TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2013, 08:21 AM   #1
Vect0r
Registered User
 
Vect0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 32
Glo Remote + Samsung Soundbar

I've seen a few posts on this but no definitive answers yet it seems. I have a Samsung D450 soundbar and a Glo remote. I can not get the learning to work with the power, and volume up and down for the soundbar.

The learning worked fine with the commands from my TV remote, and I am aware the Glo can control up to 3 devices per button. Ignoring the TV and just trying to get it to learn the soundbar remote commands is not working either.

Am I missing something here? Can anyone help out? I bought this remote in hopes to save some money over going to a Harmony since I really only need to control the TV, soundbar, and TiVo.
Vect0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 03:40 PM   #2
mdscott
Registered User
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 1,594
There are a number of threads going back years with the commonality of problems with TiVo Remotes and Samsung sound bars. No solution stood out - though some claimed success with codes 0092 or 0305. Others said this was bunk.
__________________
TiVo S3, XL4; Roamio
Mixed Wireless/Wired Net
mdscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 05:33 PM   #3
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,070
Those are Samsung TV codes, not audio codes. I never seen a preprogrammed remote with code for the current Samsung soundbars.

The current line of Directv receivers with x series remotes, have two-way communication between the two, the newer receivers can put an upgrade code into the remote which was never in the remotes memory before, to control the Samsung soundbar. One reset of the remote and that code is lost, until you update it again.

Anyways I haven't seen anyone have problems teaching the commands to a learning remote. Try again with new batteries in both remotes. And first reset the remote before temping to teach.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:54 PM   #4
dbattaglia001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vect0r View Post
I've seen a few posts on this but no definitive answers yet it seems. I have a Samsung D450 soundbar and a Glo remote. I can not get the learning to work with the power, and volume up and down for the soundbar.

The learning worked fine with the commands from my TV remote, and I am aware the Glo can control up to 3 devices per button. Ignoring the TV and just trying to get it to learn the soundbar remote commands is not working either.

Am I missing something here? Can anyone help out? I bought this remote in hopes to save some money over going to a Harmony since I really only need to control the TV, soundbar, and TiVo.
Vect0r, did you ever get a resolution to this? Despite what people say that learning remote should work fine, I too can't get a glow remote to control a samsung soundbar. I am pulling my hair out trying to figure this out.
dbattaglia001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |