TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2013, 06:51 PM   #31
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soapm View Post
I got the plugin to appear but I don't see the Tivo's or even a place to add the MAK.
Where exactly did you put the plug-in and what is the folder named?
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 10:28 PM   #32
jeepguy_1980
Unregistered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soapm View Post
I got the plugin to appear but I don't see the Tivo's or even a place to add the MAK.
That's exactly what mine is doing.
__________________
TiVo Elite
TiVo S3 with WD10EVCS 1TB Drive
TiVo Stream
TiVo Mini

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jeepguy_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 11:16 PM   #33
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beryl View Post
Where exactly did you put the plug-in and what is the folder named?
I have a version in;

Code:
/usr/lib/plexmediaserver/Resources/Plug-ins/TiVo.bundle
But I believe it was the one I put in;

Code:
/var/lib/plexmediaserver/Library/Application Support/Plex Media Server/Plug-ins/TiVo.bundle
That made it work. But I could be wrong.
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 11:39 PM   #34
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,768
Thanks. I'll try that. Some developer could make a tidy sum by selling a working plug-in.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 08:48 AM   #35
esheesle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Tivo plugin?

I'm not seeing the tivo plugin in the channel list on plex and the link in this post gives an error saying content is not found by github. Anyone know what's up?
esheesle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:55 PM   #36
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soapm View Post
I have a version in;

Code:
/usr/lib/plexmediaserver/Resources/Plug-ins/TiVo.bundle
But I believe it was the one I put in;

Code:
/var/lib/plexmediaserver/Library/Application Support/Plex Media Server/Plug-ins/TiVo.bundle
That made it work. But I could be wrong.
I tried it today and when I click on the Tivo channel I get a box asking me to enter the MAK. When I put in the MAK I get an error saying content unavailable, make sure server is running. What server would it be talking about? Does this connect to the mind server? Do I need Tivo desktop running on my network (cuz I don't use it)?
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 08:45 AM   #37
HeatherA
Old AVS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 830
I'd love the opposite of this, the ability to run Plex via our TiVos.
__________________
-HeatherA

Roamio Basic 477HDHr TiVo Prem.4 237HDHr TiVo Prem.XL 157HDHr TiVo Prem. 192HDHrx2 TiVo Mini

Retired
TiVoS2DT 560hr HDVR2 104hr Phillips 14hr TiVoS2(40hr) DTiVo 69hr TiVoHD 21HDhr
HeatherA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 07:09 PM   #38
steffen707
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadrepus View Post
yes, I have a Premiere and it just started working all on its own which probably means that Tivo fixed the problem. Make sure you put in you MAC from your Tivo in the plugins preferences. This plugin only seems to work with the regular Plex client and not the "Plex Home Theater" client that those with a Plex Pass use. The Plex developers did something to break this plugin in that release and since this is "abandoned ware" unless someone else picks it up it will stay broke.
where can I get the tivo plugin for the plex player?
steffen707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 08:19 PM   #39
steffen707
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soapm View Post
I got mine to appear by changing the ownership and group. Mines were somehow set to root. However, I don't see the Tivo's but I guess that's for another day.
where do you change ownership and group?
steffen707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 08:26 AM   #40
dadrepus
Registered User
 
dadrepus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by steffen707 View Post
where can I get the tivo plugin for the plex player?
The Plex forum Tivo App

dadrepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 08:31 AM   #41
dadrepus
Registered User
 
dadrepus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by steffen707 View Post
where do you change ownership and group?
On a Mac, right click on the tivo.bundle, get info, at the bottom it will show users and groups. You may have to Unlock to change this. so, unlock, it will ask for username and password, then change or add user and group. click the lock when done.
dadrepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 09:20 AM   #42
steffen707
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadrepus View Post
The Plex forum Tivo App
The github link is broken. Is there another link?
steffen707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 09:20 AM   #43
steffen707
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadrepus View Post
On a Mac, right click on the tivo.bundle, get info, at the bottom it will show users and groups. You may have to Unlock to change this. so, unlock, it will ask for username and password, then change or add user and group. click the lock when done.
Does the plugin only work on Mac plex media servers?
steffen707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 09:32 AM   #44
dadrepus
Registered User
 
dadrepus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by steffen707 View Post
The github link is broken. Is there another link?
check the last page. I have a link there and well as someone put it up on github again.
dadrepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 08:32 AM   #45
hotspace
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
I'd like to test this out too...but al of the links are dead.

Can someone re-up this?? It would be greatly appreciated.
hotspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 08:59 AM   #46
dadrepus
Registered User
 
dadrepus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotspace View Post
I'd like to test this out too...but al of the links are dead.

Can someone re-up this?? It would be greatly appreciated.
worked for me

tivo
dadrepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 03:25 PM   #47
hotspace
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks for the link...is/are there detailed instructions on how to install?
hotspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:38 AM   #48
dadrepus
Registered User
 
dadrepus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotspace View Post
Thanks for the link...is/are there detailed instructions on how to install?
I don't know how it is packaged but if it opens up as a folder just change the name to Tivo.bundle and drop it into the plugins folder in your plex server application and restart the server.
dadrepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 12:45 PM   #49
hotspace
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadrepus View Post
I don't know how it is packaged but if it opens up as a folder just change the name to Tivo.bundle and drop it into the plugins folder in your plex server application and restart the server.
Yup...I renamed the folder and dropped it in. The plugin populates but I cant get anything to play. I was hoping...

Has anyone had luck?
hotspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 01:49 PM   #50
dadrepus
Registered User
 
dadrepus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
It really depends on the version of Plex- server and client, you are running. I have moved to the 64 bit version of both and now tivo-plugin no-longer works for me. I was hoping some Python developer would pick up this abandoned plugin and update it but so far no-one on the Plex forums seem to be interested. The original author is nowhere to be found.
It is up for grabs. Anyone interested here?
dadrepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 04:35 PM   #51
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,768
I can never get it to populate in the channels list and I have many supported and unsupported channels.

1. unzip the Tivo.bundle-master-zip file
2. rename Tivo.bundle-master folder to Tivo.bundle file and put it in the plug-in folder (same place as all of my other channels - user\AppData\Local\Plex Media Server\Plug-ins)
3. Recycle Plex Server

Any idea of what I'm doing wrong?
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 09:44 AM   #52
HeatherA
Old AVS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 830
Has there ever been an updated plugin for Plex? I still have the old one, of course it no longer works, but I'd love to get my TiVo's integrated into my Plex clients.
__________________
-HeatherA

Roamio Basic 477HDHr TiVo Prem.4 237HDHr TiVo Prem.XL 157HDHr TiVo Prem. 192HDHrx2 TiVo Mini

Retired
TiVoS2DT 560hr HDVR2 104hr Phillips 14hr TiVoS2(40hr) DTiVo 69hr TiVoHD 21HDhr
HeatherA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 03:28 PM   #53
jeepguy_1980
Unregistered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeatherA View Post
Has there ever been an updated plugin for Plex? I still have the old one, of course it no longer works, but I'd love to get my TiVo's integrated into my Plex clients.
Unfortunately, I think it's pretty much dead.
__________________
TiVo Elite
TiVo S3 with WD10EVCS 1TB Drive
TiVo Stream
TiVo Mini

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jeepguy_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |