TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-25-2013, 08:24 AM   #1
filovirus
Registered User
 
filovirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pueblo, Colorado
Posts: 34
Considering Slingbox 350 or 500 with my Roamio Pro

Anyone using one of these sling box models with Roamio? I have read the 500 HDMI passthrough may not work due to HDCP, so it looks like the cheaper 350 may suffice.

Does anyone know if there are confirmed plans to provide access to Roamio over browser so I could watch without a Slingbox on my PC?

Thanks,
Filo.
filovirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 08:32 AM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,852
Yes, I'm using the 350 with my Roamio Pro. I like the 350 a lot better than my ancient Solo as far as picture quality with low bandwidth. For my Solo anything below 1Mbps was awful quality but the 350 does a pretty good job even down to 500Kbps. Biggest gripe is that the lag seems to have increased a lot. Recently while on vacation 3000 miles from home I was seeing remote control response delays up to 20 seconds which made using trick play functions all but useless.

Another thing I really like about the 350/500 models is the hacker community released scripts that can interface with and capture the Slingbox H.264 video output to your computer directly, a feature I have integrated into kmttg.

There are plans for out of home Stream from TiVo but initial beta testing reportedly says there were quality and buffering issues. It will likely improve over time but I'm skeptical it will be as good as what Sling can do. Other big problem with TiVo solution is it supposedly won't be allowed for copy protected shows (CCI=0x02) which of course is not a problem with Sling analog output capture.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by moyekj : 09-25-2013 at 08:37 AM.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 05:53 PM   #3
filovirus
Registered User
 
filovirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pueblo, Colorado
Posts: 34
Thank you. I picked up a 350 and decided to connect it to my basement premiere xl.

Filo
filovirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 05:55 PM   #4
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,927
The 500 is only useful if you want to share photos and video to it. The HDMI pass through is just pointless. They both have the same streaming quality. Honestly, I don't see the point of the 500 for most people.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |