TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 10-01-2013, 01:37 AM   #1
onyx808
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Arrow Roamio Dvr transfer to mac?

Hello,

I have never owned a tivo but Im thinking on duing the jump from the cable dvr box, Im interested in the tivo dvr $199, does this tivo allow to download my recordings to my mac? or do I need to purchase anything else?

Thank you in advance!
onyx808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 06:17 AM   #2
mburnno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 131
You use to be able to use Popcorn to download shows from the Tivo and Roxio Toast. I don't know if it works on the new Tivo's or not now.
mburnno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 06:21 AM   #3
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 8,516
I use pyTivo to manually push/pull programs off myTiVo Roamio to and from my Mac.

Config can be a bit tricky, and the interface a bit rudimentary. But, gets the job done.
markp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 06:33 AM   #4
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,867
Head over to the Home Media section of the forum and read up on kmttg. A very well developed tool to assist you in doing exactly what you are asking about. Runs on windows and Mac (its a java ap). The developer is very active on the forum as well to assist.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 06:39 AM   #5
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Runs on windows and Mac
Runs on Linux, BSD, MS-Windows, MacOS, and others. KMTTG + PyTiVo = great stuff
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 08:02 AM   #6
StevesWeb
Grumpy Old Geek
 
StevesWeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Geek Hill, Corona, CA USA
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by onyx808 View Post
Hello,

does this tivo allow to download my recordings to my mac?
Since you have cable TV you should know that most or all of the content you record may have a bit set by your cable company that prevents you from downloading shows. It's applied, or can be applied, on a per-channel basis. Time Warner sets this do not copy bit on virtually or exactly all channels.

If you switch to Over The Air the broadcasters have no way to set a do not copy bit. Only the basic Roamio supports OTA, and it is either/or, it can use OTA or cable but not both.

KMTTG is indeed a fantastic suite of tools to use for downloading to a Mac. Do not bother with Roxio.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
StevesWeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 10:52 AM   #7
Alan_r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi View Post
Runs on Linux, BSD, MS-Windows, MacOS, and others. KMTTG + PyTiVo = great stuff
+1 to this for sure.

A little tricky at first to setup PyTivo, but kmttg by itself will be able to transfer recordings with very little config.
(MAK I think was the only thing I added and changed default file paths)
Alan_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 10:56 AM   #8
8bitbarbarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SF, Ca
Posts: 39
I set up my macbook pro and my beefy windows desktop on Saturday with KMTTG and both were easy installs and both are working fine with my base level roamio. Pulls the program off tivo and you can decide how you want to store it or move it.

FREE - just do it!
8bitbarbarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 01:13 PM   #9
onyx808
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
I do have Time Warner Cable, does KMTTG transfer the recordings anyway?
Also are the transfer done over wireless or do I need to plug a cable from the Tivo to the computer?

Im sorry if I sound stupid, Im very new to all of this =(

Last edited by onyx808 : 10-01-2013 at 01:21 PM.
onyx808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 01:26 PM   #10
naevity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
I use a little app called iTivo:

https://code.google.com/p/itivo/

it's a little slow to update, but works great. My roamio is coming tonight so I had to download all my daughter's tv shows off of the premier.

If you have Mountain Lion, make sure you download the latest beta:
https://code.google.com/p/itivo/downloads/list

I'll check out that KMTTG app tonight as well, sounds cool.


edit: woah, took 5 years to get my first post
naevity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 01:31 PM   #11
Alan_r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by onyx808 View Post
I do have Time Warner Cable, does KMTTG transfer the recordings anyway?
Also are the transfer done over wireless or do I need to plug a cable from the Tivo to the computer?

Im sorry if I sound stupid, Im very new to all of this =(
I use Comcast, so cant answer that part.

But you dont need any cables.
I use a Macbook Air, which is wireless only, and kmttg transfers work fine.
(though, for efficiency, I wouldnt suggest with anything less than N wireless)
The Roamio is also wireless.
Alan_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 07:14 PM   #12
StevesWeb
Grumpy Old Geek
 
StevesWeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Geek Hill, Corona, CA USA
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by onyx808 View Post
I do have Time Warner Cable, does KMTTG transfer the recordings anyway?

With Time Warner cable you might possibly be able to transfer local channels only, you will not be able to transfer any shows from any cable channels.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
StevesWeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 09:09 PM   #13
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by naevity View Post
I use a little app called iTivo:

https://code.google.com/p/itivo/
Switch to kmttg. iTivo is VERY broken compared to kmttg.. even years ago, when it was more current, it would very often time out on me.

But yes, Toast is the "supported" solution, but kmttg works much better. Unfortunately, since it's Java, it has a lowest common denominator UI.. but it works, and is free. (If Toast did something better, I would pay for it.. but as far as I can tell, it doesn't..)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 11:14 AM   #14
drugrep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Woodridge, IL
Posts: 65
So a question for you Time Warner users that have an iPad. Are you not able to download shows to your iPad via the Tivo app?
__________________
Roamio Plus
Comcast
Series 2 Dual Tuner (Somewhat retired)
Series 1 (Retired)
drugrep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 03:14 PM   #15
sar840t2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi View Post
Runs on Linux, BSD, MS-Windows, MacOS, and others. KMTTG + PyTiVo = great stuff
"Java - write once, debug everywhere"

But I do agree with the recommendations for kmttg (haven't used PyTiVo).

Mike
sar840t2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 06:07 PM   #16
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by sar840t2 View Post
"Java - write once, debug everywhere"
But I do agree with the recommendations for kmttg (haven't used PyTiVo).
I am certainly not fond of Java. It uses way too many resources, has UI issues, etc. But at least it means those programs run under Linux (which they likely would not, otherwise), and that is very important to some of us...

You need to try PyTiVo, it is a huge thumbs up, just like kmttg.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 06:10 PM   #17
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by drugrep View Post
So a question for you Time Warner users that have an iPad. Are you not able to download shows to your iPad via the Tivo app?
I would never own an iPad, and I don't have Time Warner. But I don't need either to answer your question.

If the copy flag is flipped on the channel, then no, you cannot "download" it to any other device through TiVo. But you can stream it live, while on the same network. And since most people indicate that everything or most everything is flagged on Time Warner, the simpler answer is just "no".
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 07:18 PM   #18
ShoutingMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by drugrep View Post
So a question for you Time Warner users that have an iPad. Are you not able to download shows to your iPad via the Tivo app?
On Verizon Fios it works fine with the TiVo app.
ShoutingMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 10:39 PM   #19
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
Time Warner blocks everything except locals. And in some markets they are blocked some/all locals too. The cable companies may be allowed to block everything soon.

From my experience, you can't copy any cable channels on Time Warner in multiple markets. You can copy everything except premiums on Comcast.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |