TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2013, 11:12 AM   #31
sfhub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Is this capacitor issue supposed to affect the OLED S3 boxes? I still have two S3 boxes from 2006 that my girlfriend uses. When 1TB drives were first available in 2007 I put one in each of those boxes and that has been it. They have been running 24/7/365 so far without any issues.
The first sign of capacitor issues on both my S3 OLED units (1 year apart) were the analog svideo/composite output started getting flickers or flashes. The digitial HDMI output looked ok.

I only noticed because I have the analog outputs connected to slingbox, otherwise with just HDMI connected on the TVs I wouldn't have noticed for a while until the 2nd symptoms (around 4 months later) started, which is getting RS uncorrected errors on cablecard 2. Eventually these will progress to partial recordings.

After that, you may not be able to reboot anymore, unless you pull out cablecard 2.

If you let it sit for even longer, it'll just bootloop.
sfhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:57 AM   #32
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 993
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I won't be looking forward to that day. My GF will be pissed. I keep telling her to offload some shows she wants to keep to Tivodesktop but she hasn't
Yes, both of my S3 OLED power supplies (purchased December 2006 and January 2007) have had this issue although only 1 has had the power supply fail. Still waiting for some "downtime" to pre-emptively replace the caps in the second one.

It's a relatively easy and cheap issue to fix so not sure your girlfriend should be too worried about it.

Scott
HerronScott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 06:41 PM   #33
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
Yes, both of my S3 OLED power supplies (purchased December 2006 and January 2007) have had this issue although only 1 has had the power supply fail. Still waiting for some "downtime" to pre-emptively replace the caps in the second one.

It's a relatively easy and cheap issue to fix so not sure your girlfriend should be too worried about it.

Scott
She's not worried about it, it's me that is worried. Because I will get the flack from her boxes being down.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 06:44 PM   #34
sfhub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
She's not worried about it, it's me that is worried. Because I will get the flack from her boxes being down.
It probably takes an hour to pull the unit, unscrew everything, replace the caps, and put everything back together. Add an hour because it is your first time doing it.

She sleeps at least 6hrs right? What she doesn't know won't hurt her (or you).

Just don't F it up
sfhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 11:12 PM   #35
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
You could always go the safe route and get refurbished power supplies online, and just have to do a simple swap.
Heck the GF could probably do that (I would think ).
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 04:37 PM   #36
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
You could always go the safe route and get refurbished power supplies online, and just have to do a simple swap.
Heck the GF could probably do that (I would think ).
But if his girlfriend isn't into swapping it might be better not to ever mention the idea.


__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 09:16 PM   #37
murgatroyd
Don't stop believin'
 
murgatroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Berkeley CA
Posts: 23,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I won't be looking forward to that day. My GF will be pissed. I keep telling her to offload some shows she wants to keep to Tivodesktop but she hasn't
And why should she? kmttg is better.
__________________
"The capacity of human beings to disappoint me is never ending." -- Ereth
murgatroyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |