TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2013, 10:34 AM   #1
teasip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 518
WinMFS

Tried backup of current 1TB drive using VMWare Fusion and Windows7 as admin, in addition to an external USB drive. Program unable to see drive. I don't find information referencing issues with Win7 Pro. Anyone able to use it successfully? Good news, no cap bulging on my TiVoHD.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB upgrade with lifetime
TiVo HD with lifetime (kidnapped by college daughter)
teasip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 12:08 PM   #2
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,991
Do you mean running Win7 via VMWare?

What exactly do you mean by "... in addition to an external USB drive." ?

Basically, please provide more detail on what you're doing.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 12:26 PM   #3
philhu
User Since Day ONE!
 
philhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Funcity, MA
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by teasip View Post
Tried backup of current 1TB drive using VMWare Fusion and Windows7 as admin, in addition to an external USB drive. Program unable to see drive. I don't find information referencing issues with Win7 Pro. Anyone able to use it successfully? Good news, no cap bulging on my TiVoHD.
Probaby due to fusion.

Does windows see the drive, before even running the backup program?
__________________
-----------------
Phillips (S1-retired)
Sony SVR-2000 (S1-retired)
Tivo (S2-retired, 500gb HD, 2 units)
TivoHD (2tb HD, chip mod, 2 units)
Tivo Premiere (2tb HD)
Tivo Premiere4 (2tb (JMFS) HD)
philhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 01:03 PM   #4
teasip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 518
TiVO drive was placed in a USB connected external double bay drive through VMWare/Windows7. No, the external drive does not show up in Windows7 (My Computer), even though when first connected I select the attach to Windows option as opposed to Mac OS X. I was able to use this same setup in an older VMWare Fusion and Windows XP setup on a Mac. I have a copy of the 1TB drive but it was before the 11.0m software update and the pairing of my cable card.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB upgrade with lifetime
TiVo HD with lifetime (kidnapped by college daughter)
teasip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 08:11 PM   #5
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,801
Windows should not be able to read a Tivo drive, but WinMFS should read it if its run under administrative rights.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 08:24 PM   #6
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,379
I've found WinMFS to be kinda finicky about recognizing drives at times in a native Windows environment, although my TiVo HD drive was always recognized in Win7/xp with no problems with usb/sata/esata. I have found S1 and S2 drives to be hit or miss with a usb adapter though.
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 08:39 PM   #7
teasip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 518
Win 7 was logged into as an admin.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB upgrade with lifetime
TiVo HD with lifetime (kidnapped by college daughter)
teasip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 11:04 PM   #8
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by teasip View Post
Win 7 was logged into as an admin.
That's not the same as "Run as administrator". If you have a shortcut to WinMFS, right-click on it and select "Run as administrator". Not sure how you do this if launching directly from Windows Explorer -- maybe also a right-click?

Also, disable your AV file checking.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 08:42 AM   #9
teasip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 518
Thanks for the clarification. I'll have to try it again later.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB upgrade with lifetime
TiVo HD with lifetime (kidnapped by college daughter)
teasip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |