TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-14-2013, 12:48 PM   #1
tbielowicz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 53
Roamio Plus - audio drops and all I hear is white noise

Has anyone else had this issue? It happens in the menu and then if I play a show or Live TV, it fixes itself.

This also happened on my Mini as well the other day. It is not happening all the time but it is annoying.
tbielowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:00 PM   #2
Smirks
.:. Hello .:.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 113
I've experienced this twice on my plus. Both times I had to turn my tv off and then on to make it go away.
Smirks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:40 PM   #3
KnordRW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bethel Park, PA
Posts: 27
My wife and kids say this has happened on one of our Roamio Pros several times, but I have yet to witness it. This particular one is connected via HDMI direct to a Sharp LED tv, no receiver or any other things in the mix. Same cabling as the Premiere it replaced, and that never had any issues.
KnordRW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:46 PM   #4
Smirks
.:. Hello .:.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 113
The two times I experienced this it was connected directly to my Toshiba LCD.

Now my plus is connected to a different TV through a Yamaha AVR and I haven't had this problem since.
Smirks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 02:10 PM   #5
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,454
I had an issue similar to this. It would all of the sudden be a burst of static and the only way I could get rid of it was to go to live TV or turn the preview window on.

It seemed to happen as a result of going too fast and the sound effects conflicting.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 06:29 PM   #6
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 249
I've had 2 loud bursts of static (both today). Once while in the Guide and once inside Netflix. The static was WAY louder than the volume that preceded it; very jarring.
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 06:39 PM   #7
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 236
We have a fix for this coming in our Fall release. (Sorry, I know this one is really jarring when it happens!)

--Margret
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 05:53 PM   #8
tumh20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
I received my new Tivo Roamio Pro this past Friday and set it up Sunday. I experienced this audio glitch intermittently while in the menus, but not while watching shows. I called the problem in to Tivo support Monday and the person I talked to said he hadn't heard of the problem. He put me on hold while he asked "engineering" and they said they hadn't heard of it either. They will watch the data coming in from my Tivo for the next week or so, but suspect it is a broken Tivo which much be replaced.

If this is, as you say, a known problem with a fix coming, maybe you could cascade that information down to your customer support structure so they and their level 2 support will know and be able to tell customers.
tumh20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 06:17 PM   #9
Millionaire2K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 158
I had this happen once. And I hope never again. It scared the poop out of me.
Millionaire2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 01:24 PM   #10
lew-wolfgang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Millionaire2K View Post
I had this happen once. And I hope never again. It scared the poop out of me.
This happened to me this morning too! (the white noise part, not the poop)

Power-cycling the TV cleared the noise.
lew-wolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 02:50 PM   #11
sanyewest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9
yup same oh well
sanyewest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 01:41 PM   #12
HDRyder9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 113
This happens to me when I push remote buttons too fast.
HDRyder9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 11:00 PM   #13
Gizmologist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Roamio - audio drops and all I hear is white noise aka loud static

Same thing with me. Two week old Roamio has twice now output loud static sound via HDMI to AV preamp while I was navigating the Tivo home menu. Playing a show from the Tivo makes the static sound go away. Very annoying. I hope Tivo gets this bug squashed via a software update ASAP.
Gizmologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 08:57 PM   #14
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 249
I had this happen again (2x) tonight when watching Netflix. Hit Rewind, then play, then loud static before the stream resumed.
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 05:29 PM   #15
Joe Siegler
Registered User
 
Joe Siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
We have a fix for this coming in our Fall release. (Sorry, I know this one is really jarring when it happens!)

--Margret
I've had that happene a few times. My "way out" is to hit the live TV button. That seems to make it go away.
__________________
Joe Siegler -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo Roamio 75hr unmodified, TiVo Roamio 316hr/2TB, both OTA only.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |