information on the exact date of when it'll be rolled out, unlike the update for Roamio that got pushed out on October 17th with a great long changelog.
Why would Margaret post a change log for an update which isn't out yet?

Via various back channels, I can tell you it'll bring DTA, more HD screens, a variety of bug fixes. I'm well over 50/50 new Netlifx, Youtube, and DIAL will make an appearance without the Roamio UI elements expected next year. I'm sure there will be other and more detailed info available when the time comes.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:18 AM   #10
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 459
Dave, so we can know what to expect and look forward to and know what is going to be fixed and what is not, instead of us trying to figure out what they fixed and didn't fix, and what was broken and what wasn't broken like we did for the 20.3.1 update. How good are your back channels? I saw your page about the update and the twitter post about the Roamio UI coming in 2014 but I don't know if it's gonna come for retail units or if it's just going to be for MSO units from RCN. I don't want to get disappointed, ya know? What is DIAL? What bug fixes specifically are going to be fixed? Are they going to fix the dang program description truncation or bring back the motherboard temperature degree symbol or the many other things they broke in the 20.3.1 update?

Last edited by JWhites : 10-21-2013 at 08:27 AM.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:20 AM   #11
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhites View Post
Dave, so we can know what to expect and look forward to and know what is going to be fixed and what is not, instead of us trying to figure out what they fixed and didn't fix, and what was broken and what wasn't broken like we did for the 20.3.1 update.
Margret has confirmed a few fixes along the way, just not in a list. If this release really does include Netflix and YouTube updates, they may also be planning a press unveil of some sort. Likewise, my Spidey sense is signaling out-of-home Roamio streaming is a lock for this month. Just a question of this week or next.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 09:58 AM   #12
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,165
So you want to bitch about what is not included sooner rather than later? That makes no sense to me but you can request anything you like.

Margret has done a great job providing us a sheet of notes upon the initial priority release. Your complaints seem premature, as there is nothing to indicate this will not take place this time around.
__________________
TiVo Owner

Last edited by jrtroo : 10-21-2013 at 11:46 AM. Reason: clarity
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:19 AM   #13
DCIFRTHS
I dumped SDV / cable
 
DCIFRTHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
So you want to bitch about what is not included sooner rather than later? That makes no sense to me but you can request anything you like.

Margret has done a great job providing us a list upon the initial release to those who signed up for the priority release. Your complaints seem premature, as there is nothing to indicate this will not take place this time around.
I signed up for the release. Do you know if there is an official thread regarding the sign up?
DCIFRTHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:39 AM   #14
philw1776
Registered User
 
philw1776's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seacoast NH
Posts: 2,034
Thanks for the info on the release. Is there any word on fixes to TiVo desktop for MACs? Can't display my photo library on Premier. Get database error and have rebuilt iPhoto libraries, repaired disk permissions, etc. to address possible problems on the MAC end.
philw1776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 03:43 PM   #15
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
So you want to bitch about what is not included sooner rather than later? That makes no sense to me but you can request anything you like.

Margret has done a great job providing us a sheet of notes upon the initial priority release. Your complaints seem premature, as there is nothing to indicate this will not take place this time around.
Still waiting for release notes on 20.3.1 to see what they added to justify all that they broke.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:09 PM   #16
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by philw1776 View Post
Is there any word on fixes to TiVo desktop for MACs?
TiVo Desktop is a separate product and has been stale for quite some time. If they are working on an update, which I doubt, then it's unlikely to coincide with a software release for the TiVo itself.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 01:15 AM   #17
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,376
Anyone get this yet?
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 06:07 AM   #18
NotNowChief
Addicted to TiVo
 
NotNowChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York City Area
Posts: 283
If it doesn't include DTA I'm going to be very disappointed...again.
__________________
Verizon FiOS
TiVo Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini TCDA92000 (Codename: UNICORN)
TiVo HDXL TCD658000
TiVo HD TCD652160 + WD 500GB Expander
Retired: Philips Series 1 HDR212 & TiVo Series 2 540080
NotNowChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 06:09 AM   #19
Rob Helmerichs
I am Groot!
 
Rob Helmerichs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 30,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBetty View Post
Anyone get this yet?
I suspect the day it starts rolling out, there will be several threads...
__________________
“This is the moment of truth. Are you my friend, or are you some bloodsucking network vampire?”
“Why do I have to pick one or the other?”
Rob Helmerichs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 06:14 AM   #20
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Helmerichs View Post
I suspect the day it starts rolling out, there will be several threads...
Hopefully one major thread by Margret with a list of bug fixes and added features. One can only hope.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.1, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.0601

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 06:28 AM   #21
Rob Helmerichs
I am Groot!
 
Rob Helmerichs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 30,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
Hopefully one major thread by Margret with a list of bug fixes and added features. One can only hope.
But you can count on about a dozen of the first people to notice it racing to their computers/phones and starting threads!

(I wonder if the mods get advance notice? "Mod alert! Mod alert! Man the merge buttons!")
__________________
“This is the moment of truth. Are you my friend, or are you some bloodsucking network vampire?”
“Why do I have to pick one or the other?”
Rob Helmerichs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 10:08 AM   #22
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 192
They could make Tivo Desktop somewhat relevant again by adding desktop streaming capabilities
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 10:36 AM   #23
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,462
That old application isn't worth the effort. I would rather see them create a web based TiVo stream solution.

Get the Android version done, then a nice browser based TiVo to Go and they would be in really good shape.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 11:07 AM   #24
Jackamus
Registered User
 
Jackamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 70
Only wish that TiVo was faster at updating software. They tend to be extremely slow and not fully forth coming with what is being fixed or updated. Don't get me wrong. I enjoy my TiVo's a lot. Just would like to see bugs fixed faster. Also, on the premiere line, it would be nice doe the UI to be updated so that it can be a little faster. I've read an update to the UI is coming next year. Hopefully that is the case. :-)
__________________
_________________________
I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.
Jackamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 11:32 AM   #25
socrplyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotNowChief View Post
If it doesn't include DTA I'm going to be very disappointed...again.
It has already been announced on many sites that it does include it...
http://www.zatznotfunny.com/2013-10/...update-cometh/
socrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:12 PM   #26
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackamus View Post
Also, on the premiere line, it would be nice doe the UI to be updated so that it can be a little faster. I've read an update to the UI is coming next year. Hopefully that is the case. :-)
It's unlikely the UI will get any faster. The Premiere line is limited by an underpowered CPU. If you want a faster UI get a Roamio, it has a much faster CPU and a much faster UI.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 01:54 PM   #27
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 459
I still think if the UI was moved into the cloud or something it would be faster because it wouldn't rely on the CPU or the GPU just the speed of the internet connection it's attached to.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 01:58 PM   #28
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhites View Post
I still think if the UI was moved into the cloud or something it would be faster because it wouldn't rely on the CPU or the GPU just the speed of the internet connection it's attached to.
More likely they will force everyone to buy and IPAD for the UI.
shamilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 04:17 PM   #29
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamilian View Post
More likely they will force everyone to buy and IPAD for the UI.
Can you translate that in to something that possibly makes sense please? tyvm...
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 07:28 PM   #30
Renesis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
Can you translate that in to something that possibly makes sense please? tyvm...
Instead of using a remote control you would load an app on the iPad and use it to control the TiVo.

I already do that in some sense. The iPad TiVo app is a lot faster than the Premiere interface so I use it whenever I can.
Renesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |