TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2013, 04:31 AM   #1
occraig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 133
Can't connect at hotel

I am trying to get my tivo to connect using the wifi at the hotel I am at and it wont work. My laptop and my iphone work just fine on their wifi. I am able to program it to the wifi it offers here but when i hit the "connect to service now" it keeps giving me an error. I think its because there is a "connect page" i have to hit the agree button on. I tried connecting my laptop to the tivo and still got the same error message. It says "failed while negotiation". If I use my laptop do I need a router between the laptop and tivo or can I connected them both together and share the laptop internet?
any advice?

I have a TiVo Premiere with a TiVo AG0100 Wireless Adapter and my laptop is using windows 8


Also I dont want to talk about my personal life so please do not mention slingbox

Last edited by occraig : 09-22-2013 at 05:14 AM.
occraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:07 AM   #2
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,816
TC CLUB MEMBER
You need a travel router that lets you share a single connection to the hotel's WiFi. You connect first using a tablet or laptop, go through the authorization page, and after that you can connect other devices such as your TiVo. There are many, many choices. I have a couple from D-Link (DIR-505 and DIR-506L) that work well enough, Asus has some, there are others.
__________________
Steve
stevel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 11:17 AM   #3
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 749
It might be possible to connect to the wireless with the laptop and deal with the authorization then share the connection. In essence, the laptop acts as a router and the Tivo wireless connects to it. Or connect the Tivo to the laptop with an Ethernet cable (it might have to be a crossover cable though).
squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 02:31 PM   #4
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by squint View Post
I (it might have to be a crossover cable though).
No Tivo with an ethernet port would require a crossover cable for any reason.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 02:05 AM   #5
occraig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 133
I just got my netgear wgr614 today and now the tivo error is saying "please make sure your firewall is not set to block UDP ports 37 or 123 or TCP ports 37, 80, 443, 5005, 5222, 5233,7287, 7288, 8000, or 8080-8089

I tried to sign in the see how my router is configured and the page is gone now. http://www.routerlogin.net or http://192.168.0.1

I turned off the firewall in norton 360 and am sharing the internet from this hotel

uggg do I need to get a newer router now?
occraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 08:03 AM   #6
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,816
TC CLUB MEMBER
The hotel probably blocks those ports. Nothing you can do about it.
__________________
Steve
stevel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 08:18 AM   #7
occraig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 133




Quote:
Originally Posted by stevel View Post
The hotel probably blocks those ports. Nothing you can do about it.

occraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 08:55 AM   #8
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,816
TC CLUB MEMBER
It's very common in such situations for "non-standard" ports to be blocked.
__________________
Steve
stevel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |