TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 10-04-2013, 06:03 PM   #1
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,226
Spoiled by speed

Our cable system just finally started simulcasting all the analog channels, so I'm trying to convert my wife over from her 2 tuner Premiere to my old 4 tuner Elite. (she recorded a lot of analog so couldn't use a 4 tuner before) Anyway this means I'm spending a lot of time on the Elite copying all her shows over via MRV. (she has about 1.2TB worth) It is sooooo sloooooow! I've only been using my Roamio for a few weeks but I forgot how slow the Elite was. Hopefully she doesn't notice a big difference or I may end up having to buy another Roamio soon.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:06 PM   #2
djwilso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 577
All these comments about speed really make me want one...
__________________
Philips Series 1 HDR212, Nov 2001, never activated (retired)
Original OLED Series 3 (Lifetime) - Nov 2006, upgraded to 1TB in 2009
Premiere Elite/XL4 (Lifetime) - Oct 2011
djwilso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:13 PM   #3
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 374
The Premiere must be a real dog, glad I skipped that series!
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 09:32 PM   #4
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,180
In HD UI, it's slow as dirt. But there are a few things (ESPECIALLY the space indicator -- yes, I'm one of those who OCD-ly constantly checks how full my Tivo is, since I WANT TO WATCH EVERYTHING I RECORD OR DELETE IT MYSELF, and understandably can't realistically set everything to KUID) that made me stick with the HD UI after getting a Premiere 4..

Another funny thing is that I'm now spoiled by the download speed from the Premiere 4 compared to my Tivo HD.. download to a computer (with kmttg) that is. I record mostly SD shows, so a SD show takes *around* 5 minutes (a bit more, but that's a rough estimate) to download on my Premiere 4. On my Tivo HD, it takes WAY WAY longer -- tens of minutes.

Supposedly downloading from the Roamios is even faster.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 10:57 PM   #5
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,383
A Premiere running the SDUI is fast. Under HDUI, it's painfully slow.

Now that I have a Roamio, I can see why everyone complains about the Premiere. I always ran my Elite under SDUI, but was forced to change to HDUI to use a Mini on it. The Roamio is a pleasure; the Premiere is constantly pausing, waiting, displaying that little circle of patience.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 11:09 PM   #6
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,183
I recall getting a lot of flack over they years complaining how ridiculously slow my Elite was running HDUI and Flash apps. So glad I no longer have to use that Elite anymore.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 12:07 AM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,226
I think you mainly got flack for claiming that your Elite was slower then your Premiere. To me they are equally as agonizing to use.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 07:43 AM   #8
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,598
Oh I could tell a difference between the Premiere and Elite easily. I would frequently change some of the Elite's unused tuners over to channels I didn't receive (no recording) and the Elite would tangibly speed up immediately.

Then I thought the Mini was a joy to use until I used the Roamio. Now the Mini seems slow too. Definitely spoiled.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 11:13 AM   #9
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,183
Yes I found my 2 tuner Premiere after several updates just about tolerable using HDUI and always significantly faster than my Elite. Even now compared to Mini and Roamio my 2 tuner Premiere is still tolerable and I still use it (though I'd never want to use Netflix on it again). The Elite I gladly cast off to other family members.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 12:08 PM   #10
bobfrank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 150
I never owned a Premiere. My latest was the THD, so all I was used to was the SDUI. The Roamio UI is at least as fast as my THD, and maybe faster.

Where the Roamio really surprises me is the speed of transfers between it and my computer, up or down. Blazing!
bobfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 12:33 PM   #11
DCIFRTHS
I dumped SDV / cable
 
DCIFRTHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
...The Roamio is a pleasure; the Premiere is constantly pausing, waiting, displaying that little circle of patience.
Calling it the "circle of patience" is being too kind
DCIFRTHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:52 AM   #12
JohnnyO
Crimper
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobfrank View Post
I never owned a Premiere. My latest was the THD, so all I was used to was the SDUI. The Roamio UI is at least as fast as my THD, and maybe faster.
I went from TiVoHD to a Roamio. I'm very pleased with the performance. I still have one TiVoHD in the basement, and used it the other day. My goodness churning through that UI (even though it is SD) felt like trying to run in waist deep water. What a frustrating experience compared to the Roamio!
JohnnyO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 10:13 AM   #13
elwaylite
Registered User
 
elwaylite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Theodore, Al.
Posts: 292
On my Premier I cut the HD Gui off because it slowed down so much. The Roamio is quick.
__________________
65" VT50
Denon X4000
Roamio Basic
Directv HR44/200
elwaylite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 12:36 PM   #14
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
A Premiere running the SDUI is fast. Under HDUI, it's painfully slow.

Now that I have a Roamio, I can see why everyone complains about the Premiere. I always ran my Elite under SDUI, but was forced to change to HDUI to use a Mini on it. The Roamio is a pleasure; the Premiere is constantly pausing, waiting, displaying that little circle of patience.
Well, I am glad you now see we were not crazy

When released, the Premiere was almost unusably slow in the HDUI. I was forced to use the SDUI to keep my sanity. After a few updates, it went from unusably slow to painfully slow in the HDUI, but I switched to it.

The Roamio is acceptable. I would not describe it as "fast", but it is very usable and certainly not slow. It is as fast in the SDUI as the Premiere was in the SDUI. The speed, alone, makes the Roamio a very worthy upgrade.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 01:35 PM   #15
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I think you mainly got flack for claiming that your Elite was slower then your Premiere. To me they are equally as agonizing to use.
The Elite is just way slower than the regular Premiere for me. Opening something like Netflix takes almost 4x longer. The UI of the Premiere is slow but usable but the Elite/XL4 is just painful to me. I don't know why but it is very noticeable.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 02:57 PM   #16
HazelW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: No. Va
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
A Premiere running the SDUI is fast. Under HDUI, it's painfully slow.

Now that I have a Roamio, I can see why everyone complains about the Premiere. I always ran my Elite under SDUI, but was forced to change to HDUI to use a Mini on it. The Roamio is a pleasure; the Premiere is constantly pausing, waiting, displaying that little circle of patience.
I use a mini with an Elite running the SDUI. No problems that I can see. Why were you forced to change to the HDUI?
HazelW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 03:08 PM   #17
murgatroyd
Don't stop believin'
 
murgatroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Berkeley CA
Posts: 22,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Another funny thing is that I'm now spoiled by the download speed from the Premiere 4 compared to my Tivo HD.. download to a computer (with kmttg) that is. I record mostly SD shows, so a SD show takes *around* 5 minutes (a bit more, but that's a rough estimate) to download on my Premiere 4. On my Tivo HD, it takes WAY WAY longer -- tens of minutes.
I am highly amused by reading this post, because my experience is that the TiVoHD is blazingly fast with kmttg -- compared with the way it was before, with TiVo Desktop.
__________________
"The capacity of human beings to disappoint me is never ending." -- Ereth
murgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 12:24 PM   #18
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by uw69 View Post
The Premiere must be a real dog, glad I skipped that series!
its not. It was significantly faster than the TivoHD
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 01:56 PM   #19
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurbano View Post
its not. It was significantly faster than the TivoHD
In the SDUI maybe. But in the HDUI it gets bogged down and takes a second to respond to commands, which in turn causes you to think the command was missed so you press again and then it does it twice. And then other times it does miss commands and you wait thinking it's slow and it does nothing.

With the Roamio that never happens. You occasionally get a bong if you go too fast, but at least that's a response to the command so you know it was was received.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 09:29 PM   #20
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by murgatroyd View Post
I am highly amused by reading this post, because my experience is that the TiVoHD is blazingly fast with kmttg -- compared with the way it was before, with TiVo Desktop.
Weird, I thought they both did basically the same exact thing, essentially a curl or http download....
so I don't know how they're any different in actual download speed -- unless I'm wrong, which I probably am.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 10:00 PM   #21
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi View Post
The Roamio is acceptable. I would not describe it as "fast", but it is very usable and certainly not slow.
My Roamio is fast. And I'm a demanding user. It's a very rare occasion when the response isn't instantaneous.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HazelW View Post
I use a mini with an Elite running the SDUI. No problems that I can see. Why were you forced to change to the HDUI?
When I first added the Mini, it said something like "you can only use a Mini with the HDUI interface, do you want to change?". There was no option given.

Then once I did that, next was the "and you lose a tuner too. Ok?".
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 10:15 PM   #22
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
My Roamio is fast. And I'm a demanding user. It's a very rare occasion when the response isn't instantaneous.
It might start to do something instantly (thank God), but it doesn't FINISH it instantly. What holds up performance now are the unnecessary animated transitions- they are just too slow. They were "cute" for about 10 minutes, many years ago. Now they just slow down my navigation. ERRRRRG.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 04:08 PM   #23
dslunceford
Registered User
 
dslunceford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: No. VA/D.C.
Posts: 4,958
I moved up from TiVo HDs, skipping the last gen. In just 4 days with Roamio, I've made the decision to change out the remaining boxes to Minis. I'm glad I skipped the last couple of generations, and hope this box lasts quite a while. I just realized today that I've had the THDs for 6 years!
__________________
--Steve



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dslunceford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 04:26 PM   #24
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by dslunceford View Post
I moved up from TiVo HDs, skipping the last gen. In just 4 days with Roamio, I've made the decision to change out the remaining boxes to Minis. I'm glad I skipped the last couple of generations, and hope this box lasts quite a while. I just realized today that I've had the THDs for 6 years!
I did the same exact thing, installed my 2nd mini today, one more to go.
__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
3 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 06:33 PM   #25
Devx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Our cable system just finally started simulcasting all the analog channels, so I'm trying to convert my wife over from her 2 tuner Premiere to my old 4 tuner Elite. (she recorded a lot of analog so couldn't use a 4 tuner before) Anyway this means I'm spending a lot of time on the Elite copying all her shows over via MRV. (she has about 1.2TB worth) It is sooooo sloooooow! I've only been using my Roamio for a few weeks but I forgot how slow the Elite was. Hopefully she doesn't notice a big difference or I may end up having to buy another Roamio soon.
Transferring content from my mostly full THD to my Elite took about 3 days. At least that's what it seemed like since I saw the blue light for 3 straight days. Each transfer was only about 30-32Mbps even with tuner parking on both boxes.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Roamio Plus (3TB)
Premiere Elite/XL4
THD 2TB x 2
Humax S2 300GB (retired)
Devx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 06:39 PM   #26
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,226
Transferring from my Elite to my Roamio was actually quite fast. But transferring from my Wife's 2 tuner Premiere to the Elite was a bit slow. Although I started using the Roamio immediately and transferred things as I went, so it may have felt faster because I wasn't in a hurry. With the Wife's TiVo I was trying to get done in a certain window so that I could catch a time when she wasn't recording to swap them out.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 07:27 PM   #27
flar
Registered User
 
flar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
My Roamio...

When I first added the Mini...

Then once I did that, next was the "and you lose a tuner too. Ok?".
Roamios don't lose a tuner when you add a Mini. They have dynamic tuner allocation. Was that question from the Mini or from the Roamio?
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro, lifetime
TiVo Mini, lifetime
selling TiVo Premiere XL, lifetime
selling TiVo Series 3, WD10EVCS, lifetime from Series 2
retired TiVo Series 2, 80 hour
flar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 09:33 PM   #28
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by flar View Post
Roamios don't lose a tuner when you add a Mini. They have dynamic tuner allocation. Was that question from the Mini or from the Roamio?
There was a post I was replying to that was not in your reply/quote. In it we were talking about an Elite.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |