TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-12-2013, 04:12 PM   #1
Lenny Briscoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Slingbox and Roamio combination question

Apologies if this is a dumb question.

We currently have two cable subscriptions, one at our primary home and one at the place where we spend weekends. I would love to drop one of the cable subscriptions but still be able to watch and record live programming on TVs in both locations from the remaining cable subscription. I'm not interested in watching on an ipad in the second location; I want it to be viewable on a TV (or TVs).

Is this possible through a combination of Slingbox and Roamio? If so, what do I need where?
Lenny Briscoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 08:05 AM   #2
k2ue
Retired RF Engineer
 
k2ue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Victor, NY
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenny Briscoe View Post
Apologies if this is a dumb question.

We currently have two cable subscriptions, one at our primary home and one at the place where we spend weekends. I would love to drop one of the cable subscriptions but still be able to watch and record live programming on TVs in both locations from the remaining cable subscription. I'm not interested in watching on an ipad in the second location; I want it to be viewable on a TV (or TVs).

Is this possible through a combination of Slingbox and Roamio? If so, what do I need where?
Without regard to how you receive the slingbox remotely, the limitation on video quality will be the uplink speed of your home internet connection. I can tell you a 2Mb/s uplink does not produce a quality picture, and the remote control delay is maddening. I bite the bullet and maintain a lesser cable subscription at our summer house because, despite being a retired engineer, I have been unable to find a satisfactory way of receiving HD programming remotely from my home system.
__________________
Roamio Pro/w Slide Remote, Cisco TA, iScan Duo, Epson 5020UB, Draper 80" Triggered Screen, TiVo Mini,
Oppo BDP103, Denon AVR1713, DT ProCenter 1000+ProCinema 800's, TSS-SUB4000, 4x Harmony 700
k2ue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 08:11 AM   #3
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,580
When I watch from my Slingbox 350, the highest quality seems to use around 8Mb/s to stream. While the lowest quality streams at a speed below 1Mb/s.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:31 PM   #4
ShayL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 194
Yes you can definitely sling between two locations. The lag on the control might drive you crazy. You can airplay out of the slingmobile app to an Apple TV to view on a TV. Another option would be use a sling connected device like the WD Live.
ShayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 08:10 PM   #5
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,580
Or a Boxee Box. I've used the Sling app on the Boxee Box a few times with good results.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 05:01 AM   #6
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 977
As well as the Sony GS7 GoogleTV, which seems to be on clearance at a lot of places due to the GS8 release.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 05:20 AM   #7
bigguy126
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 83
Just got back from vacation where I tried slingbox/tivo for first time.
Setup was Tivo (premier but roamio would be same) and slingbox 350 with slingbox app to a android tablet (ipad would be same) out of the tablet I ran a hdmi cable to tv ( mini hdmi on tablet end to full hdmi on tv end). I have Verizon Fios at home. Speeds were about 4mbs average. Picture quality was acceptable. As others mentioned, the lag when you try to control the tivo on the tablet was maddening. For every keystroke on the tivo remote on the tablet takes about 5 seconds for it to make the round trip. Until Tivo enables streaming outside of your home network, this is the only option. I you only watch a lot of live tv on the remote location this is great. But you want to watch recorded shows and skip commercials ie interact with the tivo, the lag will drive you crazy.
bigguy126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 07:48 AM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigguy126 View Post
Just got back from vacation where I tried slingbox/tivo for first time.
Setup was Tivo (premier but roamio would be same) and slingbox 350 with slingbox app to a android tablet (ipad would be same) out of the tablet I ran a hdmi cable to tv ( mini hdmi on tablet end to full hdmi on tv end). I have Verizon Fios at home. Speeds were about 4mbs average. Picture quality was acceptable. As others mentioned, the lag when you try to control the tivo on the tablet was maddening. For every keystroke on the tivo remote on the tablet takes about 5 seconds for it to make the round trip. Until Tivo enables streaming outside of your home network, this is the only option. I you only watch a lot of live tv on the remote location this is great. But you want to watch recorded shows and skip commercials ie interact with the tivo, the lag will drive you crazy.
When I use my Slingbox 350 I typically just start playing a title or turn the news on. When I'm at my GFs house she is OTA only so I will use the Slingbox 350 to watch CNN. I don't try to use the trick play functions very often. And if I do it's typically just FF to partially skip over the commercials.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 01:59 PM   #9
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 977
I use the skip button to jump ahead 30 secs over each commercial. That makes trick play way more tolerable with the lag. I use the ProHD and noticed the old SlingPlayer PC software is MUCH faster with remote commands. I wonder why these newer sling loaded apps are so much slower and worse than that and the Slingcatcher?
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |