TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 09-29-2013, 01:00 PM   #1
DeltaOne
Mount Airy, MD
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 179
Record new only

New Roamio Plus owner. I have my season passes set to record new only but the To Do list shows scheduled recordings for shows we watched in the previous weeks. 12 repeats were recorded the first full day we had the Roamio. Anyone know why?
DeltaOne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 02:18 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,635
It considers anything with an original air date less then 2 weeks old as "new". Normally it has a 28 day history to prevent recording shows you've already watched but with a new TiVo that history isn't there so for the first week or so you'll get some repeats of episodes that aren't technically first runs. It'll even out in a couple of weeks.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 02:21 PM   #3
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaOne View Post
New Roamio Plus owner. I have my season passes set to record new only but the To Do list shows scheduled recordings for shows we watched in the previous weeks. 12 repeats were recorded the first full day we had the Roamio. Anyone know why?
Yes, "new" to the Tivo isn't just those shows that say "new" in the guide. It does some logic like: if it originally aired during the last 28 days, and this box hasn't recorded it yet (checks a history log), then record it.

I had the same experience originally, but I've been using it over a month now and so that period has past for me.

Also if you look at the to-do list you might see scheduled recordings of repeats and other things that don't make sense say a week out. Eventually, as the days get closer Tivo figures out the correct things to record.
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 03:29 PM   #4
DeltaOne
Mount Airy, MD
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 179
Great info, thanks!

I was looking at the To Do list and saw two recordings that didn't make sense -- turns out they were talk shows with guests that appear on shows we do record. So the Tivo is doing some fuzzy logic and recording a show. We have Suggestions turned off -- so this behavior surprised me.
DeltaOne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 12:43 AM   #5
headless chicken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 220
You mean they did away with the "first run only" option on the Roamio??
headless chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 12:54 AM   #6
yokito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by headless chicken View Post
You mean they did away with the "first run only" option on the Roamio??
No.
__________________
Roamio Pro, 3 TiVo Mini
yokito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 04:28 AM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaOne View Post
Great info, thanks!

I was looking at the To Do list and saw two recordings that didn't make sense -- turns out they were talk shows with guests that appear on shows we do record. So the Tivo is doing some fuzzy logic and recording a show. We have Suggestions turned off -- so this behavior surprised me.
Do you have Wish Lists setup for those actors?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 06:07 AM   #8
DeltaOne
Mount Airy, MD
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Do you have Wish Lists setup for those actors?
Quite possibly, yes.

Set the Roamio up three days ago, and entered our Season Passes. For the shows not airing now we put them in the Wish List. We figured that putting them in the Wish List would mean they would get recorded when they air next season and that we wouldn't need to remember to enter them at a later date. Correct?
DeltaOne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 10:49 AM   #9
headless chicken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaOne View Post
We figured that putting them in the Wish List would mean they would get recorded when they air next season and that we wouldn't need to remember to enter them at a later date. Correct?
If you want matching programs to automatically record, you need to set the WishList to autorecord.
headless chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 01:46 PM   #10
DeltaOne
Mount Airy, MD
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 179
I'll check the auto-record option on our Wish List.

What's the best way to deal with Wish List items once they begin airing? Set the options to a Season Pass or does that happen automatically?
DeltaOne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 01:49 PM   #11
headless chicken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaOne View Post
What's the best way to deal with Wish List items once they begin airing? Set the options to a Season Pass or does that happen automatically?
WishLists are automatically set to appear in Season Pass. However, you must specify recording options such as auto-record, first run/repeat airings, how many episodes to keep, keep until dates, etc.
headless chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 02:17 PM   #12
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by headless chicken View Post
If you want matching programs to automatically record, you need to set the WishList to autorecord.
On the Roamio platform, wishlists record by default. There's no option to disable this when creating a wishlist but you can go back and turn it off.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |