TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 10-04-2013, 10:00 AM   #1
wintermute2_0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 8
Streaming Problem

I'm having streaming issues with my Roamio Plus. It will stream fine for 30 minutes or more, but then the video will eventually freeze. After I restart the stream, it will only play for a few minutes before freezing again.

I'm using an old Linksys WRT54GL router. Could that be the problem? Netflix and Amazon stream fine.

Thanks for your help.
wintermute2_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 12:33 PM   #2
hornmustang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 29
I had a similar problem. I ended up exchanging the TiVo and it fixed my problem. Good luck.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=509018
hornmustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 04:23 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,346
Sounds like maybe a heat issue.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 12:22 PM   #4
Ieolus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
I am having a strikingly similar issue, which is driving me mad. I don't think my TiVo would be overheating. It has lots of ventilation and space around it.
Ieolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 01:16 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,346
The reason I said his sounded like a heat issue is because at first it works for 30+ minutes but then it fails, and even after a reboot it only works for a few minutes. I have a Sling box that does the same thing. It has bad capacitors that over heat. If I let it sit long enough after it fails it'll work again for another 30 minutes or so.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 01:43 PM   #6
Ieolus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks for the reply. Next time I stream will check the box directly to see if that is the case.
Ieolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 02:18 PM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,346
Just to be clear even if it is a heat issue it doesn't mean it's your fault. Culd be a bad fan or a bad capacitor causing the heat issue.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:02 PM   #8
Ieolus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
So I've been trying to monitor my temps after having streaming problems. They seem to hover around 60 degrees when I look.
What is interesting though is that when I'm looking at the webpage (TiVo stream system information x.x.x.x:49152/sysinfo) I will often see the Transcode State go from Idle to Offline and back to Idle.

Last edited by Ieolus : 10-13-2013 at 07:30 PM. Reason: Incorrect field stated
Ieolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |