TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 4.75 average.
Old 09-21-2013, 02:04 PM   #61
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,139
Who said, from TiVo, that DTA would come to the TP-4 ???
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 02:43 PM   #62
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Who said, from TiVo, that DTA would come to the TP-4 ???
TiVo said:

https://twitter.com/tivodesign/statu...42645851705347
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:17 PM   #63
Davisadm
TiVo is Back!!!!!!!!
 
Davisadm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 229
I know for a fact it is coming to the TP-4s
Davisadm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:43 PM   #64
wmhjr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 506
FWIW, When I said that Tivo "said it was coming" I was talking about discussions and comments made by CSRs (and people here on this site) back when the mini was first released. Not the belated promises - yet to be fulfilled - that they were finally going to do it (via Margarets twitter).
wmhjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:52 PM   #65
dhoward
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davisadm View Post
I know for a fact it is coming to the TP-4s
Ok. I will bite. How do you know this for a fact?
dhoward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 06:58 PM   #66
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,472
I'm sure people have been beta testing it for a while now with the Elite/XL4 boxes.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 11:54 AM   #67
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,697
And RCN's guy confirmed it was a feature of the next release.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 05:47 PM   #68
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Or just buy a Roamio.
I would consider it, although right now I'm in effect charging Comcast's DVR rate to my roommates to use my TiVo stuff, and if I go to DirecTV at some point in the future, then I have to sell my TiVos, so I'd rather not get any more invested in TiVo than I already am...
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 06:09 AM   #69
dhoward
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 239
What is taking Tivo so long to add DTA to the Premier line. It is technically Fall It would be nice if they could speed it up. As is usual, Tivo is sending Roamio updates and putting the earlier series Tivo's on the back-burner.
dhoward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:46 AM   #70
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,697
If it's anything like the Elite's launch, these minor Roamio updates might be Fall beta builds and they're holding back on the bigger fall release until the Roamio-related fires are put out.

If Premiere owners got the update now, it would be a beta build with inherent risks they didn't sign up for. So they're letting the smaller pool of Roamio owners be the testers first. Lol. (Not that I mind, I have some bugs I'd love squashed asap.)

Tivo has been soliciting for beta testers. If you're anxious, sign up and then ping Margret. Maybe she can do you a solid. But it's probably not too far away...

https://fieldtrials.tivo.com

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 10-02-2013 at 09:15 AM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 09:47 AM   #71
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,719
Margret just announced in the Premiere forum that the fall update should be out by the end of the month.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...60#post9846760
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 09:42 AM   #72
NoVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NoVa
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by takeagabu View Post
Without it you must sacrifice (all the time unless you disable it) one of the four tuner on your main DVR to allow live tv on the mini (turning your P4 to a P3). Dynamic allocation will make it so it will only use one tuner for live tv when available and you still have 4 tuners to use on your main DVR at all times.
Trying to get a grasp on the anticipated DTA update for Premiere owners:

Currently, I can only watch and/or record on one tunervia the Mini - while the main Premiere still has 3 tuners to use.

So if DTA comes out for the Premiere - does that mean that if the 3 tuners on the Premiere is not being used, that Mini can watch live 1 channel while recording another - i.e. turning it into a 2 tuner Mini?
NoVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 10:23 AM   #73
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,647
The mini cannot record anything, it has no hard drive. It can be used to trigger a recording on the Premiere, which is what I think you are actually asking.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 01:40 PM   #74
NoVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NoVa
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
The mini cannot record anything, it has no hard drive. It can be used to trigger a recording on the Premiere, which is what I think you are actually asking.

Yes. Can the mini be made to watch 1 channel live while 'triggering' record on another tuner?

Currently, I am limited to watch what I am recording
NoVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 02:14 PM   #75
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoVa View Post
Yes. Can the mini be made to watch 1 channel live while 'triggering' record on another tuner?

Currently, I am limited to watch what I am recording
You can press the record button to start recording the channel you're watching, then exit live TV, then go back to live TV and it should grab a different tuner.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 04:45 PM   #76
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
You can press the record button to start recording the channel you're watching, then exit live TV, then go back to live TV and it should grab a different tuner.
It will start the recording on a different tuner than the Mini is using. I know in my use it will typically grab the same tuner I had before when I come back. Unless another recording started between the time I exited out of Live TV and came back. But any recording I start while watching LiveTV from the Mini, has always used a different tuner than the one the Mini was using.

or did the behavior change with the most recent update?
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 08:17 PM   #77
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,966
I honestly never tried it. I just assumed that if you hit record on the show you're actively watching via the Mini then it will need to use that tuner because it may need to grab data out of the buffer to get the whole show. If it starts recording on a different tuner then I guess you only get from that point forward instead?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 10:21 PM   #78
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I honestly never tried it. I just assumed that if you hit record on the show you're actively watching via the Mini then it will need to use that tuner because it may need to grab data out of the buffer to get the whole show. If it starts recording on a different tuner then I guess you only get from that point forward instead?
Yes. It would be nice if it used the tuner that you were actively viewing to start the recording. Then it would behave similar to the Roamio. Then if you changed channels it would just grab another tuner.

But right now it does start the recording from the point that you initiate the recording. Although if the tuner it uses is on the same channel, then maybe it puts what's in the buffer in the recording?

EDIT: Yes, I just checked and it will grab what is in the buffer if the tuner it uses is on the same channel.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |