TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2013, 10:33 AM   #1
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 731
Question Series 3 (OLED) cap list

I have a Series 3 with some reboot issues. I am thinking it may be the power supply and some of its caps & may attempt to replace them myself. It has been suggested to just replace them all to be safe.

I thought I remember seeing this somewhere, but can't seem to find it with search. Is there a full list of all the caps that are in the Series 3 (OLED) and what to exactly replace them with? I think the previous post even provided links to Amazon on where to actually get them.

buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 10:56 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 15,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
I have a Series 3 with some reboot issues. I am thinking it may be the power supply and some of its caps & may attempt to replace them myself. It has been suggested to just replace them all to be safe.

I thought I remember seeing this somewhere, but can't seem to find it with search. Is there a full list of all the caps that are in the Series 3 (OLED) and what to exactly replace them with? I think the previous post even provided links to Amazon on where to actually get them.
I know someone listed them for one of the 2 models used in the HD, and I think someone did the 648, but I'll have to go search.

If I can ever take my S3 collection offline long enough, I was planning to make a list and trace which ones are part of which voltage output, since it's almost certain to be the ones on the +5 or +12 Volt, or both, that are the problem, 'cause that's where most of the current draw happens.


Okay, here's a guy who did a 648.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...93#post9131293

I think there was only one company who made a 648 supply (as opposed to the 652/658 supplies), but check his PS part number at the top of his list

3Y power supply: CP-1104 R2
TiVo PN: SPWR-00008-000 Rev A3

against your board to be sure.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 11:03 AM   #3
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 943
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb....php?p=9456839
This guy made a parts list for the 648 on mouser.com.

__________________
S2, S3 (OTA), TiVo Hd, Premiere (OTA), Roamio Basic (Comcast Cable).
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 11:47 AM   #4
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 731
Yep, those are the list I was looking for. Thanks

buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 05:32 PM   #5
sfhub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
If I can ever take my S3 collection offline long enough, I was planning to make a list and trace which ones are part of which voltage output, since it's almost certain to be the ones on the +5 or +12 Volt, or both, that are the problem, 'cause that's where most of the current draw happens.
I've had the C401/C402 on what I believe to be the 3.3v line fail/bulge.

While there may be some effect, I don't think it always has to do with how much current draw.

I've had 2 TiVo HDs that sat in a box and were never turned on and the caps were bulging. Clearly current draw wasn't the issue there.

sfhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 10:19 PM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 15,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfhub View Post
I've had the C401/C402 on what I believe to be the 3.3v line fail/bulge.

While there may be some effect, I don't think it always has to do with how much current draw.

I've had 2 TiVo HDs that sat in a box and were never turned on and the caps were bulging. Clearly current draw wasn't the issue there.
Yeah, but the ones that have to deal with the most current are the most likely to overheat, so your experiences are more the exception than the rule.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 06:25 AM   #7
sfhub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Yeah, but the ones that have to deal with the most current are the most likely to overheat, so your experiences are more the exception than the rule.
What you say makes sense in general for caps going bad, but for bulging caps, if they can bulge even not having ever been turned on, some other factor is in play. In those cases there is probably some inherent instability in the electrolytic formula, which might be accelerated by heat, but can bulge all on their own.

sfhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 05:41 PM   #8
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 15,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfhub View Post
What you say makes sense in general for caps going bad, but for bulging caps, if they can bulge even not having ever been turned on, some other factor is in play. In those cases there is probably some inherent instability in the electrolytic formula, which might be accelerated by heat, but can bulge all on their own.
And the factor in play is the electrolytic "recipe" that was stolen several years back was incomplete and by the time that was discovered it had been used to make millions of capacitors, hence "capacitor plague".

And of course there are out and out counterfeit caps as well, where they aren't really made by the company whose name is put on them.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 04:20 AM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 15,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfhub View Post
I've had the C401/C402 on what I believe to be the 3.3v line fail/bulge.

While there may be some effect, I don't think it always has to do with how much current draw.

I've had 2 TiVo HDs that sat in a box and were never turned on and the caps were bulging. Clearly current draw wasn't the issue there.
I did a little poking around with an ohmmeter/continuity tester, and those two caps don't appear to be directly "across"* any of the DC outs, but somewhere further back upstream.

When I was younger I'd have spent the time to trace all the circuits, look up the pinouts for the semiconductors, and draw up a complete schematic.

Now I lean more towards "just fix the problem and get it back into the TiVo and get the TiVo working again".

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 12:35 PM   #10
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 905xx
Posts: 1,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
I did a little poking around with an ohmmeter/continuity tester, and those two caps don't appear to be directly "across"* any of the DC outs, but somewhere further back upstream.

When I was younger I'd have spent the time to trace all the circuits, look up the pinouts for the semiconductors, and draw up a complete schematic.

Now I lean more towards "just fix the problem and get it back into the TiVo and get the TiVo working again".
+1

Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2015, 05:41 PM   #11
darklyte
Joe
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfhub View Post
I've had the C401/C402 on what I believe to be the 3.3v line fail/bulge.
Just wanted to add that C401 and C402 are also bulging on my failing PSU as is C701

darklyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2015, 08:56 PM   #12
darklyte
Joe
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 23
SPWR-00008-000 RevA2 Power Supply Repair for Tivo Series 3 HD

I am getting ready to fix my Power Supply for a
TiVo Series 3 HD TCD648250B
and wanted to share some info and a diagram of the PSU in case it helps others.

The Power Supply I have is:
SPWR-00008-000 RevA2

My symptoms were:
  • The unit was in a constant reboot cycle.
  • It would only boot normally after both cable cards were removed. Then previously recorded programs would play.
  • At first, repeating guided setup got one cable card working but inserting a second would cause an instant reboot cycle.
  • After one week of use with one card, it stopped working with any card. Still started OK with no cards.
  • At this point, as soon as any cable card made contact with the board, the TiVo shut off and would go into a reboot cycle

I have already replaced the PSU with one I purchased on eBay and it has been fine for a week so I know that was the problem. Also you can see in the attached image that C701, C401 and C402 capacitors are slightly bulging at the top and are definitely bad.

Next I'm going to try fixing the original PSU and have ordered from the great Mouser shopping list of capacitors made by HerronScott. Reposting it here so its bumped and easy to find because it was a huge help to me.
https://www.mouser.com/ProjectManage...sID=1a42eea4c1

I'm hoping that with the attached as a guide to follow, since I have no experience at all with this sort of thing, I'll get the PSU back in shape.

Huge thanks again to HerronScott , Unitron , timhbtr53 who posted a lot about this and helped me get this far and save a lot of $$$.
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...473394&page=13

Attached Images
File Type: jpg TiVo Series3HD SPWR-00008-000 RevA2.jpg (73.5 KB, 34 views)

Last edited by darklyte; 12-11-2015 at 09:30 PM.
darklyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2015, 09:11 PM   #13
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 15,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklyte View Post
I am getting ready to fix my Power Supply for a
TiVo Series 3 HD TCD648250B
and wanted to share some info and a diagram of the PSU in case it helps others.

The Power Supply I have is:
SPWR-00008-000 RevA2

My symptoms were:
  • The unit was in a constant reboot cycle.
  • It would only boot normally after both cable cards were removed. Then previously recorded programs would play.
  • At first, repeating guided setup got one cable card working but inserting a second would cause an instant reboot cycle.
  • After one week of use with one card, it stopped working with any card. Still started OK with no cards.
  • At this point, as soon as any cable card made contact with the board, the TiVo shut off and would go into a reboot cycle

I have already replaced the PSU with one I purchased on eBay and it has been fine for a week so I know that was the problem. Also you can see in the attached image that C701, C401 and C402 capacitors are slightly bulging at the top and are definitely bad.

Next I'm going to try fixing the original PSU and have ordered from the great Mouser shopping list of capacitors made by HerronScott . Reposting it here so its bumped and easy to find because it was a huge help to me.
https://www.mouser.com/ProjectManage...sID=1a42eea4c1

I'm hoping that with the attached as a guide to follow, since I have no experience at all with this sort of thing, I'll get the PSU back in shape.

Huge thanks again to HerronScott, Unitron and timhbtr53 who have posted a lot on this topic and helped me get this far.

The fact that the added electrical load of a cable card is enough to push it over the edge is pretty good evidence of a failing power supply.

Good luck and holler if you need help.

And remember to get the polarity right!

And above all else, remember rule #1

ALWAYS KNOW WHERE BOTH ENDS OF THE TIVO POWER CORD ARE AT ALL TIMES!!!

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.
Page generated in 0.18537402 seconds (63.19% PHP - 36.81% MySQL) with 19 queries