TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 10-03-2013, 10:35 AM   #151
BayouBoy32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Orleans Area
Posts: 20
Beta

I figured that the NDA was the reason we had not heard how the beta was going. I personally hope this is a real beta tester that has slipped the info. I was curious if the beta was working and also hoping that a fix would be available soon if it was.

I procrastinated and did not sign up to be a beta tester and now kicking self. Patience is not one of my virtues.

Just a little info, Margret, would be nice and thanks for all you have done.

Dan
BayouBoy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 10:50 AM   #152
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouBoy32 View Post
I figured that the NDA was the reason we had not heard how the beta was going. I personally hope this is a real beta tester that has slipped the info. I was curious if the beta was working and also hoping that a fix would be available soon if it was.

I procrastinated and did not sign up to be a beta tester and now kicking self. Patience is not one of my virtues.

Just a little info, Margret, would be nice and thanks for all you have done.

Dan
I had upgraded the hard drive capacity in my Roamio or I would have been on board with the beta. Hoping for an update to fix thus issue soon.
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 12:56 PM   #153
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 234
Hi all,

I have confirmation from the folks that have joined Beta that they are no longer experiencing this issue.

At this point, if all goes to plan, I expect the update to be available to everyone on 10/9.

NOTE: the issue is only fixed for NEW recordings that happen after you receive the update. Any old recordings will still have the problem.

--Margret
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 01:08 PM   #154
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 365
Outstanding! Thank you.
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:23 PM   #155
BayouBoy32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Orleans Area
Posts: 20
Thanks Margret.

Margret, thank you so much for the progress update. This is great news. I canít wait for the update to fix this problem. Other than this problem the Roamio Pro is an outstanding product. Keep up the great work.

Dan
BayouBoy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:33 PM   #156
Gadfly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 40
My Roamio did not tape the Seattle game this morning (Fox, Comcast, Seattle area). Not that I would have watched it anyway.
The update better fix this.
Gadfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:06 PM   #157
djdanska
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Happened again, this time worse. Was watching the end of modern family, Simpsons start, black screen, unresponsive, a minute later it reboots. When it finally finished rebooting, the same channel appears and now I'm in non stop rebooting because it keeps trying to watch Fox! Getting very old...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
djdanska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 11:01 PM   #158
rexfelis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Another Seattle-ite here having this problem (Comcast, primarily on Fox).
Really looking forward to getting that update...
rexfelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 01:03 AM   #159
ashmueli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Same here, in Kirkland. Never realized how much we like FOX shows on channel 113, until we upgraded both our TiVo HDs to a Roamio basic / mini pair. Early adopter remorse :-)
ashmueli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 04:50 AM   #160
tough joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 231
Can someone tell me what software version the Roamio should be up to? I'd like to keep track to when the update is done. Thanks.
tough joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 06:47 AM   #161
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 365
20.3.6.2-usa-6-848
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 08:08 AM   #162
BayouBoy32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Orleans Area
Posts: 20
Version

My Roamio Pro shows version 20.3.6.2-usa-6-840. Am I missing something? Is 848 the update due today that I have not gotten yet?
BayouBoy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 08:20 AM   #163
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 731
The last 3 digits refer to the Tivo model, i.e. the first 3 digits of your TSN.

846 - Roamio Basic
848 - Roamio Plus
840 - Roamio Pro

The main focus is the beginning version number, which is still 20.3.6.2
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 08:25 AM   #164
BayouBoy32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Orleans Area
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
The last 3 digits refer to the Tivo model, i.e. the first 3 digits of your TSN.

846 - Roamio Basic
848 - Roamio Plus
840 - Roamio Pro

The main focus is the beginning version number, which is still 20.3.6.2
Thank you for clearing that up for me. Now looking forward to the update that is suppose to come out today to fix the Fox Trickplay problem.
BayouBoy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 05:53 PM   #165
BayouBoy32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Orleans Area
Posts: 20
Fix

Did the the fix due out today ever get released. If so will it change the version number. If it was released do I need to do anything like when and update is released a restart is needed for it to work. I have connected to Tivo a few times today and one time something downloaded but just shows that connection succeeded.
BayouBoy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 06:36 PM   #166
Devx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouBoy32 View Post
Did the the fix due out today ever get released. If so will it change the version number. If it was released do I need to do anything like when and update is released a restart is needed for it to work. I have connected to Tivo a few times today and one time something downloaded but just shows that connection succeeded.
Aaronwt received an update already. Not certain it includes the Trickplay fix but it should unless Tivo's plans changed.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=509989
__________________
Roamio Pro
Roamio Plus (3TB)
Premiere Elite/XL4
THD 2TB x 2
Humax S2 300GB (retired)
Devx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 06:52 PM   #167
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouBoy32 View Post
Did the the fix due out today ever get released. If so will it change the version number. If it was released do I need to do anything like when and update is released a restart is needed for it to work. I have connected to Tivo a few times today and one time something downloaded but just shows that connection succeeded.
Just got a pending restart now.

new version #20.3.6.3-USA-6-848
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's

Last edited by uw69 : 10-09-2013 at 07:00 PM.
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 07:19 PM   #168
BayouBoy32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Orleans Area
Posts: 20
upgrade

Thanks Devx and um69, downloaded, restarted, and now upgrading. Hope this solves all the problems.
BayouBoy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 07:30 PM   #169
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 365
I'm sure at some point TiVo will post what the update fixed on the Roamio and Mini.
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 06:32 AM   #170
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 365
I have recorded several Fox HD shows since the latest Roamio update. All recorded normally (no partial recording) and FF and skip functions work perfectly. Nice job fixing this issue TiVo!
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 09:21 AM   #171
SDRoamio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 11
Yea! Received the update last night, and all seems well. Was able to pause live TV on Fox, and resume from where it paused. Also, was able to record, and it didn't disappear. Playback of the recording worked fine.

Thank you, Tivo!!!
__________________
Roamio Plus
Premiere
Cox San Diego, Cisco/SA
SDRoamio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 09:24 AM   #172
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDRoamio View Post
Yea! Received the update last night, and all seems well. Was able to pause live TV on Fox, and resume from where it paused. Also, was able to record, and it didn't disappear. Playback of the recording worked fine.

Thank you, Tivo!!!
Are you in the beta program or was this a standard release update?
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 09:30 AM   #173
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 365
standard release
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 11:05 AM   #174
SDRoamio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwman View Post
Are you in the beta program or was this a standard release update?
Standard release. I believe some people received it on 10/9, as was expected - but for me it was last night. As posted above, it is 20.3.6.3
__________________
Roamio Plus
Premiere
Cox San Diego, Cisco/SA
SDRoamio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 05:20 AM   #175
tough joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 231
Got the update a few days ago. That, plus I swapped out the cable card, and I havent had a single recording problem at all. Im not one to complain without providing cudos as well. If this continues, I suggest we all post here that it works.
tough joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:50 AM   #176
BayouBoy32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Orleans Area
Posts: 20
All is good.

Happy, Happy, Happy. Watching Fox Sports and trickplay is working perfectly. Recorded a few Fox network programs and they have worked faultlessly. Margret, thank you, thank you, thank you. At this time I do not have any problems with my Roamio Pro. Keep up the great work.
BayouBoy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 03:27 PM   #177
Johnnymarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 17
Watched NFL on Fox today. For the first time, everything worked perfectly.
Johnnymarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:19 PM   #178
DVRMike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 9
The update has been working for me as well.
DVRMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 07:09 AM   #179
bdaalex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bermuda
Posts: 76
FF/RW Fixed, but related download issue remains

Hi,

this isn't exactly the same issue as the RW/FF problem however, I believe it to be related. I had the RW/FF problem on several channels and can confirm that it was fixed by last thursday's update. Thanks TivoMargret.

However, those same channels that showed the previous issue also had a problem when downloading or streaming to my iOS devices. They would have trouble starting a stream at all and if it did, there would be a black screen and only audio would come through. Downloads shared this problem and seemed slower than other channels.

Also, I have confirmed this is the case with recordings made before AND after the RW/FF fix.

Anyone have any ideas? TivoMargret?
bdaalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 03:20 AM   #180
djdanska
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Was this something Fox did on purpose against TiVo cause all of a sudden, all Fox prime time network programming comes up as "TO BE ANNOUNCED". Including all week's programming. (So many check your guides). I have a 4 hour recording of "TO BE ANNOUNCED" just to get tonight's Simpson's

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
djdanska is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoģ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |