TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2013, 08:02 PM   #1
twhiting9275
TV Buff!
 
twhiting9275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 340
Tivo: Failed while negotiating

Anyone else seeing this tonight?
It's not a local network thing, AFAIK. Last successful update was at 5:34 pm CST, and nothing's changed at all since then, yet both Tivos are now reporting 'failed while negotiating', 'unrecoverable error' when trying to connect to the Tivo Service?
twhiting9275 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 08:06 PM   #2
tgww
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Tivo, We have a problem...

Confirming that I am seeing this as well. 9:05 EDT

Service resumed by about 9:45

Last edited by tgww : 10-13-2013 at 09:49 PM.
tgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 08:06 PM   #3
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 365
I believe Tivo servers are down. Other threads about this issue tonight.
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:34 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by uw69 View Post
I believe Tivo servers are down. Other threads about this issue tonight.
Well, that would explain why my 240 can see the rest of the network and vice-versa, but can't connect with the mothership.

Wrote the above a few hours ago, but didn't post it. Problem seems to have been solved on their end since then.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:31 AM   #5
twhiting9275
TV Buff!
 
twhiting9275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Problem seems to have been solved on their end since then.
Yup. was only down a couple hours, but that's still a couple hours too many
twhiting9275 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 10:14 AM   #6
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by twhiting9275 View Post
Yup. was only down a couple hours, but that's still a couple hours too many
The problem is, on a series 5 Roamio (I did not try this on the Series 4) you can't manually stop a recording if the TiVo network is down, bummer, and you can't use OD, Netflix, or program your TiVo, except for you in home network your TiVo is like one without any service. This means if TiVo someday went away, to keep using your TiVo would require more than just a program guide hack, the TiVo is now tethered very closely to the TiVo servers.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |