TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2013, 08:26 PM   #1
tgemmill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
WD expander suddenly not recognized by TiVo Premier

I have been using a WD 1TB DVR expander with a TiVo Premier for the past 14 months. All of a sudden TiVo is not recognizing it. There had been no changes in the setup. I have now reset the TiVo twice and then tried to run the SMART tests, but even then the drive wasn't recognized. I have reset the TiVo w/o the drive for now, but really want to fix this problem. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
tgemmill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:15 PM   #2
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,315
Hello tgemmill welcome to the TiVoCommunity.

About all you can do is check that the expander has power, the light is on and that both ends of the eSATA cable are firmly connected.

Unfortunately if you did the three Thumbs down to continue without the expander then all programs recorded after installing the expander are now lost.
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:29 PM   #3
tgemmill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
I knew that it wouldn't save the shows when I did the three thumbs down. Fortunately I do have most of them on other TiVos throughout the house so I wasn't too concerned about that. I really want to get the expander up and running again because that is our main TiVo unit.

It had power and the light was on. I suppose a call to WD tomorrow is in order. But thanks for your quick response. It's much appreciated.
tgemmill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:40 PM   #4
WO312
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,238
I highly recommend that you forget about using an expander and instead put a 2 TB drive inside the Tivo.
WO312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:35 AM   #5
SeekAGeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Exactly same experience. Any way to test the expander offline?
SeekAGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 10:55 AM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekAGeek View Post
Exactly same experience. Any way to test the expander offline?
It's a drive in an eSATA external enclosure.

If you can figure a way to hook the data cable to a PC, you can run WD's own diagnostic software long test.

Either get the version from WD's web site that's an .iso you can burn to a cd-r as an image so that you can boot from it, or burn yourself a bootable copy of the free Ultimate Boot CD, which has the WD software and a bunch of other useful stuff.

Of course you need to make sure the power supply for the enclosure is still working properly, and you need to check the eSATA cable that connects the enclosure to the TiVo.

Lots of people have had the cable go bad, even though it's just been sitting there connecting the two and not moving.
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |