TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-20-2013, 04:54 AM   #1
Bucknut34
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Tivo mini data usage....

I just got my tivo mini hooked up via moca. Does anyone know how much dAta usage this takes? My Comcast Internet is capped at 250. Just wanted to check to see if anyone knew. I appreciate the info on this site.
Bucknut34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 05:54 AM   #2
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,906
Comcast suspended the 250GB cap a while back.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini X 3
Slingbox M1

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 08:14 AM   #3
9300170
Registered User
 
9300170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Enfield, CT
Posts: 174
I'm guessing that you realize that anything you do within your own network wouldn't count against any caps and that you're asking how much use of features such as connecting to the TiVo servers and using apps like Netflix would use.

The daily updates to TiVo should be so minuscule as to never matter. Your use of netflix or hulu will vary with your individual usage but you'd have to download a lot of movies to get close to your 250GB cap.
9300170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 09:45 AM   #4
Bucknut34
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9300170 View Post
I'm guessing that you realize that anything you do within your own network wouldn't count against any caps and that you're asking how much use of features such as connecting to the TiVo servers and using apps like Netflix would use.

The daily updates to TiVo should be so minuscule as to never matter. Your use of netflix or hulu will vary with your individual usage but you'd have to download a lot of movies to get close to your 250GB cap.
So I guess I am confused here. The moca network that connects the tivo mini does not use any data itself when on? Except for streaming netflix and such?
Bucknut34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 11:13 AM   #5
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucknut34 View Post
So I guess I am confused here. The moca network that connects the tivo mini does not use any data itself when on? Except for streaming netflix and such?
Streaming (or xfering) from one TiVo to another TiVo or Mini is internal data and not seen by Comcast, only external data like Netflix, You Tube, etc. will come from external data that would count against any data cap you may ever have someday.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 01:54 PM   #6
Bucknut34
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Thank you guys for the reply on that.
Bucknut34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 01:39 PM   #7
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 625
I'm not sure exactly how much the mini uses, but my P4XL PLUS A MINI uses at least 50MB a day, up and back.
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 12:28 AM   #8
yokito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
Comcast suspended the 250GB cap a while back.
Not that I can verify this anymore but we are likely now consuming 300GB+ I haven't seen any communications from Comcast or news lately addressing this.

With the cap gone, I'm telling you we are streaming more than ever.
__________________
Roamio Pro, 3 TiVo Mini
yokito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 10:37 AM   #9
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 625
comcast page

If you login to your comcast page, head to services, head to your devices (your modem will be listed there) it should say "250GB cap has been suspended"

you might actually have to click through to the USAGE page to see it, can't recall.
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 10:53 AM   #10
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 11,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by yokito View Post
Not that I can verify this anymore but we are likely now consuming 300GB+ I haven't seen any communications from Comcast or news lately addressing this.

With the cap gone, I'm telling you we are streaming more than ever.
You can still login to your account and see how much you have used.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 07:59 PM   #11
Bucknut34
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
The previous poster stated that the moca network will not count against your data because it is using your own network. I have a tivo roamio and mini hooked up via moca and have not seen any raise in my data usage. However, I did get notification from comcast that starting 10/1/13 the data cap is back on and it is now 300GB.
Bucknut34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 12:32 AM   #12
yokito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 46
Did you also say what happens when you go over? I remember seeing that you will be able to buy additional bandwidth and not get disconnect anymore - at least that's what I saw several month ago when they lifted the cap.

I guess, Comcast has enough data now as what would happen if they did away with the cap and how much more money they could make now that we haven't been watching our bandwidth usage.
__________________
Roamio Pro, 3 TiVo Mini

Last edited by yokito : 12-10-2013 at 01:19 PM.
yokito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 11:09 AM   #13
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucknut34 View Post
The previous poster stated that the moca network will not count against your data because it is using your own network. I have a tivo roamio and mini hooked up via moca and have not seen any raise in my data usage. However, I did get notification from comcast that starting 10/1/13 the data cap is back on and it is now 300GB.
Only external data will count with Comcast, TiVo to TiVo (or Mini) xfer or streaming will not go out on the Comcast system, things like watching Netflix movies will take data from Comcast and go toward your cap.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 12:03 PM   #14
pillpusher84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
what a scam ... switch to FiOS
pillpusher84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 06:05 PM   #15
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by pillpusher84 View Post
what a scam ... switch to FiOS
You seriously revived this thread for that comment?

And wtf are you talking about, anyway? There is no cap.

Thanks for wasting everyones time.
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 03:44 PM   #16
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgnad View Post
You seriously revived this thread for that comment?

And wtf are you talking about, anyway? There is no cap.

Thanks for wasting everyones time.
In some markets Comcast has put a cap back on and said will do this sometime in the future with all markets.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |