TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-12-2013, 06:32 PM   #1
Rangers4me
The One and Only
 
Rangers4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,194
Out of Network Streaming

I am on the road and am trying to stream both live TV and recorded shows from my Roamio Pro to my iPhone. Every channel or recording I try to stream gives the message - "Away From Home Network: While you're away from your home network, some options are not available."

I thought "Sling" like functionality was part of this?
__________________
Rangers4me
Rangers4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:36 PM   #2
scole250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 678
I think it's "Coming soon"
__________________
3 Premieres w/2TB each
Media server
scole250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:39 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,349
According to an interview the CEO gave during the Roamio launch it's coming "this Fall".
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 11:02 AM   #4
Envy2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Remote streaming from my Roamio Plus to my iPad works using a VPN already, even over LTE.

There's no technical issue preventing this from working today, but for whatever reason TiVo has delayed it. Likely they want to implement their own dynamic DNS service rather than relying on users to do so themselves and thus disabled the feature.

Using a VPN also gets around similar artificial restrictions in other software, such as the TWC TV app.
Envy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 01:41 PM   #5
fungflex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Envy2 View Post
Remote streaming from my Roamio Plus to my iPad works using a VPN already, even over LTE.

There's no technical issue preventing this from working today, but for whatever reason TiVo has delayed it. Likely they want to implement their own dynamic DNS service rather than relying on users to do so themselves and thus disabled the feature.

Using a VPN also gets around similar artificial restrictions in other software, such as the TWC TV app.
Would you mind explaining your VPN solution a little bit? Was strongly considering setting something up in my home as well so I could accomplish this very thing and saw on the forum mixed results.

Thanks!
fungflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:44 PM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,349
It's my understanding that you can't get a functional VPN connection unless you jail break your iOS device. So this is not really a viable solution for most people.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:55 PM   #7
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,222
My VPN solution requires OpenVPN, which is only available on jailbroken iOS devices. That being said, it technically works but since it relies on good upstream bandwidth, it wasn't actually usable for me.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:38 PM   #8
fungflex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Shame. I have a very solid upstream speed (25+) from FIOS, but as an active iOS developer all my devices are on iOS 7 and therefore cannot be jailbroken.
fungflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 12:53 PM   #9
jscozz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 147
Hmmm... iOS 7 support per app vpn connectivity... but I can't find any info on how it works. I'd be curios if this would allow you to connect to home vpn whenever you run tivo app.
jscozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 01:20 PM   #10
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,222
It would only work if the VPN client in iOS supports features like Bonjour forwarding. The current VPN software in iOS doesn't, which is why I had to use OpenVPN.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |