TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2013, 10:26 AM   #1
lujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 334
Constant Reboots after Power Failure (UPS)

We had a long (1 & 1/2 hours) power outage on Wednesday and I have my TiVo connected to a UPS. Ever since the power outage almost every time I turn on the TV (also connected to the UPS), the TiVo reboots. It's almost as if there's too much initial power for the UPS to handle when turning the devices on so this causes the brief power loss and causes the TiVo to reboot. Could that be the case? Should I leave the Premiere disconnected from the UPS? I seem to remember reading that the TiVo and UPS's don't get along very well?
__________________
lujan
699 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 11:51 AM   #2
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 980
Does TiVo reboot if connected to the wall outlet?
How old is your UPS?
Consider getting TiVo its own UPS.

I found a replacement UPS battery here: http://www.replaceupsbattery.com/
For $22 delivered to my door.

Last edited by Teeps : 09-14-2013 at 12:12 PM.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 11:53 AM   #3
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,315
Yes the power surge of the TV could cause a UPS with a depleted battery to power sag causing the DVR to reboot. Most UPS will run a self check when they are powered on check the status of the indicator lights on the UPS front panel.

For now I would disconnect the TV from the UPS.

What size and how old is the UPS most need to have the battery replaced every 2 years it may be cheaper to replace the entire unit.

Note: TiVo's do work very well with UPS my DVR's, Computers, cable amp, phone and Network are powered through good quality UPS's that have AVR. I designed the system to survive 20 to 40 minutes without power giving me enough time to power down devices.
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 12:07 PM   #4
lujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Does TiVo reboot if connected to the wall outlet?
How old is your UPS?
Consider getting TiVo its own UPS.
Don't know since I just disconnected it from the UPS a couple of hours ago. I will find out tonight.
__________________
lujan
699 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 12:08 PM   #5
lujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeUser View Post
..

For now I would disconnect the TV from the UPS.

...
Instead, I disconnected the TiVo from the UPS because I have a DLP TV and it takes a minute or two completely power down and would rather have it power down gracefully than the TiVo.
__________________
lujan
699 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 07:14 PM   #6
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,315
I can understand that. The Panasonic that I have takes almost an hour to re-setup after loosing power not including re-pairing the cable card. You would think that a battery backup for the settings would be standard.
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 07:02 AM   #7
Time_Lord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
Sounds like the ups is either to small, our more than likely the battery is failing. I've seen plenty up a units start cycling on and off when the batteries have reached their end of life.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4
Time_Lord is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:47 PM   #8
lujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Time_Lord View Post
Sounds like the ups is either to small, our more than likely the battery is failing. I've seen plenty up a units start cycling on and off when the batteries have reached their end of life.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4
That could be? I know it's been a while since I replaced the battery and the last power failure could have reduced the battery power a lot since the outage was for about an hour and a half.
__________________
lujan
699 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |