TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 3.67 average.
Old 09-26-2013, 06:32 PM   #1
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 8,757
Netflix Super HD (1080p) on my Roamio!

Maybe already discussed (sorry if I have missed).

I saw a post claiming Netflix was streaming in 1080p on AppleTV and other devices.

http://www.idownloadblog.com/2013/09...uper-hd-video/

I confirmed on AppleTV, then I tried on the Roamio. YEP!! 1080p goodness. Looks great!
markp99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 06:36 PM   #2
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 8,757
Also confirmed my Premier XL4 only sees 1080i netflix streaming
markp99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 07:01 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,267
I get 1080p/24 but I don't get SuperHD because my ISP isn't part of that network they require for that.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 07:02 PM   #4
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 8,757
I'm on Comcast, though the link posted above did note:

Quote:
As of today, Super HD video streaming is available everywhere, regardless of your Internet service provider (but dependent on network conditions).

markp99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 07:02 PM   #5
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post

I get 1080p/24 but I don't get SuperHD because my ISP isn't part of that network they require for that.
What's the difference between SuperHD and 1080p/24?
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 07:04 PM   #6
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 8,757
Seems a variant? Dunno.

Quote:
If you’re wondering why Netflix would label standard full HD 1080p video resolution as ‘Super HD’, that’s because Super HD applies less compression to the 1080p image for greater clarity.

markp99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 07:07 PM   #7
djdanska
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by markp99 View Post
Maybe already discussed (sorry if I have missed).

I saw a post claiming Netflix was streaming in 1080p on AppleTV and other devices.

http://www.idownloadblog.com/2013/09...uper-hd-video/

I confirmed on AppleTV, then I tried on the Roamio. YEP!! 1080p goodness. Looks great!
My isp Cox has had it for a while now. Was actually very annoying on my old premiere. My tv took like ten seconds to switch to 1080p so i never used it (cheap tv) but it's nice that the new roamio units can stay at 1080p. Awesome quality.
djdanska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 07:09 PM   #8
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
1080p Super HD Netflix feeds have been available for Series 4 units for quite a while now. About 6 months ago I watched many Breaking Bad episodes on my 2 tuner Premiere @1080p/24. However the Roamio client is SO much faster and improved I'll probably never watch Netflix on a series 4 unit again.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 07:17 PM   #9
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by markp99 View Post
I'm on Comcast, though the link posted above did note:

Quote:
As of today, Super HD video streaming is available everywhere, regardless of your Internet service provider (but dependent on network conditions).
That's awesome! I've actually been using my Netflix subscription a lot lately. Me an my Niece have been watching The Walking Dead and I've been catching up on a few shows I missed last season.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 07:21 PM   #10
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,605
Yeah, Netflix just announced they're opening up "SuperHD" to everyone and not just their partners.. provided the ISP's network bandwidth can support it.

SuperHD is just a higher bitrate.... ranging from 4.2 mbps to 5.7 mbps.

But 1080p isn't exclusive to SuperHD. 1080p starts at 3.8 mbps.

I can confirm on FiOS (not a CDN partner) that I'm now getting 5.7 mbps on the Roamio. The previous cap was 3.8.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 09-26-2013 at 09:23 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 08:58 PM   #11
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Yeah, Netflix just announced they're opening up "SuperHD" to everyone and not just their partners.. provided the ISP's network bandwidth can support it.

"SuperHD" is just a higher bitrate.... from 4.2 mbps to 5.7 mbps.

But 1080p isn't exclusive to SuperHD. 1080p starts at 3.8 mbps.

I can confirm on FiOS (not a CDN partner) that I can now get 5.7 mbps on the Roamio. The previous cap was 3.8.


Really?!?! When is this supposed to happen? If so then I will be able to cancel my unBlock US subscription and save $5 a month.

EDIT:

Sweet!! It's working right now without the unBlock US DNS IP addresses. Time for me to cancel them. SWEET!!!!
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 09:30 PM   #12
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 815
Curious, what do you guys have your Roamios set for video? I think mine is still at the default 1080i. Guessing you need to switch tivo to at least 1080p to see the benefits?

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 09:33 PM   #13
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Curious, what do you guys have your Roamios set for video? I think mine is still at the default 1080i. Guessing you need to switch tivo to at least 1080p to see the benefits?

-Kevin
For Netflix, YouTube & Amazon it's useful to enable 1080p/24 output which TiVo will pass through natively. Otherwise if you just have 1080i everything just scales to that and picture quality is not quite as good.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 09:41 PM   #14
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Curious, what do you guys have your Roamios set for video? I think mine is still at the default 1080i. Guessing you need to switch tivo to at least 1080p to see the benefits?

-Kevin
I have mine set for 1080P60 output. I don't have 1080P24 set right now since I want to avoid the 1 to 2 second resync when there is a resolution or framerate change.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:00 PM   #15
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Curious, what do you guys have your Roamios set for video? I think mine is still at the default 1080i. Guessing you need to switch tivo to at least 1080p to see the benefits?

-Kevin
1080p/60 and 1080p/24
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:08 PM   #16
swerver
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamNJ View Post
1080p/60 and 1080p/24
Same here, and so far I haven't seen the resolution switching problem that was common when using netflix on a premiere. I agree the Super HD looks great.
swerver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:40 PM   #17
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by markp99 View Post
Maybe already discussed (sorry if I have missed).

I saw a post claiming Netflix was streaming in 1080p on AppleTV and other devices.

http://www.idownloadblog.com/2013/09...uper-hd-video/

I confirmed on AppleTV, then I tried on the Roamio. YEP!! 1080p goodness. Looks great!
I'm assuming you only got the Apple TV to do 1080p 60Hz correct? I didn't see a setting to change that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
For Netflix, YouTube & Amazon it's useful to enable 1080p/24 output which TiVo will pass through natively. Otherwise if you just have 1080i everything just scales to that and picture quality is not quite as good.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swerver View Post
Same here, and so far I haven't seen the resolution switching problem that was common when using netflix on a premiere. I agree the Super HD looks great.
Thanks for the info. I just switched to check only 1080p and 1080p/24.

Netflix SuperHD switches my TV into 1080p/24 mode and it does look gorgeous!

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 11:07 PM   #18
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 815
So can anyone explain.....picture quality-wise....what's the difference between 1080p60 and 1080p24?

I've read a bunch online about the 24fps and that unless you have a 120Hz or 240Hz TV, that it will likely do the 2:3 pulldown.

Thing is.....on my ATV watching the Avengers in SuperHD, my TV reports the resolution as 1080p 60Hz.
Watching it via the Roamio reports 1080p 24.

The Roamio picture is much better. Is that the 24? Or is it just the Roamio?

EDIT: So I turned 1080p24 off and viewed Netflix again on the Roamio. Couldn't really tell any major difference. And since my TV isn't 120Hz or 240Hz, should I leave 1080p24 off to not have any stuttering?

EDIT 2: Ok going to bed because clearly I'm losing it. I have the Samsung LN46D630 which is a 120Hz TV. So I'm going to test again tomorrow.

-Kevin

Last edited by kbmb : 09-26-2013 at 11:39 PM.
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 11:50 PM   #19
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
So can anyone explain.....picture quality-wise....what's the difference between 1080p60 and 1080p24?

I've read a bunch online about the 24fps and that unless you have a 120Hz or 240Hz TV, that it will likely do the 2:3 pulldown.

Thing is.....on my ATV watching the Avengers in SuperHD, my TV reports the resolution as 1080p 60Hz.
Watching it via the Roamio reports 1080p 24.

The Roamio picture is much better. Is that the 24? Or is it just the Roamio?

EDIT: So I turned 1080p24 off and viewed Netflix again on the Roamio. Couldn't really tell any major difference. And since my TV isn't 120Hz or 240Hz, should I leave 1080p24 off to not have any stuttering?

EDIT 2: Ok going to bed because clearly I'm losing it. I have the Samsung LN46D630 which is a 120Hz TV. So I'm going to test again tomorrow.

-Kevin
I have an LN46A650 which is also 120hz. I wouldn't say that I notice any differences myself but the whole thing is that movies are recorded in 24 frames per second. So is that is the natural frame rate, and your tv properly handles it (which it does: 120/24 = 5 -- cleanly divides), then allow for 1080p/24. It should look more natural.

Maybe someone who is more of an A/V buff can explain better.
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 11:54 PM   #20
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamNJ View Post
I have an LN46A650 which is also 120hz. I wouldn't say that I notice any differences myself but the whole thing is that movies are recorded in 24 frames per second. So is that is the natural frame rate, and your tv properly handles it (which it does: 120/24 = 5 -- cleanly divides), then allow for 1080p/24. It should look more natural.

Maybe someone who is more of an A/V buff can explain better.
Thanks Adam. Do you have AMP turned on at all? Currently I have it off to reduce the soap opera effect, but have read on my TV where with AMP off, some people see the stuttering cadence like 2:3 pull down.

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 01:12 AM   #21
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Thanks Adam. Do you have AMP turned on at all? Currently I have it off to reduce the soap opera effect, but have read on my TV where with AMP off, some people see the stuttering cadence like 2:3 pull down.

-Kevin
That looks more natural to me since I've been used to seeing it for decades.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 09:52 AM   #22
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,893
If you don't ever use the TiVo for Amazon, Netflix or YouTube, is there any benefit to switching the output to 1080p vs. 1080i?
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 10:09 AM   #23
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post
If you don't ever use the TiVo for Amazon, Netflix or YouTube, is there any benefit to switching the output to 1080p vs. 1080i?
Basically what you're selecting is what you want the Tivo to transmit to the TV. If you want the Tivo to pass-through every program's native resolution and let your TV handle the scaling, select all resolutions on the list (or at least 720p and 1080i). The downside is that some TVs might go blank for a split second as it jumps between resolutions. (channel surfing, entering and exiting menus, etc)

The Tivo's scaler is actually fine. I can't tell a difference in my case between the Tivo scaling or the TV's scaling (I have a 1080p TV). So just to avoid the resolution blinking, I have it set to 1080p/60.

If a TV is 720p, I would select either 720p or both 720p and 1080i to avoid unnecessary image re-processing.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 09-27-2013 at 10:39 AM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 01:29 PM   #24
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
So can anyone explain.....picture quality-wise....what's the difference between 1080p60 and 1080p24?

I've read a bunch online about the 24fps and that unless you have a 120Hz or 240Hz TV, that it will likely do the 2:3 pulldown.

Thing is.....on my ATV watching the Avengers in SuperHD, my TV reports the resolution as 1080p 60Hz.
Watching it via the Roamio reports 1080p 24.

The Roamio picture is much better. Is that the 24? Or is it just the Roamio?

EDIT: So I turned 1080p24 off and viewed Netflix again on the Roamio. Couldn't really tell any major difference. And since my TV isn't 120Hz or 240Hz, should I leave 1080p24 off to not have any stuttering?

EDIT 2: Ok going to bed because clearly I'm losing it. I have the Samsung LN46D630 which is a 120Hz TV. So I'm going to test again tomorrow.

-Kevin
Movies are shot at 24fps so watching them at 1080p/24 means that the least amount of processing has to be applied to the video an you're getting the the truest picture. However 24fps only works on 120Hz or better TVs because 60 is not evenly divisible by 24. With a 120Hz TV they can play a 24fps video by simply displaying each frame for 5 cycles. But with a 60Hz TV they have to use 2:3 which means they alternate every other frame for 2 cycles then 3 cycles. This can create a slight stutter that some people can perceive. Some processors use a special interpolation technique to convert the video instead which can produce a smoother picture, which could explain why it looks better coming from one device then the other.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 03:13 PM   #25
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,068
And to further complicate things, not all 120hz TVs apply 5:5 pulldown. So some apply 3:2 pulldown to go to 60 Hz then double that to go to120 Hz.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 03:42 PM   #26
bbrown9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
And to further complicate things, not all 120hz TVs apply 5:5 pulldown. So some apply 3:2 pulldown to go to 60 Hz then double that to go to120 Hz.
My TV does this and I have noticed some unusual jumpiness (for lack of a better word) when watching the latest episode of Hell on Wheels. I didn't think that would be broadcast in 1080p but I'd like to understand why that show looks jumpy and most others don't.
bbrown9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 05:52 PM   #27
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Thanks Adam. Do you have AMP turned on at all? Currently I have it off to reduce the soap opera effect, but have read on my TV where with AMP off, some people see the stuttering cadence like 2:3 pull down.

-Kevin
Yes I have it on, might be medium, I don't remember.
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |